We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Ballarat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Had a great time staying at Comfort Inn Main Lead. We found the hotel very enjoyable, the rooms had very comfortable beds and pillows and there were extra blankets in the cupboard. The rooms were clean and warm. We travelled with 2 adults and 2 kids and it was a great room for a family. The kids really enjoyed the indoor heated swimming pool and spa. We also ate at the restaurant for our 2 nights stay at the hotel, the food was delicious and there is a good selection of options for kids on the menu. I would certainly recommend staying for your next trip to Ballarat.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a queen bed and 3 single beds..was perfect for a family stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngeB310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We got a family special where kids stay for free.
Heated pool was great on a cold winters day.
Room was clean and tidy.
Could hear a lot of noise of people talking and walking outside from within the room.
Bathroom really let the place down. Paint in shower was chipped and the last guest's dental floss hanging in the shower was a little surprise.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Recently stayed for two nights. Had booked a family room but our reservation was mucked up. Instead was given two large rooms next to each other but not interconnecting. It was fine. Rooms were large and comfortable and it was quiet at the back of the building.

The pool was great and the kids loved it and the spa.

Overall the decor is a bit tired but its fine. The only gripe is that cold wind comes straight into the room between the metal window frames and the brick wall. it needs sealing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at Comfort Inn Main Lead and we absolutely loved it! From the moment you walk in the door to the moment you leave, the service is wonderful. My daughter was very quick to try out the pool and spa and had a ball. The room was large and it even has a table and chairs to sit at while enjoying a meal. I would highly recommend this Motel. Comfy beds and comfy pillows and they even have electric blankets. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here the next time we are in Ballarat.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank KimKiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Probably a great place to stay if visiting Sovereign Hill, but not quite what I hoped for on a Ballarat business trip. The first two of my three-night stay were noisy, with the air conditioner in my unit and the one next door running constantly - we were told the carpets had been washed and needed to dry. Fitting were generally tired and much needed replacing, including the bathroom tiles and fittings.
My main problem, however was the WIFI - advertised as available, but impossible to log into, despite help from the technologically-disadvantaged office staff. Made my efforts to conduct business impossible, until I found I could get into a nearby holiday park's unprotected and unsecured WIFI system.
Good location, good price and friendly housekeeping staff, who gave me extra biscuits and tea.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is located in a very convenient location as it's only a short walk to sovereign hill.
The gentlemen at the front desk was very friendly.
However the room was looking a little tired and there were a few gripes that i had during our stay.
Upon entering the room we found what we assumed to be the table and chair that belonged on the small balcony on top of the single bed. There was also an indoor couch type chair located in the bathroom.
The first housekeeping clean up; the bin bags were changed but one small bin wasn't pushed back under the desk where it belonged. Our sink or bench top wasn't wiped down. Shower cap and soap wrappers not collected and our towels were not changed. The bathroom bench top towels were messily refolded. Both toilet roll holders were empty and these were not changed.
I wanted fresh towels on our second day so i placed all hand towels and towels over the bath for collection. When we returned these were still sitting there, while two fresh towels were placed on the very roughly made beds. Our sink and bench tops were not wiped down. Wrappers still not collected. Over the course of our stay a collection of laundry bags were growing at the foot of the stairs.
Pros: great location and friendly staff, great price.
Cons: Housekeeping appeared sloppy and lazy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi_renee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Found this to be very basic accom for the price bracket. Wouldn't recommend.
Very cold with bare brick walls.
Aircon loud making it hard to sleep.
Shower has loose tiles & bad pressure.
Side lamps didn't turn on.
Pillows hard & flat, bed lumpy & uncomfortable.
Tap in sink sprays water in all directions bar the sink.
Lady at front desk didn't even offer a smile when greeting me, in fact she barely looked up.
All in all, I felt like I was back on school camp! Was glad we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapphire1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.6 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sovereign Views Apartments
Sovereign Views Apartments
#28 of 33 in Ballarat
92 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Victoriana Motor Inn
Victoriana Motor Inn
#16 of 33 in Ballarat
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
3.8 mi away
The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Main Lead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Main Lead

Address: 312 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range: £57 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Main Lead 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Main Lead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat
Ballarat Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing