We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I randomly went to ballarat on Monday 11th and Tuesday 12th of August. By myself and I had no plans on where to stay so of corse I opened up trip advisor to find some where to stay. The central city was the closest place to me so I decided to pop in and have a look. I'm glad I did, because now I have a new place to stay every time I go too ballarat. Great and friendly staff and all are up for a chat. They were so accommodating and answered every question I had for them. It Is close to everything and there breakfast is beautiful. ✔️

Thank You,
Mark.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkPertzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks Mark. We greatly appreciate your kind words. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Also glad you enjoyed the tourist attractions around Ballarat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    84
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
56
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great motel,central too everything, room had a nice view on the balcony overlooking the city,great shower,spacious room and well priced first time we stayed here and will definitely stay here again,friendly staff who made us feel quite welcome,we would recommend this motel too anyone of our friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks Darren. Always pleases us to know people enjoy themselves when they stay. We would be glad to have you come back and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked this accommodation last minute when we were only about an hour away - based the decision entirely on price - what a great surprise we got! The room was absolutely spotless, added bonus of microwave (mini kitchen type facilities) terrific shower. Delicious economical cooked breakfast the next morning. Right in the city centre but not noisy at all. Hosts were fantastic - will be on the top of the list if/when we are travelling that way again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thanks Lisa. It's pleasing to know you enjoyed yourself in Ballarat. We enjoy keeping our guests happy. Thanks for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spacious and well appointed room, balcony was a plus despite the wet and cold weather. Close to the centre of town and other attractions. Will definitely stay here next time we are in Ballarat. Staff were very accommodating when we realised that we had not made the on-line booking specific enough for our needs.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms have nicer outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Mark it was our pleasure to help you out. We trust you enjoyed the view from the room. Thanks for the great feedback and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is a very well-run motel, not on the luxury end of build and facilities but well above the basic functional. I spent 3 nights in a good-sized, comfortable and clean room; no problems with road noise, as well insulated as possible from noise in the adjoining rooms, great heating for July, and nice breakfasts. Shane is a very welcoming host who gave me a helpful briefing on the nearby facilities (FWIW, the Leagues Club restaurant behind Coles and the fish and chips takeaway next to Coles are excellent). The location is great for walking to the centre of town and it's a short drive to Lake Wendouree. No complaint about value for money. They worked hard to make it an enjoyable stay and I hope they get the good recommendations they deserve.

Room Tip: Parking is outside the door, which is unavoidable and not a deal-breaker, but an upstairs room doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Leigh, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the feedback. Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great location- close to city centre, cosy & quiet, comfortable bed, excellent heating- we were lovely & warm all night & wouldn't even have known the temp was -0 outside, continuous hot water in shower, good water pressure, meticulously clean room and bathroom, great balcony, Shane went out of his way to accommodate my family after an error with a third-party accommodation website, Shane & his wife were welcoming and friendly and I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone requiring accommodation in Ballarat, very impressed, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralcity, Manager at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Olivia it was our pleasure to get you out of the pickle you were in. Thankfully everything went well for you and most importantly you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Room are spacious,
very very clean
and nicely renovated.
Walk to town. Off street parking.
We really enjoyed our stay. Despite being on the main road it was surprisingly quiet
Pleasant staff
Really comfy beds and pillows
Comfy even though it was freezing outside

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boltegriswslds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centralcity, Owner at Ballarat Central City Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are glad that you found the rooms really comfortable, warm and quiet.
Kind regards
Shane and Salina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.7 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
0.0 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballarat Central City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballarat Central City Motor Inn

Property: Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Address: 16 Victoria St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Flag Inn Central City)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ballarat Central City Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trip to the Goldfields Region is never complete without a stop in one of Victoria’s oldest towns, Ballarat. Ballarat Central City Motor Inn offers accommodation in the heart of the historic Bakery Hill precinct and is a short stroll to the city centre, restaurants, cafes and shops. With magnificent views of this historic city from the balconies, the property is close to all major attractions that Ballarat has to offer. Whether you are a corporate traveller or tourist in Ballarat, the Central city offers quality accommodation with warm, friendly and professional service. Our recently refurbished rooms offer kitchenette facilities, wireless internet and Austar. Spa rooms are available and we have secure off-street parking. The indoor heated pool/spa, guest BBQ and guest laundry will ensure your stay is a comfortable, convenient and enjoyable experience. We offer a full breakfast menu (our cooked breakfasts speak for themselves) and many of the restaurants nearby offer a chargeback facility with our motel. With a range of accommodation options from standard rooms to the fully self contained apartment, why not stop awhile and savour what Ballarat and the surrounding district has to offer, then relax at the end of the day with a drink on the balcony and watch the sunset over this magnificent town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ballarat Central City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing