We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies
Ranked #3 of 18 Ballarat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wonga Park, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed at the Menzies many times, both business and personal, and the experience has been brilliant every time. I have always been treated with nothing but courtesy and respect. I would not stay any where else, and I would recommend this accommodation to anyone that are wanting a great experience when staying in Ballarat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello Samantha
We're gives us great pleasure when we read guests are happy. Above all though, a return guest is gold. Thank you for reviewing The Menzies and expressing your positive feelings. We hope we can continue seeing you when a bed is required in Ballarat. Thank you sincerely. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    31
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
55
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've been a regular guest for the last few years & I have never had any issues. Anthony & Judy are very accommodating to my needs. Breakfasts are the best eggs!
the property is very well maintained and clean

Room Tip: all good as i've stayed in most of them.... but 16 is my fav
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rhondasven2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind words, Rhonda. To have you return as often as you do indicates to us we're doing something right! As you know, we're passionate about having everything 'just so' for our guests. Having them happy and returning is the icing on the cake. Thank you again - and hopefully we'll continue to have your smiling face enter reception for some time to come. Cheers, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I found the accommodation excellent, nice, clean and spacious fully stocked fridge if that's your thing.

The staff provided excellent service and great restaurant advice

Lots of good restaurants and fast food outlets within walking distance.

I would highly commend the Menzies to all travellers staying in Ballarat on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hello Wayne
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at The Menzies. And a big thank you for the glowing report. We are pleased you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. Yes, we are lucky we are conveniently located close to a selection of Ballarat's very reputable restaurants, of which I have no hesitation in recommending. A delightful meal at the end of a day certainly helps top off a memorable stay, too, I'm sure you'll agree. Thank you again, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenthompson, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We regularly stay at the Menzies when we visit Ballarat and they never fail to disappoint. The room is always spotlessly clean and the staff provide first-class customer service. The rooms are spacious and well appointed.The location is handy to shops, restaurants, bars and cafes - they do have an on-site restaurant also but we have never tried this. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lea and anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are proud of our product and to have you affirm our belief is very gratifying. Thank you, and we look forward to your return when next you need accommodation in Ballarat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

There are three things we look for when looking for a motel.
Spotlessly Clean
Great Bed
Quite
You will find all this and more at the Menzies. The room was a really good size close to double the size of many motel rooms. Good little kitchen area including a ful size fridge and a microwave. Bathroom also a good size not one of those dark pokey little rooms you find in many motels and a good size shower. The bed was fantastic, one of the pillow top bed even the pillows were good ! very rare in motels. Immaculately clean, lots of hot water, good size flat screen TV and not a sound was heard all night. Looks up market from the outside and this was definately reflected on the inside. Only small negative is parking, its tight, very tight, but we did see another large parking area to the right of the rooms and i think next time we will be parking up on that flat parking area.

Room Tip: book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Beds are so important, aren't they? Because of this, we replaced all the beds in the motel with top of the range pillow-top commercial bedding recently. Guest feedback at checkout confirms we did the right thing. We even put a 'topper' on top of the pillow-top! Guests now sink into the bedding and have a beautiful sound sleep. Thank you for taking the time to provide the glowing review of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here unexpectedly and we were very happy. New beds and I slept like a queen. Breakfast was nice and everything you wanted was in the room. Will stay again if I go that way. Never heard any traffic and liked having a separate bedroom in suite

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Unexpected surprises are always terrific, aren't they? I am glad we, at The Menzies, were your unexpected surprise! We try and promote the fact we are in a quiet location, but I am sure people are a little cynical when they see how close we are to the CBD. Thank you for confirming our claim via social media. Very much appreciated. We would welcome your return when next you plan a trip to Ballarat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

As a last minute plan we decided to stay in Ballarat for the (very busy) long weekend. The Menzies owners did everything possible to accommodate us, which included a power wheelchair user. The family/disability suit was to a high standard and very well designed. Friendly and helpful staff all round and happy to help. Had a very enjoyable trip and would be happy to recommend The Menzies to anyone with a disability. Couldn't be happier with the service, accommodation or location. Thanks again for a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaReally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay, Emma. We are pleased our facilities worked nicely for you. Please consider our motel when next you take a small break. Cheers, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
1.3 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.1 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies

Property: Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies
Address: 5-7 Humffray St N, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies is located in the heart of Ballarat on historic Bakery Hill. This delightful 20 room 4star property features a variety of ground floor room styles including one-bedroom Studio Deluxe Suites, Executive King Spa Suites, Family Suites and an Accessible Suite. Also on offer are fully self contained two-storey, 2 bedroom Townhouses with spa - ideal for families. All rooms offer FREE Foxtel and WiFi. Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies is conveniently located and in easy walking distance to the CBD, Railway Station, Bridge Mall shopping precinct, restaurants, art galleries, antique shops, Gold Museum, cinemas and theatre and city shopping. Only minutes by car are local attractions such as Sovereign Hill, M.A.D.E. - Museum of Australian Democracy at Eureka , Ballarat Visitor Centre, Lake Wendouree, Ballarat Wildlife Park, Australian POW Memorial, Botanic Gardens and the many Sporting Facilities. Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies is a perfect base to discover the attractions of the historic city of Ballarat and surrounding district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing