We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights. Judy (manager) is very hands on and she called me prior to arrival to ask how old my toddler is so she can decide which room to upgrade us to based on our needs. It worked out really well because the family suite that I originally booked didn't have a separate bedroom which is what we wanted but the king spa suite that we got upgraded to had it so my toddler was able to sleep well at night. We had complimentary breakfast as well that came with a promotional two night stay they were doing. It was convenient having the breakfast delivered the night before so we can have breakfast the next morning at our own leisure. The room was nice and warm despite the outdoor temperatures being around 1-8 degrees and the location of the hotel is fantastic, being walking distance from bridge mall (centre of the city) and near many good restaurants. We would be delighted to stay here if we visit Ballarat again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faith_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAW0848, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for submitting such a lovely review. It is wonderful how things turn out for the best at times. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we would certainly welcome your return whenever you visit Ballarat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    31
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
55
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Large and warm rooms, Big bathroom, Big comfy beds. I travel a lot and find it hard to find motel rooms that stay warm. Friendly hosts, Will certainly stay there again. Close to the city centre and Mall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Neil
Thank you for taking time to post a review. And thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return when next you visit our lovely Ballarat. Regards Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stay in many different motels on a regular basis, and I found The Menzies to standout from all others. Beautifully appointed and the hosts went out of their way to accommodate out needs. The room was immaculate with all the very best furniture and fittings. I found that although the location is right in the centre of town the traffic noise was not noticeable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nondescriptitem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We feel quite humbled by your comments. Thank you so much. We are pleased you had a comfortable and memorable time with us at The Menzies. Regards, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed many times over the last 7 years, mainly for business, but keep coming back because of the personal service Judy & Anthony provide. They have always accommodated my needs, as my notice & check in & out times can vary greatly. Rooms are well appointed, with plenty of room to work at the provided desk & space to relax on the comfortable couches.
Centrally located with only a short walk to the many restaurants of Ballarat.
Thoroughly recommend the Menzies.

Room Tip: For family trips, the 2 storey appartments are great, with a spa bath included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you taking the time to post a review, Chris. We remain flexible as we appreciate the corporate world isn't always predictable. It is great to know this aspect of our business is acknowledged - plus the fact we meet your requirements, which is even more important. We look forward to continuing our relationship. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

As a family we decided to go on a road trip holiday taking us through Ballarat heading to the 12 Apostles. Two nights were pre booked at the Menzies with a plan to see some of the local attractions. On arrival at reception we were warmly greeted by Judy, who happily spent some time acquainting us with the local area and recommending places to eat. She had also turned the air conditioners to warm our accommodation prior to checking in (A nice touch appreciated by all as it was a cold and wet day). Those with a larger vehicle will find the parking tight but not impossible to get into. The Motel on the outside is tidy, well-presented and situated in the heart of Ballarat with easy access to local attractions and shopping. The family room we stayed in was as advertised, with upstairs accommodation for the adults and a Spa to boot!! Kids were downstairs in the bunk beds. For those wanting to cook their own meals the room also had a small kitchen. The room was very clean and provided two comfortable nights in location. On Judy’s recommendation we ate at a local Italian/pizza place known as 'The Forge Pizzeria'; great spot to eat and family friendly. Might pay to book a table ... we struck it lucky and snagged a table for 4 on walking in. Should we pass through this area again, we would stay here again. Only a 5 minute drive to Sovereign Hill ... also highly recommend planning a day or two here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Scott
We're pleased you had a memorable stay in Ballarat. It has so much to offer - and we love it, too! This aspect alone spurs us on and we strive to have accommodation to suit most peoples' needs so when they leave they have great stories to tell all round. Word of mouth is so important. Thank you for your time in submitting such a lovely review. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wonga Park, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have stayed at the Menzies many times, both business and personal, and the experience has been brilliant every time. I have always been treated with nothing but courtesy and respect. I would not stay any where else, and I would recommend this accommodation to anyone that are wanting a great experience when staying in Ballarat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Hello Samantha
We're gives us great pleasure when we read guests are happy. Above all though, a return guest is gold. Thank you for reviewing The Menzies and expressing your positive feelings. We hope we can continue seeing you when a bed is required in Ballarat. Thank you sincerely. Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've been a regular guest for the last few years & I have never had any issues. Anthony & Judy are very accommodating to my needs. Breakfasts are the best eggs!
the property is very well maintained and clean

Room Tip: all good as i've stayed in most of them.... but 16 is my fav
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rhondasven2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind words, Rhonda. To have you return as often as you do indicates to us we're doing something right! As you know, we're passionate about having everything 'just so' for our guests. Having them happy and returning is the icing on the cake. Thank you again - and hopefully we'll continue to have your smiling face enter reception for some time to come. Cheers, Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.3 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#8 of 33 in Ballarat
237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies

Property: Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies
Address: 5-7 Humffray St N, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies is located in the heart of Ballarat on historic Bakery Hill. This delightful 20 room 4star property features a variety of ground floor room styles including one-bedroom Studio Deluxe Suites, Executive King Spa Suites, Family Suites and an Accessible Suite. Also on offer are fully self contained two-storey, 2 bedroom Townhouses with spa - ideal for families. All rooms offer FREE Foxtel and WiFi. Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies is conveniently located and in easy walking distance to the CBD, Railway Station, Bridge Mall shopping precinct, restaurants, art galleries, antique shops, Gold Museum, cinemas and theatre and city shopping. Only minutes by car are local attractions such as Sovereign Hill, M.A.D.E. - Museum of Australian Democracy at Eureka , Ballarat Visitor Centre, Lake Wendouree, Ballarat Wildlife Park, Australian POW Memorial, Botanic Gardens and the many Sporting Facilities. Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies is a perfect base to discover the attractions of the historic city of Ballarat and surrounding district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing