We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont waste your time staying here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell Tower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bell Tower Inn
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“dont waste your time staying here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in October for one night. Room very outdated and old. Supposed to be executive...overrated..uhf milk out of date, spa didnt work, carpet very worn, shower had step, when asked no step. Feedback given when leaving receptionist seemed very disinterested. Wouldnt recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    42
    23
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
33
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for one night at this place with friends of ours staying in the room next door. Although it looked good from the outside, it was a bit "tired" and dated on the inside. The rooms were clean enough but the bathroom was in need of an upgrade. As we were literally passing through, it was good enough for the one night stop but we would pick somewhere else for a longer stay. The location is good and with a bit of tlc it could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stonedecroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for one night before we went to Sovereign Hill.
This is a motel with rooms outside of main block, We had a very large room [6 of us travelling]
The room had a large king size bed, sofa bed and two single beds separated by a small wall. There was a fridge,tea, coffee, kettle.
The bathroom was large.
The rooms are very dated, we had peeling wallpaper in our room. The bathroom has old green 80's type floor tiles on it. The shower and bath had seen better days.
The beds were old and saggy. The king size bed had an electric blanket on it. I have never seen this before! The sheets were clean.
The kids tried the swimming pool, it looked clean but it was hard to tell as there were no lights working! The sauna was broken and shower room was flooded. There was also no ventilation and water dripped from the wooden ceiling. I was worried about Legionaires but my sister told me not to be so silly!
We had breakfast in the hotel the next day and surprisingly it was lovely. We could not fault it.
Overall I think this hotel could be outstanding if a bit of TLC was spent on it. We paid about £104 for a night so I suppose you get what you pay for in life. We won't be returning and would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANYA2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballarat hotels

Mount Gambier, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We Choose to stay here as is was just out of town, Rooms were big, clean, had no trouble finding it, staff were abit rude at checkin, but good at checkout. We had a spa room which was fantastic.. Would highly recomend you to stay here. WE WILL BE BACK

Room Tip: Get a room with a spa, it was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

My husband is away with work for weekend and a trip to the zoo was planned for myself and two children, due to rain we decided that not an ideal weekend for the zoo. Kids were more dissapointed with missing out on staying at a hotel and ordering room service so I thought easy I will just book in to a local hotel with room service and indoor pool for the kids to enjoy, only to be told NO! apparently there is a policy "no locals" when questioning the receptionist she said it was due to the concern of "domestic" situations. When I explained that there was nothing to worry about there and told her about the planned zoo trip she back peddled and told me there were no rooms anyway! what a crock after coming home and checking online, there were loads of rooms as it is ballarat, cold wet weekend with nothing on. So there you go, don't bother supporting this local business....note to oweners you might want to think your policy if you expect locals to support your resturant and function rooms attached to your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed there for a basketball tournament with 10 families with girls aged between 12-13 with siblings etc. We had a great experience, the pool was extremly clean as were the rooms, there was plenty of space and parking. We have stayed in Ballarat a few times now and this by far one we will recommend to others and look forward to staying there again. Great value for money, nice food in the restaurant just an all round nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

booked through coxys tv deals. Taking family to sovereign hill for the day,needed a two night accommadation. Room was large,basic but clean. Children catered for in room accommadation.Hotel rooms in need of a big update.i.e air conditoner.Old ones to loud and let in a very large breeze into room through large gaps around it.Resturant very nice,food good.Staff friendly. On the whole a reasonably good stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnradocaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
3.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
4.0 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#28 of 33 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Inn

Property: Bell Tower Inn
Address: 1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
67 Ground floor rooms with a variety of rooms to choose. Restaurant and Bar, indoor heated pool, breakfast room, function and conference rooms. We have it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bell Tower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing