We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Bell Tower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bell Tower Inn
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Room size ok, beds ok, but carpet covered in dead petals that had blown in through the gap under the door. Shower grout was mouldy and many insects in the room. Reception staff very friendly and accommodating with organising an early breakfast (delivered to room the night before).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Bell Tower Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Bell Tower twice and a third stay is coming up in November 2013.
We have found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is great.
We would not return if we were not happy, but have always been very pleased with the service.
Cherie ( Rosebud Victoria )

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here as there was no other accommodation in Ballarat. We booked the 'deluxe spa suite' for $150 thinking it'd be a good room. It was old dirty and ugly. Built in 1960 with no improvements made since then. It was the worst motel I've we stayed in and I've stayed in $15 per night hotels in South East Asia. The lamps in the room did not match. There were marks all over the ceilings and walls. The carpet was old worn and revolting. Every single thing in the room was old, worn and disgusting. I ended up leaving because I was so appalled I paid $150 for such a dump. Don't stay here. I'd rather sleep in my at then this hell hole.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoF1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Hi JoF1sh,
Thank you for reviewing the Bell Tower Inn.
Your stay was previous to us taking over, however, we welcome all feedback.
We are constantly improving the Bell Tower Inn and have made significant changes in the short period of time to lift the standard of the motel already.
Our improvements are ongoing and we would invite you back to check out our changes.
Regards,
Andrew Cronin
New Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our booking was made mid week and we advised we would be arriving around noon on arrival at 11.40 we were told in no certain terms our room wasn't ready due to being fully booked the night before. We left came back at 2.30 to pick up our key to be told room is ready we didn't want the room just the key as we are going out for dinner and didn't know what time we would be back. Came back to our room at 4.30pm to drop off luggage & freshen up our room was not cleaned. Went back to reception explained our room hasn't been cleaned on checking there was no other spa rooms available there was no offer of have a drink while we get your room clean or we will put you in a cleaned room as these people haven't shown up yet now we are on our way home weekend was ruined

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annargent11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My boyfriend and I (with a 5 week old baby) stayed in an executive double room for a two nights while he did hes apprentice training during the day, I found the nearest shopping center was ages away, which was okay... The room was very clean and alot better than I thought. The staff even lent me a microwave to heat bottles and I hired a porta-cot for $15, that was great. Reception was supposed to be open till 9:00..closed at 7:30 when I rang to enquire about the pool it was shut, also supposed to be open till 9:00 then I enquired about the gym for a key, she said 'meet me at reception in ten minutes' more like 20 minutes and came out in pajamas and stuck her head out the door, and said 'oh just keep it till the morning' lazy!!! I was also planning on having a room service dinner, but didn't want the staff's attitude about it so left it. None of the staff could be bothered VERY unprofessional. The gym was an old room emptied and had one treadmill, broken exercise bike and a broken walker and a flat yoga ball with a stuffed pump? . It was hideous to call that a gym.The room came with a beautiful spa, that I had to fill up with the kettle!!!! Took over an hour to fill as the tap just trickled water!! Very unhappy will not return!!!!!!! Not worth a cent, the only thing that made it good was my son being there.

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are nicer.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I arrived a bit early for check in and it was not a problem. The lady at reception was very pleasant and helpful with nothing being a problem. Room was very spacious and very well laid out. Had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Only problem was not enough milk in the fridge for coffee. Will always use this motel when visiting Ballarat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogueAmbassador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
4.5 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
4.0 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
3.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
373 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sovereign Park Motor Inn
Sovereign Park Motor Inn
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Inn

Address: 1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: £65 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
67 Ground floor rooms with a variety of rooms to choose. Restaurant and Bar, indoor heated pool, breakfast room, function and conference rooms. We have it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell Tower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing