We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what we paid”
Review of Bell Tower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bell Tower Inn
Ranked #20 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for what we paid”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in spa room. Very clean, Spacious & comfortable. Only complaint was fan in bathroom not working. Didn't get a chance to use any of the facilities but it looked like they were well set up. Give this place a go if you're looking for accommodation in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi and thank you for your favourable review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome your back anytime. Thanks for alerting us regarding the ceiling fan, it has now been replaced.
Regards Andrew Cronin, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    44
    23
    17
    7
See reviews for
38
34
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked well In advance for a weekend stay here, we booked an executive room but on arrival we were given a standard room with a spa that didn't work, then after complaining we were given another standard room with a working spa, room was outdated and bed was uncomfortable, we also were not told prior to arriving that steam room,gym and spa in general area were not working either. Felt jibbed out of the weekend stay we thought we would be having. FALSE ADVERTISING at its best and won't be returning or recommending this motel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat_mj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
I appreciate your comments, however, it would appear that you booked an executive suite which does not offer a spa which is clearly stated in the website you booked through.
In relation to the spa and sauna, it is currently being renovated and will look fantastic when completed in the following weeks to come.
Our beds are currently being replaced with new ones as we speak which our guests are raving about.
If you felt "jibbed', you should have expressed your concerns whilst you were here for 2 nights and we would have endeavoured to make your stay more enjoyable.
Regards,
Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballarat hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Really brilliant staff
Great beds! super comfy
Very clean
Big rooms
Indoor pool & sauna
Brilliant rooms looks like something straight out of scare face the movie
Really enjoyed my stay
Had a great time
Looking forward to doing it again.
Thanks for everything

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lucas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review, 18 January 2015
Thanks for reviewing the Bell Tower Inn.

It is nice to hear that you had a great stay and everything was clean,comfortable and quiet.

We look forward to hosting you again real soon.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Cronin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

They advertise free wifi but when we arrived it was only for 1Mb!!!!!!!!. Other hotels in area offer totally free wifi so why not here. The bed was terrible, sagging etc, room was clean but very old. They charge the same rate for the newer rooms as the old ones. Will never come here again and will not suggest this place to any of our friends.

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CodgeandMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
Our WiFi is complimentary to all guests staying at our motel. Every guest receives 100 MB per day which is ample for checking emails, the weather, and news etc. Additional internet allowance is also available at minimal cost.
We are also in the process of updating our beds after taking over a couple of months ago. This is one of our highest priorities as we want to ensure every guest has a great nights sleep.
It is disappointing to hear your comments after we receive so many positive comments from guests that have enjoyed their stay at the Bell Tower Inn.
As the Bell Tower Inn is undergoing refurbishment, we would welcome you back to experience our great hospitality.
Regards,
Andrew Cronin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed with a group for two nights and it did the job but I wouldn't want to stay again. The rooms were too spread out and our group was all over the complex, which was very inconvenient. We tried to move rooms but told we couldn't as a larger group was taking priority - not really what you want to hear as a guest. The rooms are tired and some have a damp problem. The bathroom is also slippery and there are sharp tiles on the shower edging.
We weren't able to have breakfast in the restaurant as it starts too late in the morning for those travelling for work
As a bed for the night it's ok but could definitely do with an update and more understanding staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5taceyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Hi Stacey,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
As the new owners, we welcome feedback from our guests.
It sounds like your stay was not the most comfortable, and I do apologize for that.
We would normally accommodate a group together to the best of our ability, and I understand that it would have been nicer to be grouped together.
We are also in the assessment stage of renovating our rooms, so I take on board your comments and suggestions.
Breakfast is served from 7 am weekdays from a full buffet menu.
Any early breakfasts can be delivered the night before to your room for your convenience.
Customer service is something I believe we excel in, and I am concerned that you did not receive great customer service. This has since been addressed.
Hopefully I have addressed all of your concerns and I look forward to seeing your group again soon.
Regards,
Andrew Cronin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed for business and as most have said it is like stepping back into the 70's with the decor and building. The rooms are large but the carpets need either replacing or a really good clean as they are dirty. The beds are very comfortable and you will have a good nights sleep but you will probably have to keep the air conditioner on all night if you want to cover up noise from your next door neighbours.
The bathrooms again could do with an update - the tiles in mine were pink and white ! The staff are friendly but they have to make sure the bar / dining area is manned as too often you have to wait for someone to appear and unfortunately this cost them a party of about 10 people one night who got fed up of waiting.
It would cost a heck of alot of money to totally update the place so they are probaly best of making small changes and keeping the price competitive as there seemes to be loads of motels like this just further down the road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Robbie, thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn. As the new owners, we welcome all feedback and yours is very important to us.
We, like you, were very disappointed in learning we lost customers in our restaurant. Our new staff member has been educated regarding better customer service.
The rooms on our the top of our priority list and we are improving them everyday.
It is a big challenge to improve the Bell Tower, but as you suggested, we are making small steps to continually improve all facets of our motel.
We look forward to you revisiting the Bell Tower Inn to check out the subtle changes.
Regards,
Andrew Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed with a family of five in a divided family room over two nights 8th-9th March.

First impressions were of a recently rendered entry that was clean and welcoming. The rooms as others mention were designed in earlier decades, and yes some of the decor was too. One of the benefits of this was that the room was huge, and ideally suiting a family. The new owners are working their way through the rooms improving the decor so this will bring up the firm base that is set by such a large room. Our room had recently been painted, but items such as the bedspread were look a little tired. I had a look in a nearby room and saw the results of a makeover, and it looks great. We all went in the indoor heated pool, and enjoyed it.

We were all very comfortable, and with such a large room it was easy to have a family of five in the divided room. We tried out the food at the newly re opened restaurant on our first night. The food was good that we sampled, the breakfast the following mornings was great value and we all enjoyed it. The ambience of the restaurant being a fairly large space was not quite ideal, and we offered some suggestions on improvements to our welcoming hosts. In the morning the ambience was great. In all we very much enjoyed our stay, and Ballarat also. The location in regards to tourist facilities was good. I look forward to returning when the rooms have been further upgraded as they have a very good base for the new owners to begin. Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Family rooms are good, quiet and were very good for our family of five.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
We appreciate all your comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the family were comfortable and loved trying out all our facilities.
You noted the rooms are being improved, and we are not resting till they are all completed.
The Glasshouse Restaurant is providing excellent evening meals and I'm glad you enjoyed the large selection for breakfast.
We look forward to hosting you again real soon.
Regards, Andrew Cronin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
4.5 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
4.0 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
121 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
3.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Inn

Property: Bell Tower Inn
Address: 1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
67 Ground floor rooms with a variety of rooms to choose. Restaurant and Bar, indoor heated pool, breakfast room, function and conference rooms. We have it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bell Tower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing