We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Weekend”
Review of Bell Tower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bell Tower Inn
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We decided to visit Ballarat for school holidays and really enjoyed our stay. Our room had a separate children's bedroom which was ideal and the beds were all comfortable. After a long day visiting Sovereign Hill we decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant and thought the food was really good, much better than the pub counter meals, and great value. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Altogether this was a great weekend with the family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi Iain,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
I am glad you had a great family weekend away and got to experience all the fantastic experiences that Ballarat has to offer.
We look forward to hosting you and your family again soon.
Regards,
Andrew Cronin
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Was expecting older hotel, that was finr, but i felt gross been here, the bed was so uncomfy barely selpt, mattress was very old type! I would not reccommend this place at all! And im not being fussy, ive stayed at better places in bali! Smelt dusty and mouldy.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Kirsten,
Thanks for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
We are disappointed to learn that your stay was not satisfactory.
If you were to advise us at the time, we could have changed rooms for you.
Interestingly, no one else has complained about that room.
Since February when you stayed, we have put 25 new beds in rooms, 25 new reverse cycle inverter air-conditioners, new carpets, new quilts and curtains.
I have no doubt that you would find our rooms very clean and comfortable now as many of our repeat customers love the refurbishments.
Regards,
Andrew
Owner since January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Clean though we'll out dated, decorated in the 70's and never updated. At least it was quiet and not on a main road. Room was old and lighting in the room was poor. Was too cold to use the pool. And with lazy moes next door why would I eat at hotel. No bath in our room which was frustrating as I was booked with a young child. I would not stay here again for the cost I have stayed in nicer, newer hotels. Couldn't fit the kettle under the basin to fill had to fill under the shower, no fresh milk provided, no mini bar, no good!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Laurine,
Thank you for advising us that your stay was not satisfactory.
This is not our aim and we look at every review seriously.
Our indoor heated pool is a great hit in winter and everyone thoroughly enjoys this fantastic facility.
Your booking was made via a third party website, and as such, you would incur extra fees, increasing your overall cost.
There was no note attached stating that you required a bath, as this would have been made available if requested at time of booking.
Our Restaurant is open Monday to Saturday, and although we had a large group booking in Saturday night, we would have been able to accommodate you, but I am glad you enjoyed Lazy Moe's next door as an alternative.
Fresh milk is available from reception, as stated in our compendium.
Likewise, our bar fridge is also available to guests at reception.
Your room had recently been painted, new beds and a new reverse cycle inverter heater.
The LED down-lights are our next project throughout the motel which will make a great difference to lighting in the rooms.
Again we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay, however, a lot of our regulars are certainly appreciating the refurbishments that are being carried out on the newly acquired property.
Regards,
Andrew Cronin
Owner - since January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our room was very very old. The cornices were being held on by screws, the curtains had a section cut out from which looks like an old heating unit had been removed so they have put black plastic over the pane of glass so make the room darker. Our doors (both front and back) were so hard and stiff to open. The carpet hadn't been cleaned for a while.

The newish pool area was nice but the sauna wasn't completed and was more like a storage area.

We went as a large group and some had really nice modern updated rooms. Luck of the draw but might be something you can ask for?

They had pet guinea pigs in the central grassed area which the kids liked but it was so cold they didn't spend too much time out there.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megsmel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Megsmel1,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
We had a great lot of positive comments from your group about our motel after the long weekend.
It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, however you were able to hi-light the fact that we are refurbishing our rooms.
The black plastic on the small bottom window was a temporary measure after the old air conditioning unit was removed and a brand new reverse cycle inverter was installed, making your room very comfortable in the cold weather.
The doors have had brand new locks put in, so they may have been a bit stiff, however, if you had informed reception during your stay, this could have been rectified.
As for going out to see our lovely friendly guinea pigs and the cold weather, unfortunately, I have no control over the weather, but I know the kids loved seeing them.
The sauna area has just been renovated and now looks fantastic. The heated pool was a big hit with everyone, especially in the cold weather.
The cornice has since been repaired and the carpets cleaned.
We look forward to hosting your group again soon.
Regards,
Andrew Cronin
Owner since January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

After reading devious reviews I was very dubious . Well, this older style motel is not bad at all. We were travelling in a group of 28 people (14 rooms) and there was not one person who had nothing negatives to say.
Rooms were good size,bathrooms adequate. My room was at the rear, a lovely large queen bed and big bathroom. Although dated, no one could fault the cleanliness of the rooms and the beds were all comfortable. Rooms were quiet( no noise by neighbouring rooms or the highway) and lovely and dark,so being woken by sunlight was not a problem. All rooms look onto a garden . Heated enclosed pool on site .
Staff were accommodating ,friendly and greeted you with a smile. Breakfast was cereal,juice,fresh fruit and a selection of hot buffet( eggs,bacon,sausages,Tomatoes,,hash browns) they catered fantastically for a few people who had a gluten free diet ,making special meals( lamb shanks,panacotta,gluten free bread) .restaurant was large and clean and comfortable.,with white tablecloths.
Although 70's style ,we all thought this added to the attraction of the motel, overall a great priced motel. Don't expect 5 star,but can't go wrong for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are large queen rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussanne51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Hi Sussanne51,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
I am glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here and the breakfast was a hit.
As it is currently being refurbished, we are consistently striving for a clean, quiet motel with great facilities.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Regards,
Andrew
Owner since January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in spa room. Very clean, Spacious & comfortable. Only complaint was fan in bathroom not working. Didn't get a chance to use any of the facilities but it looked like they were well set up. Give this place a go if you're looking for accommodation in the area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Annabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi and thank you for your favourable review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome your back anytime. Thanks for alerting us regarding the ceiling fan, it has now been replaced.
Regards Andrew Cronin, owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I booked well In advance for a weekend stay here, we booked an executive room but on arrival we were given a standard room with a spa that didn't work, then after complaining we were given another standard room with a working spa, room was outdated and bed was uncomfortable, we also were not told prior to arriving that steam room,gym and spa in general area were not working either. Felt jibbed out of the weekend stay we thought we would be having. FALSE ADVERTISING at its best and won't be returning or recommending this motel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cat_mj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acetog, Owner at Bell Tower Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Bell Tower Inn.
I appreciate your comments, however, it would appear that you booked an executive suite which does not offer a spa which is clearly stated in the website you booked through.
In relation to the spa and sauna, it is currently being renovated and will look fantastic when completed in the following weeks to come.
Our beds are currently being replaced with new ones as we speak which our guests are raving about.
If you felt "jibbed', you should have expressed your concerns whilst you were here for 2 nights and we would have endeavoured to make your stay more enjoyable.
Regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
4.5 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ballarat
687 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
4.0 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
3.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 34 in Ballarat
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Inn

Address: 1845 Sturt St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Bell Tower)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: £70 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell Tower Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
67 Ground floor rooms with a variety of rooms to choose. Restaurant and Bar, indoor heated pool, breakfast room, function and conference rooms. We have it all!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell Tower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ballarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing