We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ansonia on Lydiard
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of this place is its stand out feature....about 50 metres from the Sturt Street (main road through Ballarat and which acts as a major shopping strip) with the train station about a 10 minute walk directly up Lydiard Street. There is a great cafe around the corner (Bibo) which serves great coffee and an outstanding bakery with the best baked goods at the best prices e.g. 10 mini profiteroles for $4. The room itself was fine...high ceilings, comfortable bed. While there was an issue with inadequate servicing, it was more than made up for by the responsiveness of management when brought to their attention.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tattsdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sapermezel, Director of Sales at The Ansonia on Lydiard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Many thanks for taking time to review your stay in Ballarat and the Ansonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here last minute for one night on business. Chose it as an alternative to all the other expensive rooms in town since my workplace doesn't offer large amounts for this town. Didn't want to stay in your typical highwayside motel so thought this might be a pleasant change and I wasn't disappointed. It oozes character, offered a friendly reception and a free room upgrade because I had two cases and they didn't want me to have to clamber the stairs (no lift). Clean and tasteful decor, lovely old boards in the bathroom and stylish toiletries and soft furnishings. Very very comfortable and quiet. So many other reviewers had complained about the lack of parking but hey this is a country town. Parking on the street is not a problem overnight! It's free and right at the front door so they are really complaining about nothing. The restaurant was sensational. If I have to come back here for business or pleasure I will be back. It's every bit as gorgeous as the photos on their website and great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heartwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is located in the CBD near most attractions. It's a clean place but somewhat old. We were travelling as a party of two and booked a two bedroom unit. The so called two bedroom unit was badly designed with the bathroom only accessible by going though one of the bedrooms. The restaurant was closed and we were unable to have breakfast at the hotel.Finally it was a bit noisy cause the windows were old fashioned and no sound proof.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here for the one night and was not disappointed. It was a sweltering night and the air con provided some in room relief. Very good nights sleep on a comfy bed and the breakfast was amazing and the female manager was very attentive and was excellent at her job. She made an amazing coffee to order, actually she made a second which was just as good. Something you don't find included in breakfast. Special mention to the bircher museli & the house made stewed/spiced fruits.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WessandCorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Booked on Wotif as a mystery deal - was a bit concerned having read the reviews - but it was great.

Location on Lydiard St perfect. Room on first floor was well appointed and very nice. Excellent hot chocolate included on tea/coffee tray which I like (although no complementary biscuits...). Free continental breakfast was plenty to set us up for the day - proper coffee - great cereal selection including bircher muesli and fruit compote - fruit/wholegrain/white toast with a variety of spreads and also english muffins. Would definately stay here again.

Didn't drive so can't comment on the parking situation and whether there is free parking in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Ansonia is a fantastic little B & B in the heart of Ballarat. Staff were very friendly, rooms were very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a big breakfast the following morning, and found this to be a no stress stay. Would recommend to anyone, and will be back again next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Regardless of other reviews we really loved our stay here,
I did book on wotif and it was a Mystery deal (because it seemed a bit of fun!).
when I found out where we were staying we were excited!
It was a lovely place. Yes we had to walk up stairs to our room...big deal!!
Ive stayed in boutique Hotels in Glasgow and Paris and you have to walk up stairs there also! its part of the character of these old buildings.
It was a lovely old building, plenty of character and charm, The ceilings where lovely and high, the rooms clean and well presented. You are close to the main street and restaurants etc.
To use and sleep in for our weekend away it was perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#16 of 34 in Ballarat
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#5 of 34 in Ballarat
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ballarat
697 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ansonia on Lydiard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ansonia on Lydiard

Address: 32 Lydiard St S, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: £78 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ansonia on Lydiard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ansonia on Lydiard ia a B&B style Hotel set in a heritage building in the heart of Ballarat. A unique & tranquil setting suited to couples friends & corporate travellers. This property isn't suited to children under 8 yrs walking distance to restaurants,gallery's,shops,theatre/cinema perfect central location Guest lounge,open fire,sunny Atrium.Central to all tourist attractions in Ballarat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ansonia on Lydiard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonia On Lydiard Ballarat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing