We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Mount Gambier, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Everything was great!! The staff were very helpful and answered and questions we had, they had everything organised for us upon arrival. It was great to be able to wake up, look out the window and see Sovereign Hill getting ready for the day. Even though the weather was miserable and cold, the people & places were very warm and welcoming. It was sooo hard to leave!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meegan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    131
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
136
110
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We (My Husband and I) had a Fantastic stay at Sovereign Hill. It was our 8th Wedding Anniversary. We really enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was lovely. The dinner package and show was excellent. Although we didn't appreciate eating a romantic dinner for two in the bakery. We were booked for Charlie Napier Hotel and ended up at Hope bakery. Although the dinner itself was absolutely beautiful. The show was absolutely brilliant. Couldnt fault it. Very dissapointed with the photo we had taken at Photographic Rooms. Staff were too much in a hurry.Slip Slop Slap and your done. Very Very Very dissapointed with the photo. Mind you we still bought it for the memory ($100) but not happy at all.
Overall our stay was a very nice and relaxing getaway. Thankyou

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for the valuable feedback of your recent visit to Sovereign Hill – we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day overall.
With regards to your comments concerning the photograph taken at Red Hill Photographic Rooms, I am sorry that you were not happy with this product.
This unique opportunity to dress in costume for a souvenir photograph is a service we offer through one of our small businesses. On busy days, we might take as many as 45 bookings, and this does place staff under pressure, but we do not like to have visitors disappointed that they have missed out on this unique opportunity. When visitors are considering a photograph they are shown sample photographs on display and asked to choose the style they prefer. Costuming is selected – depending on style, size, and availability at the time. Visitors are then placed in a typical Victorian pose and are photographed. We normally allow a maximum of 15 minutes per sitting, especially on busy days when bookings overlap. However it appears you felt a little rushed and for this we apologies.

Overall it sounds as though your weekend was a success and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager
Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Couldn't ask for a better location, right next to Sovereign Hill. The Comfort Inn offers cosy family accommodation with friendly, helpful staff. We took advantage of the weekend package that included 3 day entry into Sovereign Hill, plus tickets to the evening show with dinner and we were not disappointed...... We all had a great weekend!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mishky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Overall our stay was very comfortable. The only criticism I have is that the building we were staying in was under refurbishment (being painted on the outside) and we were awoken very early in the morning by the painters. They were quite noisy for a while and then disappeared and came back later. I'm assuming they didn't realise we were in the room, and then once were notified left, and came back at a reasonable hour.

Other than that, the room was very comfortable, very warm (thankfully as it was very cold that night) and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz8170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The accommodation was lovely! The rooms have been refreshed and have a really warm feel to them. The furniture is slightly eclectic and funky and overall it was a lovely place to stay Very clean, lovely linen, cute food provisions! Unfortunately the staff are beyond clueless and the manager has no idea what he is doing. We were sent on a wild goose chase to try and locate our room in the freezing cold. Both receptionists were new to the business and couldnt really offer assistance.

Dont request assistance after 10pm either! We called reception as our heater wouldnt work on a freezing Ballarat night and were told that there was no one there to assist.

We overheard other guests who had nicknamed this place 'faulty towers'... couldn’t be more accurate! Such a pity though as this place could really excel with the right leadership.

Room Tip: Stay in the Governor’s Rooms for maximum comfort and style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Thank you for your honest and somewhat candid assessment of your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill.
I was delighted to read that you found our accommodation of such a high standard. Our research in the planning and re-designing of our accommodation was extensive. In particular we paid a lot of attention to what our guests have said about our accommodation in the past - what they liked and disliked. Comfort, convenience a little touches of luxury coupled with an upgrading of technology helped us come up with the results you experienced.

However if the human resources aren’t up to expectation, then we have a problem. We have recently recruited three new Receptionists – partly due to staff turnover and partly due to the need to increase service levels. It sounds like you were sent off with incorrect instructions as to the location of your accommodation and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this must have caused you. With regards to the reception hours, yes our reception does close at 10pm. When you called with your query of how to operate the heating unit your call was transferred to one of our security officers who was unable to assist you I understand. Your feedback will help us with training to ensure our afterhours security officers are better able to assist with guests enquiries.

Yours sincerely

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Situated adjacent to Sovereign Hill, the character accommodation looks promising. However, although the decor is crisp and attractive, the queen-sized bed was hard (bit like those Chinese beds I have slept in), the toilet didn't flush completely, there was no shelf to put toiletry bags (a narrow cupboard above would not do the job) and not even a hook in the bathroom. Added to this the adjoining room, accessed through what would must have been an un-insulated door, allowed us to hear the bloke's snores during the night and the kids voices the next morning.

Plus, I really look forward to the time when the bed makers stop tucking half the bed-linen under the end of the bed as it takes an enormous heave to pull them out if you want any warmth!

Overall, not happy.

Room Tip: If you can look in room first, test the bed for comfort, and check out the bathroom as described.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QE2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for providing a review of your recent visit and so sorry to read you were not happy with your stay. The comfort of the bed is one of the most important features of the room, closely followed by the pillows. That is way we are currently in the process of upgrading all the beds in the Residence (the accommodation wing you stayed in) replacing the existing beds with luxurious pillow top queen beds. Unfortunately one or two of the existing beds may be past their “use-by” hence the need to turn them over within the next 4 weeks. With regards to the bathrooms we opted to go with a bathroom cabinet for storage rather than a vanity. Sorry this did not work for you. The bathroom hooks will also be installed over the next 4 weeks also – they were a last minute addition with the recent refurbishment. Finally the issue of noise transfer between the connecting doors – we are looking into the installation of an acoustic treatment between the doors to prevent any sound transfer. Once again thank you for the valuable feedback.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Hotel staff were lovely and happy to explain everything.

very handy to Soveriegn Hill. If u are planning on staying on to the sound and light show I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexxa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for the very positive feedback on Trip Advisor.
Our proximity to Sovereign Hill and the sound & light show means it’s just a 5 minute walk from your room to the show.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.1 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#10 of 32 in Ballarat
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Property: Sovereign Hill Hotel
Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing