We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Mildura
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The convenience of being so close to Sovereign Hill was the reason for staying here. The buffet breakfast was lovely, but abit limited in choices. The rooms were clean, but small and we had to carry suitcases upstairs to our room (not good when they are very heavy with all the kids things) Overall a nice experience, lovely, helpful staff, but we wont go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    134
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
138
112
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Co. WIcklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My daughter and enjoyed our stay very much. The setting of the hotel is unique as it is part of sovereign Hill. The room was beautifully renovated, breakfast was gorgeous with lots to choose from. The only negatives were that the room was very cold at night and we left at 8 a.m. on Sunday, so we weren't provided any breakfast as first breakfast sitting was 8:30. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sovereign Hill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bohilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

PROS
Had Room 50 upstairs which was perfect as much warmer than bottom floor. Our room faced Sovereign Hill which was 10m away and within easy walking distance.
The heated light in the bathroom was fantastic so did not freeze when getting out of the shower. Also the room had adequate heating and electric blanket on the beds. Perfect for cold Melbourne days.

For the price the room was fantastic. Tea, Nescafe Coffee, Milk and sugar provided with 4 cups which saved on washing up for us in the bathroom hand basin. Bed was comfortable.


DISADVANTAGES
The bathroom shower was tiny, could hardly turn around or wash my hair.

But saying that a small price to pay for the convenience of Sovereign Hill so close by.
Loved Sovereign Hill, the acts and shows were fantastic throughout but the Blood on the Southern Cross was a disappointment and I personally found it boring as there were no live people in the show and it was too long and drawn out.

Room Tip: If you want a warmer room stay on the top floor. Room 50 looked onto Sovereign Hill and has a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank LeazieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we booked the package deal and stayed at Sovereign Hill for an extended stay of 3 nights including breakfast. ( which i recommend) as it was very filling. For a day of gold panning and experiencing life in the 1800's. we also enjoyed the Blood on the Southern cross show with dinner.
it does get expensive to buy food/snacks for five people at the places to eat in the Hill. overall we had a great time and i would recommend Sovereign Hill as a great family place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Room was fine (number 46) with queen and pull out sofa. Bathroom with small shower and toilet with great heater that comes on with light and fan.
Great breakfast and lovely outlook over Sovereign Hill.
I would just like to point out that if not driving this is not a great place to stay with mobility impaired guests. Hill up from Soverign Hill entrance was very difficult for my 82-year old Mum, particularly in the dark after the Sound and light show. We had caught the train and bus to Sovereign Hill which was fine- if Mum had have been there on her own or with friends her own age there is no way she would have got her luggage up the hill - no assistance given with this or with transport from Sovereign Hill entrance to the hotel. A transport service (say a golf buggy or similar) would have made her stay much more enjoyable, both upon arrival and departure and after the sound and light show.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MOKeeffe104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I would recommend the package deal, that my daughter and I had. We stayed in a very comfortable room, the package included 1 nights accommodation, 2 days entry to Sovereign Hill and The Gold Museum. Entry to Blood under the Southern Cross show, dinner and breakfast were also part of the package.
My only problems were, firstly the large school group staying on site weren't supervised during the Blood on the Southern Cross show. My daughter 11yo and sat next to a group of middle high aged boys that swore throughout Blood on the Southern Cross. Secondly the food at dinner was very wedding reception centre in look and taste.
But overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked and paid our deposit for a package of two days at soverign hill meals and one nights stay 3 weeks ago. awe paid the rest of the money 3 days ago. today the day before we are supposed to stay there they ring to say they dont have a room for us and they will give us our money back which we have to wait for. Will not ever stay here or waste my time with soverign hill again. Bad management if they cannot get there bookings right

Room Tip: dont stay here probably wont have a room for you if you book and comfirm ahead of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gyro1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We were very surprised to read your review stating that you were denied accommodation for a booking that was pre-booked and pre-paid. It is not our policy to over-book our accommodation even during very busy holiday periods. We have checked through our records and can find nothing that indicates we denied any confirmed accomodation bookings in recent weeks. Could you please contact me directly in order for me to investigate your allegations that you were turned away from our property.

Thank you

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.1 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#8 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Property: Sovereign Hill Hotel
Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing