We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for one night for the Christmas in July at Sovereign Hill. We were in room 35, a family bunkhouse and it was right in the bottom corner of the building. It was extremly cold down there, the heater worked a treat though. I wasnt expecting a 5 star room but I do expect, as with any hotel for it to be clean. The room itself was ok apart from all the thick cobwebs on the windows and door frames but the bathroom/shower was horrible. Shower pressure was nearly non-existant and all around the lining of the shower and the drain was a thick black film. The location and convenience of the hotel was absolutely fantastic but our tv didnt work, we tried calling reception for about 20 mins with no answer, until we had to go all the way up to reception for the receptionist to say quite bluntly she was busy so didnt answer the phone! A man came down, got the tv working but the actual remote was broken so we didnt have a remote for the night. The continental breakfast in the morning was some cereal or home brand wholemeal sandwich loaf, no choice of white bread etc and it was a mess, the kitchen had plates, bowls and cereal everywhere and bread just scattered all over the bench. We left and got brekky down the rd at Beeachworth bakery (fantastic may l add). Unfortunately would not recommend this hotel from this experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vict0riaC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill_gm, General Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for posting Vict0riaC86 - I'm sorry the budget package you purchased failed to meet with your expectations. We have attended to the room related issues raised in your email.

Please note: we do offer a cooked country-style breakfast to guests selecting other packages (see glowing reviews above) but I apologise if the simple self-serve continental option included for free with your purchase wasn't satisfactory.

I trust you enjoyed your Sovereign Hill experience overall and thank you for both your custom and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

i took the package deal of 1 night stay with tickets to the 'blood on the southern cross' show and was given a twin bunkroom at the 'military barracks' area. the package stated shared bathroom but we were pleasantly surprised to find it ensuite. The room is pretty basic with a clothes rack, your usual tea and coffee, and that's about it. No TV except at lounge and no wifi, but i'm pretty alright with that. Absolutely love the brickwall, just gave the room a really cozy feel to it, somehow, plus everything is totally clean and smells fresh.

for more details, visit http://molly-mia.blogspot.sg/2013/10/mias-weekend-getaway-australia.html

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill_gm, General Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us Mia F - the simple rooms offered as part of our budget packages are cosy, clean and, most importantly, right at the heart of all the action that Sovereign Hill has to offer.

I'm glad you had a comfortable stay and hope we can welcome you back at some stage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend in Room 51. Within this building there were three other ground floor rooms where our friends were staying as well. On arrival we were greeted by Cristal & Sally who were exceptional in their friendly & hospitable manner. There was a slight mix up in our prepayment and they were very apologetic and very efficient in managing this. The rooms throughout the hotel are spread out in several different buildings which externally are built to fit the era of Soveriegn Hill. The hotel is beside Soveriegn Hill and you have direct access to it through a gate. Obviously there is an entrance fee if you wish to visit it. From the front of our building we had a large lawned area with a great outlook over Soveriegn Hill.

We were personally taken to our room which although not huge was more than adequate for our needs. The room had all the items that we needed for a comfortable stay. A very comfortable king bed with very good quality linen (extra linen in the cupboard), a desk and a couple of chairs as well as a third lounge chair, flat screen TV, refrigerator, usual tea & coffee facilities, excellent heating and air conditioning, iron & ironing board. The bathroom was well lit, modest but still very good. The cleanliness of our room, bathroom and the other parts of the hotel could not be faulted, it was spotless.

Breakfast was included and it comprised a very good selection. The presentation was superb and there was plenty on offer. I often wonder about people who complain about this when they stay at various complexes but one has to be mindful of what you are paying. At the Comfort Inn the selection was excellent for the cost. Our friends were all very complimentary about the facility & breakfast as well. Whilst we were eating Cristal came to our table to again apologise about my account mix up and offered all of us a late check out due to the confusion.

There is minimal car parking beside the actual rooms but the distance from the main car park is not far.

I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. The staff are fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms 51 to 54
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill_gm, General Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for posting Paul557 - I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I passed on your glowing feedback to our fantastic team members Crystal and Sally. You made their day!

We miss you already - please visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The convenience of being so close to Sovereign Hill was the reason for staying here. The buffet breakfast was lovely, but abit limited in choices. The rooms were clean, but small and we had to carry suitcases upstairs to our room (not good when they are very heavy with all the kids things) Overall a nice experience, lovely, helpful staff, but we wont go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeeLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My daughter and enjoyed our stay very much. The setting of the hotel is unique as it is part of sovereign Hill. The room was beautifully renovated, breakfast was gorgeous with lots to choose from. The only negatives were that the room was very cold at night and we left at 8 a.m. on Sunday, so we weren't provided any breakfast as first breakfast sitting was 8:30. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sovereign Hill.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bohilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

PROS
Had Room 50 upstairs which was perfect as much warmer than bottom floor. Our room faced Sovereign Hill which was 10m away and within easy walking distance.
The heated light in the bathroom was fantastic so did not freeze when getting out of the shower. Also the room had adequate heating and electric blanket on the beds. Perfect for cold Melbourne days.

For the price the room was fantastic. Tea, Nescafe Coffee, Milk and sugar provided with 4 cups which saved on washing up for us in the bathroom hand basin. Bed was comfortable.


DISADVANTAGES
The bathroom shower was tiny, could hardly turn around or wash my hair.

But saying that a small price to pay for the convenience of Sovereign Hill so close by.
Loved Sovereign Hill, the acts and shows were fantastic throughout but the Blood on the Southern Cross was a disappointment and I personally found it boring as there were no live people in the show and it was too long and drawn out.

Room Tip: If you want a warmer room stay on the top floor. Room 50 looked onto Sovereign Hill and has a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LeazieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we booked the package deal and stayed at Sovereign Hill for an extended stay of 3 nights including breakfast. ( which i recommend) as it was very filling. For a day of gold panning and experiencing life in the 1800's. we also enjoyed the Blood on the Southern cross show with dinner.
it does get expensive to buy food/snacks for five people at the places to eat in the Hill. overall we had a great time and i would recommend Sovereign Hill as a great family place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ballarat
689 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 34 in Ballarat
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#4 of 34 in Ballarat
218 reviews
1.1 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ballarat
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: £86 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing