We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Simply love the hotel overall view upon arrival, very country cowboy and warm feel. Located just beside sovereign hill museum and 5mins to Gold museum.. Clean spacious rooms and awesome breakfast with the warmth of sunlight shining into the breakfast area.. Friendly staffs and great service! Cheers!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mysteryblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill is strategically located and with easy access to the Sovereign Hill Musuem made it convenient for its patrons!
Well equipped, Clean rooms with comfortable beds along with a good breakfast spread and quick access to all the must - see places within Sovereign Hill made it a perfect Christmas in July for us. A special shout out for the fantastic front office staff (namely Crystal and Clare) who made us feel at home from the time of booking... To checkin.. To Extending our stay ... To checkout .. All made it worth while and memorable.. !! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbyOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review following your recent stay during the Christmas in July holiday program. There is no doubt the ease of access into Sovereign Hill from the hotel is a huge plus in choosing to stay at the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill. But we were delighted to hear that your were so pleased with the standard of accommodation and your comments regarding our reception team, in particular Crystal and Clare is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Everything about this stay was first class. Reception was very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was marvellous and the breakfast was very good. We were there for Christmas in July and other family stayed in family room

Room Tip: Ensuite Sovereign or Governor's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carvin259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor - delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and your accommodation was to your total satisfaction.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Having stayed here before I knew what to expect, and once again the staff were friendly and helpful, the room clean and comfortable, and the buffet breakfast top notch. Although at breakfast staff were a little slow in replenishing items that were gone we found the experience of staying on-site at Sovereign Hill a rewarding one, and would recommend it to other travellers, particularly if visiting the Sovereign Hill village, laser show and Gold Museum.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank glennm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for the great feedback. Always delighted to welcome back return guests. The Christmas in July program in Sovereign Hill this year was a huge success. The hotel was operating at total capacity (which may explain your comment about the breakfast buffet) so it was gratifying to know that overall we maintained our high level of hospitality and service.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Went for Christmas in July show at Sovereign hill. Stayed for a couple of nights. Lovey rooms, huge radiator heaters inside room, big rooms (did not have a cat to test but if I had one could definitely have swung one!), nicely heated bathrooms; had two rooms - one for my husband and me, one for my father. Both rooms were excellent. The Sovereign hill area could be accessed through the inn. Breakfast was buffet style - variety of food, very good food. They do not keep their kitchen open at other times - my father was sick and needed to eat in his room, July being cold it was not very convenient. However, the staff was very helpful and put a microwave in his room so he could warm up his food. Overall, very friendly staff, very comfortable place to stay, very interesting place to stay - the rooms were part of the sovereign hill old officers' quarters.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bacholi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback - delighted to read that you found our rooms spacious and comfortable and in particular warm & cosy over the chilly Ballarat winter. Also we were pleased we were able to assist your father with his meals due to him being unwell at the time.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arrived early and was able to check in. Staff were very friendly and room was very nice - warm and cosy!! Best part was being on the door step of Sovereign Hill. We could easily explore and come back for a rest whenever we wanted. Will def stay again!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Heang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your valued feedback on your recent stay. The convenience of being right on the doorstop to Sovereign Hill is huge plus - but its also great to hear that our friendly staff and cosy rooms will entice you back again.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed here for one night in July and was very happy. I arrived early evening after a harrowing drive to a friendly reception at the office. The room was lovely and warm, questions to reception were promptly and efficiently answered. Very comfortable bed and hot shower. The breakfast was a buffet with a great choice of hot and cold food.

Will stay again next time I'm travelling through.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oniecoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sovereignhill_gm, General Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us Oniecco.

You're right: there is nothing better than heading back to a nice warm room after a fun but chilly winter's day at Sovereign Hill.

I'm glad you chose to stay on site and take advantage of our proximity to the action and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Merry Xmas in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballarat
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#7 of 33 in Ballarat
701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#4 of 33 in Ballarat
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: £65 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing