We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural Peace & Quiet”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Galwiji Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris C
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Rural Peace & Quiet”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 for a stay in September 2012

Our visit to Galwiji was the perfect place for the quiet get-away that my husband and I really needed. We stayed over a long weekend at this spacious rural Victorian country property and took delight in our ability to remove ourselves from phones, emails, and the “noise” of everyday city life. Soon after entering the property I noticed myself slowing down, breathing deeper and sighing contentedly. The homestead is well-appointed: a slow-combustion stove, open fire place, and pots and pans hanging from a rustic chandelier belie its modern kitchen facilities. Our sleeps were very comfortable and bathing facilities were more than adequate. There is plenty of room to spread out and make space for ourselves within this very large farm-style family house. It would adequately cater for numbers ranging from a couple to a small group, such as an extended family gathering for a special celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to visit there again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: I should have taken more friends with me to enjoy the stay.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
My wife Rosie and I recently did what you did and took a quiet weekend away at Galwiji Homestead. We're glad it provided the pick me up for you that it did for us! :)

Regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry C
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Relaxing break and the rustic charm of an Australian homestead.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Two adults and four children....plenty for the kids to do whether it was playing inside, running around the gardens or walking the various trails around the property and surrounding fields.
We found the homestead to be well equipped, easily accommodating large families or groups. There are various areas to sit and talk or curl up and read a book or two (Ideal for those in need of a quiet time and seclusion).
If you like to explore the surrounding area, there are many places to visit without having to travel too far.
We had a great time and are already planning another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
It was a pleasure to have you to stay at Galwiji Homestead. We're also delighted that you managed to sample the recently installed walking trails! The first of many to do so we hope.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa V
Cairns
1 review
“Relaxing, great location, fabulous house”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

After traveling from Cairns in our camper trailer, it was with great excitement and expectation when we booked our first house stay. The reviews are true, this place is great. We only stayed 2 nights but we could have stayed 2 weeks. The owners are lovely, and they keep this large house perfect. We loved all the homely touches like a pantry which contained all the little extras you don't normally travel with and every type of cooking utensil you could wish for. The grounds are a delight to see and explore and the owners will give you a run down of all the local attractions. I would happily stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review Lisa. We were very glad to give you a real break from the hard yakka of travelling with a camper.

Kindest regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager. Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrettParr...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful long-weekend stay for three families”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We stayed at Galwiji with two other families over the Australia Day long weekend and had a fabulous time. Malcolm and his parents were a pleasure to deal with and everything was exactly as specified. The large spacious home was very comfortable and the kids had a fantastic time playing fussball, table tennis, and jumping off hay bales. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks Malcolm!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Brett, we are so glad that you found the peace and quiet that you were looking for at Galwiji Homestead. We go there to wind down from life for a while, so we are delighted that it meets that need in others too :)

Regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager. Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
levi k
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“a one of a kind getaway!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have been at Galwiji Homestead for two summer holidays now and its truly a remarkable place ! we would highly recommend it for anyone in need of a quite, cozy, very private and natural environment to enjoy as a holiday or just an escape from life's hectic and busy speed. We have eight children and they all enjoyed themselves immensely in this wonderful environment!
All the best,
Levi, Channie and the other 8 of us

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
It's always a pleasure to have you, Chana and the kids to stay Levi. Galwiji Homestead is all about family, so you guys are our kind of guests :)

Regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager. Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moana adelaide
Reviewed 21 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Dec 2013
Karena, it was a pleasure to have you and Ben and the children stay. After a long year, I hope your batteries are now recharged a little. Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor. Marketing Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing - overall a great place to stay.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Dec 2013
Our pleasure to have you and your lovely book group stay Apryl. Please come again! Regards. Malcolm Pryor. Marketing Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing