We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful homestead.”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Galwiji Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ennis C
1 review
“A beautiful homestead.”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Galwiji is a wonderful property rooted in family humbleness and country beauty. After months of searching for a wedding venue, we finally found our idyllic Homestead to get married on and create our ideal setting.

The Pryors family, even though they hadn’t had a wedding at Galwiji in over 20 years, agreed to lease us their century-old property to get married on.

We will never forget the kindness the entire family and staff have shown us. We started preparing the grounds a week earlier and they were there from the beginning, ensuring their best to make sure our day would be more than special. They organised a gardener to look after the gardens, CFA representative to ensure there were no issues on the day, mowed the grass for our ceremony spot and our marquee to make sure our summer wedding would be perfect.

The house itself is fantastic. There’s plenty of room to sleep and a massive rumpus room for table tennis, music and games. Our family and friends loved staying there, especially the tea tree farm which you must visit early in the morning. It has lots of wildlife and birds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serene atmosphere and garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Ennis, this is such a kind and detailed review - we are humbled to have received it.

We wish you and Carly a long and happy married life - and may you make it to 60 years together, as Ann & Bill (the owners) will do in a month :)

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali M
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Serene country home stay”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I have stayed here twice now with groups of 5-6 and am looking forward to staying again. A beautiful and relaxing homestead with gorgeous gardens, it is the perfect getaway from the city, and a perfect stopover on the way to Ballarat. We have brought overseas friends here for a 'rural Australia' experience, and they were blown away by the amount of birdlife, kangaroos and sheep that came to say hi.
Facilities were clean and spacious, and the communication with the hosts was easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness of the area, the garden
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Dear Ali, such kind words. To know that you've stayed before and that you liked Galwiji enough to invite others to visit means the world to us. Thank you so much for the encouragement!

Kindest regards.

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.

P.S. I'm really glad that you mentioned the bird life. The incredible range of species at Galwiji is a big part of what makes it so special.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMD4040
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“Great choice”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

A wonderful location with very clean and tidy facilities.
Galwiji Farm Homestead provided us with exactly what we were looking for. A relaxing spot to spend some time celebrating the end of a hard working year with good friends.
Could not have asked for a better location. The family obviously take great pride in Galwiji as it was clear from their excellent communication prior to the visit and also the upkeep of the venue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of rooms, kitchen facilities and the outside relaxing areas
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Lynly, what a treat to have you and your teaching colleagues stay at Galwiji. Mum (Ann) was a teacher for 25 years, so it was a pleasure to make it a comfortable stay.

Kindest Regards.

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma K
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great for groups”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We had 7 adults, one in a wheelchair. Was a great place to stay. Had lots of room, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay there again. :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
Emma, it was a pleasure to have you and your clients stay at Galwiji. It's been a significant job to get Galwiji Homestead fully accessible, so it means a lot to hear that it suited your wheelchair guest so well.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fozzy139
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“A great place to stay for a larger group or family”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A lovely family holiday retreat in a quiet location but close enough to Ballarat for convenience. Big enough for a large family or group with room to spread out. The large games room is great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location away from everything and the peace and quiet.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
It was such a pleasure to have you and your lovely extended family stay Daniel. Please please come again :). Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julieshan...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Perfect for a large group!”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

11 of us stayed at Galwiji for 2 nights for a church leaders retreat. It was so peaceful there with plenty of room to unwind and relax. The kitchen is well set out, with three bathrooms to share around. Loved the two rooms with wood heating as the weather was very cold when we were there. The surroundings are quiet with some sheep watching on, great place for walks without being disturbed. We will definitely be back! Thank-you Malcolm and family for your professional and welcoming manor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the home and the quite surroundings
Liked least: During winter it is difficult to keep the whole place warm
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Rev. Julie, it was an absolute pleasure to have you and your group to stay.

I hope that your trip to Africa goes well and that we can see you back at Galwiji soon.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jann T
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable n spacious home perfect for a family getaway!”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked a 1N stay(which is too short!) at the farmstead for a family of 3. The hosts Ann n Bill were very friendly and warm.they setup the fireplace b4 we arrived so that we'll feel warm when we arrived.
The kids especially loved the big living room that has a table-tennis table where they had fun playing.
We all loved the open space of the farm and plenty of fresh air.
One thing to take note of is the water heater. The water will sometimes turn icy cold and sometimes scalding hot. Just be careful when u r using it.
As we arrived quite late and had to leave early the next day, we didn't really have time to explore the farm. So I'll recommend to stay at least 2N in order to really enjoy the tranquillity of the farm.
This the place to stay if u like rustic, quiet and peaceful stay with well-equipped facilities. :)


Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
It was a pleasure to have Jann's group of 6 adults and 6 children stay from sunny Singapore. They were very brave in trying to fit so much in in their trip to Victoria!

They did arrive quite late and then left early, which might have put quite a bit of pressure (every pun intended) on the infrastructure.

Apart from that, we were disappointed that they didn't have a chance to wind down in the tranquility that Galwiji offers, but we also know that time can be tight!

We promise to have some of the small maintenance items that Jann raised fixed as soon as possible.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;