We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of heaven”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Galwiji Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
L0reen201...
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Clean, well-appointed, lovely views - peaceful. Love the touches like a fire pit outside, with chairs - good seating under cover on the verandah.
This is not an "ultra-modern" house - it has more the feel of a family home.
Would be ideal for 3 - 4 families. I didn't actually stay this time - just viewed for future booking, Hosts very friendly and cooperative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Liked best: The rural aspect
Liked least: Not close to public transport
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to have you visit Loreen. Pity we weren't quite big enough for your gathering this time, but we would certainly welcome you in the future.

Regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budscook
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had such an excellent amazing experience staying at Galwiji Homestead. We enjoyed every moment and will definitely come back! Galwiji is very well equipped with everything you need for a getaway from the city.
We loved the cosy fireplaces, the beautiful garden, open paddocks and most of all the country atmosphere. We highly recommend Galwiji Homestead!
Many thanks to Malcolm, Bill and Ann for being so lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country atmosphere, well equipped, basically everything!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Anna, it was a pleasure to give you and your family and your friends and their families a break from their PhD studies.

As a dad, I love reconnecting with my kids after being away, or engaged on a project.

Thanks for engaging with the homestead so beautifully.

Take care. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El M
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Excellent place for a group to stay.”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Galwiji was a wonderful base for our visit to Ballarat with relatives from Germany.
Quiet, pleasant surroundings, well-appointed accommodation with plenty of space for seven adults.
Would be more than happy to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Lovely to have you and your extended family stay at Galwiji Homestead Eleanor. Even better as we have had so many lovely times in Germany.

Es war uns ein Vergnügen!

Kindest Regards,

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterSue2...
Beechworth, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A PERFECT FAMILY PROPERTY”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed with our family (13 people in all) as a getaway and to visit Sovereign Hill. Did not disappoint.

House is ideally suited for a large group. Exceptionally well equipped. Nothing was forgotten.

The children had a ball playing outside and observing the wildlife.

The adults enjoyed a few drinks first outside at the fire pit ( all wood provided) and then inside in front of the 2 wood fires.

Table tennis and soccer board in the very large living area.

Great hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home away from home in a rural setting
Liked least: Due to recent fires no sign out on the road. We all went past the drive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
What a lovely review! We are delighted that you enjoyed Galwiji so much and that you made an effort do explore all facets of the place.

Please come again soon.

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisadinan
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful weekend with extended family. Kids loved the games room, running free on the farm, and space to be kids! Easy drive for a day at Sovereign Hill. Outdoor and indoor fires kept us warm & entertained. Facilities were all comfortable and abundant. Can't wait to come again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2016
Lisa, it was such a pleasure to be able to assist to unite your widely-spread family at Galwiji :) And we're so delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much.

Kindest regards.

We can't wait to have you back again :)

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter H
3057
2 reviews
“Feel the Serenity”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were 2 Families staying over Easter
We walked around the farm Phew it is a big property (BTW we spotted multiple kangaroos, more birds than i could count,one walaby and 2 echidnas.)
We caught and ate Yabbies from the Dam
We spent one full day at Soverign Hill (need more time there)
We sipped great coffee in the Buninyong cafe strip
We visited a Dairy farm at milking time
We read books and played monopoly table tennis and table soccer.
We made a fire outside in the fire place and toasted marshmallows
This place is in the middle of no where and yet only 15 minutes out of Ballarat
We had a Blast
Thanks Malcolm Bill and Anne
We will see you again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good old COuntry hospitality
Liked least: not long enough
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Peter, what a lovely review. A inspiring to read how much you crammed into one weekend. It has taken me years to have all these experiences at Galwiji!

Please come again soon.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis C
1 review
“A beautiful homestead.”
Reviewed 7 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Galwiji is a wonderful property rooted in family humbleness and country beauty. After months of searching for a wedding venue, we finally found our idyllic Homestead to get married on and create our ideal setting.

The Pryors family, even though they hadn’t had a wedding at Galwiji in over 20 years, agreed to lease us their century-old property to get married on.

We will never forget the kindness the entire family and staff have shown us. We started preparing the grounds a week earlier and they were there from the beginning, ensuring their best to make sure our day would be more than special. They organised a gardener to look after the gardens, CFA representative to ensure there were no issues on the day, mowed the grass for our ceremony spot and our marquee to make sure our summer wedding would be perfect.

The house itself is fantastic. There’s plenty of room to sleep and a massive rumpus room for table tennis, music and games. Our family and friends loved staying there, especially the tea tree farm which you must visit early in the morning. It has lots of wildlife and birds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serene atmosphere and garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Ennis, this is such a kind and detailed review - we are humbled to have received it.

We wish you and Carly a long and happy married life - and may you make it to 60 years together, as Ann & Bill (the owners) will do in a month :)

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing