We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Inn Ballarat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lake Inn Ballarat
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed early January in a room for three people room was large for a motel and had good parking and the staff were very helpful. A big plus is the hotel at the front of the motel with great food and a great publican who was only too willing to help
Great accommodation quiet and very comfortable room super clean.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dunks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    43
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
53
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Lovely big room with semi kitchen facility (not used). Big corner spa, a little high to step in to. (wife was 8months pregnant and found this quite difficult to get in and out unaided) we're not the tallest people either. Great big lounge area with big windows for natural light, dinning table, and lounge suite, limited mini bar but ok for a beer or a glass of wine. Very clean and tidy property, nothing negative to say. Only in room breakfast available. Restaurant on site for dinner only.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I booked with this Motel after Michael the Manager was just so helpful on the phone, I had so much trouble finding a room as most of Ballarat was booked out, We arrived on Saturday 5/10 to find Michael working & he was just as helpful again in booking us in
The room is lovely & big, modern furniture, Queen size bed that was very comfy & you could smell the sheets were very clean, the Bathroom was very clean also with a walk in shower with good pressure, the bathroom was also big
Nice big flat screen TV with great reception, the windows wind out if you would like some fresh air. The Motel was quiet so we slept well,
We usually don't order room service Breakfast as its always cold but we were in a hurry to catch up with family so we took a chance, Well what a surprise it was lovely, it was HOT, we had scrambled eggs on toast, Apparently Michael made it he tells me, WELL DONE MICHAEL
So next time we stay in Ballarat we will defiantly stay here

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Big room, modern deco, very comfortable bed. A short walk to the beautiful lake. Very quiet. Bathroom is clean and spacious too. A restaurant on the site, very popular. We will definitely come back. Have to book early for this place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a quiet, modern and spotlessly clean. It was a pleasure to stay here. There is a hotel
Connected to the motel where we had a delightful meal in front of a wooden fire. Seniors rate was $161.00 for the night, booking through best western website.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmr1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarrawonga, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Best Western Lake Inn Ballarat.
Mid June 2013.
Ballarat Hotels and Motels have improved a lot in the last few years and this is one of the best.
We had booked a 3 night deal in an executive room for a good price.
Apparently the motel section is 12 years old but to me it seemed a lot newer.
The motel is part of the City Oval Hotel and Restaurant but is built in such a way that the Hotel does not intrude. It is very easy to pop in for a drink and a meal though.
We were welcomed by the relief Manager Michael. A very pleasant man who knows how to make people feel welcome.
The guest room was a good size, bed was comfortable and the bathroom excellent with a lovely walk in shower. Airconditioning worked extremely well. Could be the best 4 star motel we have stayed at in Ballarat.
One tiny issue was the Bathroom fan. One of those noisy older fans that switched on with the light.
We got used to it after awhile or turned the hall light on instead for a break.
Plenty of parking in the courtyard in a town noted for its abysmal parking.
A stay at this motel will not disappoint you.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are more convenient for older guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stayed for two nights in room 11. Very nice room, large and spacious. Very modern and clean. Walking distance to lake and yacht club. Easy drive into main area of ballarat and local attractions. Staff very helpful, especially michael who kindly took my washing out of the dryer after I had uses the washing machine, and even delivered it folded to our room whilst we were out sightseeing.
Did not use the restaurant on site but did visit the bar.despite being on site, had no disruption or noise from it. Overall pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
1.0 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.0 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#10 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Inn Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Inn Ballarat

Property: Lake Inn Ballarat
Address: 1317 Mair St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Inn Ballarat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Inn Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ballarat
Ballarat Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing