We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Inn Ballarat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Inn Ballarat
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for the night, found the location great, close to the lake so good for walking. The room was clean and tidy, well appointed and a good size. A good nights sleep is always high on our agenda and this was delivered as the room was quiet and the bed comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastertravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    41
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
51
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I booked this hotel for 3 days, direct with the hotel. found that the receptionist very easy to deal with, and no question was too much. Oour stay was pleasant and enjoyable, liked that I could go for a nice walk around the lake in the morning before work. There are many close restaurants and cafes to dine at. As I chose the apartment which had a nice kitchenette, I tend to prepare my own meals and didnt get out. I will definatley stay next time, as the location is nice, rooms are well looked after and plenty of parkling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queenanttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Took a two bedroom apartment for my family. Very clean and spacious. Kitchen had bare minimum crockery for four people. Good size fridge. Layout was a little strange with second bedroom having no windows. great location handy to city centre, lake Wendouree and main roads into Ballarat. Restaurant serves good pub fare with a good local bar atmosphere. No laundry service but machines available for limited hours. No lift to second level. ample offstreet parking. Friendly service. would definitwly stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed early January in a room for three people room was large for a motel and had good parking and the staff were very helpful. A big plus is the hotel at the front of the motel with great food and a great publican who was only too willing to help
Great accommodation quiet and very comfortable room super clean.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dunks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Lovely big room with semi kitchen facility (not used). Big corner spa, a little high to step in to. (wife was 8months pregnant and found this quite difficult to get in and out unaided) we're not the tallest people either. Great big lounge area with big windows for natural light, dinning table, and lounge suite, limited mini bar but ok for a beer or a glass of wine. Very clean and tidy property, nothing negative to say. Only in room breakfast available. Restaurant on site for dinner only.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I booked with this Motel after Michael the Manager was just so helpful on the phone, I had so much trouble finding a room as most of Ballarat was booked out, We arrived on Saturday 5/10 to find Michael working & he was just as helpful again in booking us in
The room is lovely & big, modern furniture, Queen size bed that was very comfy & you could smell the sheets were very clean, the Bathroom was very clean also with a walk in shower with good pressure, the bathroom was also big
Nice big flat screen TV with great reception, the windows wind out if you would like some fresh air. The Motel was quiet so we slept well,
We usually don't order room service Breakfast as its always cold but we were in a hurry to catch up with family so we took a chance, Well what a surprise it was lovely, it was HOT, we had scrambled eggs on toast, Apparently Michael made it he tells me, WELL DONE MICHAEL
So next time we stay in Ballarat we will defiantly stay here

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Big room, modern deco, very comfortable bed. A short walk to the beautiful lake. Very quiet. Bathroom is clean and spacious too. A restaurant on the site, very popular. We will definitely come back. Have to book early for this place.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
2.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.1 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#11 of 33 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Inn Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Inn Ballarat

Property: Lake Inn Ballarat
Address: 1317 Mair St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Best Western)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#9 Family Hotel in Ballarat
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Inn Ballarat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Inn Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ballarat
Ballarat Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing