We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip”

The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Return trip”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When ever I stay in Ballarat I cannot go past the Ambassador Motor Inn.
The rooms are very clean and recently have been renovated.
The bathrooms are large and well presented.
Located in a quiet area of the town but close to many attractions.
A small block of shops next door with take away food.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
35
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As this is a Golden Chain motel we booked ahead for 2 nights stay in Ballarat.
First impression is that of an oldish style motel a bit out of town.

However, once getting established in the room and got talking to the owner, Garry, one couldn't help but like the place for a short stay.

The room was, yes, a bit dated but clean and appeared recently painted with all the appliances needed. Frig, microwave, toaster etc... good TV and a/con.

I have never seen so many power points in one motel room before! Counted about 15!

Our room was right near the office entrance and I was initially a bit concerned about the close parking and my car being close to others coming and going but this proved to be OK as there was room to pass.

Toilet was clean and shower hot although the loo did require several flushes and a slow refill of the cistern. A minor complaint.

The best part of this motel, which by the way IS a little out of town, is the small complex of convenient shops RIGHT next to it. You literally just walk out of your motel door, turn left and there is a liquor shop, small deli/grocer and coffee shop, a fish & chip and pizza place AND a laundrymat. These small shops proved priceless and I recommend having a bacon & egg muffin and Italian coffee at the grocer shop in the morning. We did after we packed up on our day of departure and it really got us on the road. Cheap too!

Garry and his wife were very helpful hosts and were a mine of local info.

Don't be put off by the 'plain' exterior and oldish style rooms. This is an OK motel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Westwanderer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located with only a short ride to the lake and botanic gardens. Also near the Skipton rail trail. Very conveniently one of the top restaurants is about 100mtrs away. The customer device was also quite good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groovychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
720 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights here while touring around Victoria. We had a retro standard unit, which was in ex condition. It looked as tho it had recently been redecorated. Plenty of room and good bed. It was great to have a reasonably quiet heater in the room as the nights were very cool. Nice tidy bathroom area also. Of an older style but recently redone and in very good condition. The hosts were fantastic, very helpful and welcoming. Suggesting many things to do and places to eat nearby. They were very informative which was great. We ate at the golf club which is just up the road, great meal deals too. Good Laundromat next door to motel and also a pizza place and other shops. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. Very reasonable prices also. We were given price cheaper that advertised on wotif.com

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury Western Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My Dad and I stayed one night, leaving early next morning to continue our travels. The Man on reception was very friendly and helpful. He upgraded us to a bigger suite (2 bedroom, which was one separate bedroom, the other bed in the living area, which was fine for us). The rooms are pretty old and dated, but everything was clean, and the beds comfortable. We took a while to get our heads around the airconditioning. There's a master switch near the bed in the living area. Ballarat is a very cold place, so electric blankets on the beds were a welcome inclusion. I see in previous comments that some people were unhappy with the Motel. We found that everything worked as it should, it wasn't noisy where we were, and we could park our car right at our door. There are takeaway and liquor shops nearby (walking distance) We dined in for DELICIOUS gourmet pizza (Forge Pizza) near the warmth of the wood fired pizza oven. The suite we had at the hotel would have been great for a family with young children.

Room Tip: As others have said, this is not 5 Star, but we found it more than adequate for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellinaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

First time staying in a motel and was surprised by how nice n clean it was. Good location buses into city not far and in a thriving area with shops and laundry. Beds was good and basic amenities. Great for couples or first time travellers tom Oz!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I would advise people to disregard some of the reviews posted as we found them very very inaccurate. OK its not 5 star but they dont allude to be so. What we got was a clean & comfortable room with a good bed, good television, nice bathroom & most importantly - wonderful service. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts & their knowledge of the city & its points of interest & range of eateries was most helpful. We thought the price was very affordable & considering it was a weekend, we were actually quite surprised. It seems unfortunate that peoples expectations dont necessarily equate to the $ they want to spend. If you want all the the bells & whistles pay the extra $50. And I really have to wonder if 1 reviewer actually even stayed there as I was outside having a cigarette at 11pm & the manager was doing a lap of the motel before retiring for the night to ensure there was no problems. A nightly ritual I found out. It is out of the main CBD area - but Isaw that as a bonus - no idiots getting back from nightclubs at ridiculous times. We have to go back to Ballarat in a couple of weeks & will certainly be staying at the Ambassador

Room Tip: After talking with the manager there are a couple of rooms that have just had spa baths removed &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
3.4 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Inn
Bell Tower Inn
#20 of 33 in Ballarat
129 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#29 of 33 in Ballarat
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alfred Motor Inn
Alfred Motor Inn
#25 of 33 in Ballarat
48 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mid City Hotel
Mid City Hotel
#22 of 33 in Ballarat
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat

Property: The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Address: 1759 Sturt Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing