We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable”

The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Check in starts with a warm and friendly welcome, after a long day it was wonderful to find a clean, spacious room with a microwave.
Had a wide variety of basic shops located next to hotel, and low road noise.
Bed was comfortable and firm, a it was a pleasant surprise to walk into a warm room.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay......

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhiannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    24
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
37
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We booked at the ambassador for one night. I rang them to say we would be checking in at 10:30pm as their check in time was only until 9:30pm. The staff said because we were late we could not check in or get a refund. He would not even suggest an alternative hotel to stay in. Not impressed about paying for a room we never set foot in and not being offered a refund.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Briony2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

clean comfortable but very shabby looking.Linen and towels very worn no knives or forks or plates but a toaster ?Kettle , microwave and extras in the cupboard
Appearance on arrival was not comparable with the photos they list and the place looks run down and lacks a little TLC.
Inside is renovated and looks clean but i felt like i was staying in a fitted out garage.
Milk tea cofee soap etc supplied .
Would pay a little extra next time

Room Tip: pay for the best possible room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When ever I stay in Ballarat I cannot go past the Ambassador Motor Inn.
The rooms are very clean and recently have been renovated.
The bathrooms are large and well presented.
Located in a quiet area of the town but close to many attractions.
A small block of shops next door with take away food.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

As this is a Golden Chain motel we booked ahead for 2 nights stay in Ballarat.
First impression is that of an oldish style motel a bit out of town.

However, once getting established in the room and got talking to the owner, Garry, one couldn't help but like the place for a short stay.

The room was, yes, a bit dated but clean and appeared recently painted with all the appliances needed. Frig, microwave, toaster etc... good TV and a/con.

I have never seen so many power points in one motel room before! Counted about 15!

Our room was right near the office entrance and I was initially a bit concerned about the close parking and my car being close to others coming and going but this proved to be OK as there was room to pass.

Toilet was clean and shower hot although the loo did require several flushes and a slow refill of the cistern. A minor complaint.

The best part of this motel, which by the way IS a little out of town, is the small complex of convenient shops RIGHT next to it. You literally just walk out of your motel door, turn left and there is a liquor shop, small deli/grocer and coffee shop, a fish & chip and pizza place AND a laundrymat. These small shops proved priceless and I recommend having a bacon & egg muffin and Italian coffee at the grocer shop in the morning. We did after we packed up on our day of departure and it really got us on the road. Cheap too!

Garry and his wife were very helpful hosts and were a mine of local info.

Don't be put off by the 'plain' exterior and oldish style rooms. This is an OK motel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Westwanderer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located with only a short ride to the lake and botanic gardens. Also near the Skipton rail trail. Very conveniently one of the top restaurants is about 100mtrs away. The customer device was also quite good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Groovychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
727 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I recently spent two nights here while touring around Victoria. We had a retro standard unit, which was in ex condition. It looked as tho it had recently been redecorated. Plenty of room and good bed. It was great to have a reasonably quiet heater in the room as the nights were very cool. Nice tidy bathroom area also. Of an older style but recently redone and in very good condition. The hosts were fantastic, very helpful and welcoming. Suggesting many things to do and places to eat nearby. They were very informative which was great. We ate at the golf club which is just up the road, great meal deals too. Good Laundromat next door to motel and also a pizza place and other shops. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay. Very reasonable prices also. We were given price cheaper that advertised on wotif.com

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
3.4 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
121 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Inn
Bell Tower Inn
#20 of 33 in Ballarat
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Victoriana Motor Inn
Victoriana Motor Inn
#16 of 33 in Ballarat
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lake Inn Ballarat
Lake Inn Ballarat
#14 of 33 in Ballarat
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alfred Motor Inn
Alfred Motor Inn
#25 of 33 in Ballarat
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat

Property: The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat
Address: 1759 Sturt Street, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Ambassador Motor Inn Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing