We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY”
other travellers have booked this property
A place to call home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A place to call home.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
A place to call home.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
8888adam
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“THE ONLY PLACE TO STAY”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Just returned from 3 nights in this amazing house, There is not one thing you need to bring only yourself, From fresh fruit , milk, bread and chocolates all supplied, the beds were so comfy, may be a little high if you are elderly, but our parents were happy to sleep in the single beds, and only 5 min to main st in. Ballarat this is the best accommodation we have, stayed in for years, the pictures are exactly what you get, Thanks Catherine & David for sharing this amazing house with us, we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This is an exquisite and awesome place to stay”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I cannot recommend this wonderful house enough. It has everything you need in a wonderful old world home which just wraps you in its arms and says welcome. It really is a Place to Call Home. We spent the easter weekend here and brought our food and cooking utensils just in case. No need the kitchen is newly appointed utterly superb with generous provisions . We had bread, easter buns, jam, milk, orange juice and everything we needed provided in the kitchen dining area which we could lounge in for great family time. You could spend most of your day in there! We just needed to bring our lunch and dinner foods as the generous breakfast provisions were already there. The main bedroom has an ensuite and the main bathroom has a wonderful tub to soak away the cares in. The snug as they call it in England or the lounge room is just delightful with two large lounges to relax on and read those books or watch tv. We had TV in the main bedroom and kitchen too if we wanted it. The furniture and decor are fitting of this 1890's delight but there is some ingenious contemporary additions which make the house interesting and comfortable. Its located about a 5 minute drive from the main street in Ballarat . It has an outdoor BBQ area which we used and free wifi which was a great surprise. It got a little cold one night and the below floor heating worked brilliantly. Otherwise there were the blankets in the lounge to snuggle up with. As I said I cannot recommend this highly enough and we now have our home away from home in Ballarat . Thanks Catherine and David for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact when you are in the house you are a world away from everything and wrapped in your own little world
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tassie5
Devonport, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Best holiday accommodation that I've ever had,. It was extremely clean and comfortable. My thanks goes to Helen and Wayne Cooper at Ballarat for this wonderful home and for Helen's unique way of making us feel welcome...I will be recommending them to everyone who likes "A Class" accommodation. Thanks again Helen ..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StellaBea...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, unfortunately let down by the location”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had 2 nights in this house and it was a really comfortable place to stay. The main reason we picked it was because it is pet friendly. A big house that sleeps 8.
Very welcoming and immaculately clean. All the rooms have been well decorated with quality furnishings. Plenty of continental brekkie provisions and lots of pantry staples. Beautiful big kitchen dining area, cosy lounge and master bed with ensuite. Good wifi.
There is no access to the rear yard for some reason, but the front is fully fenced if you take your dog. Long driveway for car parking with 2 sets of gates for security.
We really liked this property but couldn't dismiss it's location. Ballarat has a lot of beautiful streets, but this definitely wasn't one of them. To us it appeared to be a bit of a 'rough' area. Such a shame because we couldn't really fault the house.
Communication with owners was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: style of house
Liked least: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rime12
North Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“4 bedroom Victorian home”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This home is beautifully furnished and very well equipped. We found it an ideal centre to tour the district around Ballarat and to take in the city. Thank you Catherine and David

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbie012...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious and homely - excellent standard”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family stayed at a Beautiful 4 Bedroom home in Ballarat for 9 nights. Communication with the owner was prompt and Catherine & David were very helpful. The house is beautifully furnished and has quality fittings throughout. It is centrally heated which is needed in the cooler climate. The house is situated only a few minutes to the local supermarket and shops. Large country eat in kitchen with full fridge. Quality linen and bedding. Free wifi was
appreciated. A cosy lounge to relax. I would highly recommend this property to future travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous kitchen and cosy lounge.
Liked least: Nothing - all good
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
45Eileen
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful property - excellent facilities, has everything you need”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at this property, and only wish we could have stayed longer. The house is lovely and warm, and beautifully furnished. Great amenities, close to shops and all the attractions of Ballarat are only a short drive away. We really appreciated the little extras the owners included - breakfast supplies, Wifi, DVDs, etc. Thanks once again - we hope to come back for a longer stay next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing