We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend at Balgownie Estate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Balgownie Estate Bendigo
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a very pleasant weekend at Balgownie Estate, accommodation very good and cafe and tasting facilities and service very good. Accommodation was spacious for two with excellent bathroom in particular.

Room Tip: Only two rooms to choose from, both very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovely service and clean rooms. The lounge didn't have a couch which was odd but there's a tv in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom is very nice, 2 sinks and a spa. There was no oven/cooktop, but a microwave to heat up food. The breakfast wasn't what we expected which a was a little disappointing, only very small.
Overall it's a beautiful, comfortable location.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We enjoyed the brief stay at the estate. The atmosphere was lovely and very quiet. The highlight was obviously the produces from the winery and estate. It would have been better if the cabin had a cooker, rather than the electric BBQ.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Upali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our first impressions of this property were very good. The landscape was gorgeous, set atop a hill with a nice outlook. The restaurant looked lovely to the right side of the rooms.
CHECK-IN process was nice, we were greeted with a smile and a hello. $100AUD was held onto our credit card in case of any breakages or faults left in the room.
Our room number was 215 on the upper level - a 1 BEDROOM SPA SUITE. It was fairly spacious, gorgeous bathroom with 2 basins (very handy), lovely spa to fit 2 people with a view looking out to the Yarra Valley. Balcony was fantastic as we could sit outside and enjoy a drink and some food (BYO of course). The BED was two doubles pushed together. It was very comfortable but there was no doona cover on the doona which I found odd. Just a sheet to cover it. Kitchen was nice, plenty of room and plenty of equipment/utensils! SERVICE at reception was fine, everyone was friendly. What really IMPRESSED us was the RESTAURANT. Rae's Restaurant. Prices are $60-$70pp for a 2-3 course meal. The food was absolutely fantastic. Presentation, service and professionalism were unbeatable. We loved dining here for a night. Also loved the drinks we had (Napolean Pear Cider & Pinot Noir) delicious. Make sure you dine here, it's worth it. I received the overnight stay as a birthday present, so i didnt pay for accommodation. It's quite expensive and I'm unsure whether you get the value for money. I'm sure there are nicer and more luxurious properties nearby for the same cost. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony & spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very nice little cottage in beautiful quite winery location. Quality of cottage, service and wines were excellent, food was good. Great place and experience, would highly recommend for couples looking for a nice weekend away.

Room Tip: Nice cottage, all expected amenities. Very big bathroom with nice jacuzzi spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a way to spend a Sunday afternoon than relaxing with great food and good wine. I really wanted to have lunch at a winery and i am so glad we picked this place.
The service was excellent (was a little slow when trying to pay), and food was amazing.
We had a trio of dips for entree and it was soooo yummy best i have had in a long time. My baby daughter loved the warm bread too. Main i had a gourmet pie (chicken and leek) and my husband had the sausages. Both were very yummy. I was soooo full after both of these i couldn't have dessert which was a bummer as the menu looked so good.
I would highly recommend trying this place for lunch and i would go back next time i am in Bendigo.
p.s i didn't have enough money but really wanted to buy the hand cream they had in the bathrooms it smelt divine :).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Becstar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Absolutely wonderful. James was a perfect host and made us feel so welcomed. He couldn't do enough for us. It was lovely to be able to invite our friends over for a bar-b-q each night. James was only too happy to provide extra wine glasses & crockery for our guests.
The accommodation itself is prestige. Perfection! Beautiful armchairs to lounge in after a busy day of wine tasting…..beautiful large bathroom and the view overlooking the vineyard is an added bonus.
We didn't want to leave and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
5.4 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
7.0 mi away
Quality Resort All Seasons
5.1 mi away
Best Western Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sandhurst Motor Inn Bendigo
4.7 mi away
Quest Bendigo
Quest Bendigo
#1 of 19 in Bendigo
399 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn Colonial
Quality Inn Colonial
#5 of 17 in Bendigo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balgownie Estate Bendigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgownie Estate Bendigo

Address: 46 Hermitage Road, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3551, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Bendigo
Price Range: £170 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Balgownie Estate Bendigo 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to the vineyards of Balgownie Estate Winery at Maiden Gully just outside the famous and historical gold mining town of Bendigo in Central Victoria. Two beautifully restored mining cottages with all the modern conveniences close to our Cellar Door and Restaurant, provide a peaceful and relaxing venue that overlook the vines. On occasions you can say hello to our friendly kangaroos and various forms of wildlife whilst relaxing with a glass of our famous white or red wines from the 40 year old vineyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Balgownie Estate Bendigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing