We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat, quiet and good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Reef Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Reef Motor Inn
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Neat, quiet and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Sundowner is a nicely refurbished 1970s style motel about 2 km from the centre of Bendigo. The rooms are average size but the fit out is fresh and modern. Beds are comfortable (mine was a queen) and the shower is excellent! The motel has a small pool and walking access to a large pub across the highway. Highway noise was non-existent and you can park right in front of your room. Good value overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrum Downs, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

My family and I regularly go to Bendigo and since I discovered the Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef just over 12 months ago I haven't even considered anywhere else.
The owners are lovely people who understand the true meaning of customer service and we always feel very welcome.
All the staff including the owners have worked together for a number of years and it shows....nothing is too much trouble and you are always greeted with a smile.
I have stayed in every type of room that they offer from a basic twin room to the family suite with the spa. All of the rooms have more that met my expectations in both price and description.
All the rooms are extremely clean with attractive and modern decor.
My family are all fussy when it comes to beds and we have all been more than comfortable with ample linen and pillows.
The bathroom's are also modern, with great water pressure, and plenty of towels.
I adore the outdoor pool and spa which are solar heated and well kept.
The motel is situated approximately 5-6 drive from the main town of Bendigo.
Whether you are in Bendigo for work, passing through, or holidaying with family, I highly recommend this motel.



Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way through Bendigo, it is on a main road but traffic noise wasn't an issue. Staff were friendly. Rooms are nicely appointed. There are tea/coffee making facilities with a couple of biscuits. The mini bar is reasonably priced. The bathroom has soap, shower gel, conditioner, body lotion and shaving cream dispensers. The only thing I would have like would be a bed with a bit more padding. Apart from this I couldn't fault this motel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMM920829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne,
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We booked this at the absolute last minute on wotif and arrived 3 hours later. Staff were very friendly and room was clean, comfortable and very new. They also gave us fresh milk! I have stayed at a number of motels in Bendigo (including a very nearby upmarket competitor) and this is one of the best. Definitely recommend.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan362013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

last minute decision to stay in Bendigo and chose this hotel as it was out of town away from the busy hustle and bustle of what was happening this weekend in Bendigo and it had free wifi !
The room was lovely and clean, the staff were friendly and helpful. Will def stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We arrived late in the afternoon after a big day of running and were so happy to see such a nice and welcoming place to stay. Comfortable beds, very clean, modern and tidy, and friendly staff, also free wifi! I will definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awillis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My 10 year old son Mat and I stayed for 2 nights, and loved our stay, it was also the Bendigo Festival, so that was a real treat. Mat begged for swim, even though it was far too cold, so l took him down and watched the clock, sure enough Mum was right out he got right on time. Straight to room for a spa, and relax with Free Austar and Free Wi-Fi. The rooms are Clean, comfortable and quiet, the best things a motel can provide. The owners, Brook & Eugene, have done a great job with this motel. And nothing was too much trouble, even sending up a knife for us. The location is close enough for all Bendigo has to offer with very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: All rooms have car space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal Inn
1.7 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#6 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.9 mi away
Goldfields Motor Inn Bendigo
0.1 mi away
Quality Resort All Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Reef Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Reef Motor Inn

Property: Golden Reef Motor Inn
Address: 186 McIvor Road, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Sundowner Bendigo Golden Reef)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Reef Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Reef Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing