We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosy and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bendigo Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bendigo Backpackers
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cosy and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a great choice of accommodation my friend suggested, clean and providing all the amenities you require. Wonderfully located in the CBD. A comfortable bed and the dorms are spacious enough for me to spread out my things as I get organised each day.
The staff are friendly and helpful, The kitchen is big and there is plenty of bench space and utensils to prepare my meals. oh so nice to wash my clothes in the laundry fresh for my sight seeing.
It was a nice atmosphere, it was easy to meet people and make friends even if your travelling alone, I will be happy to say I'II be back to stay and see more of Bendigo's landmarks

Room Tip: Outside was nice to relax in the fresh air and talk to others
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuzzyfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    2
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
4
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was travelling through Bendigo, where was advised not to travel on by Doc due to a bad foot. After hobbling to Bendigo Backpackers I was met by Graham who organised me a dorm for my self to rest up and get the heating on. It had a feel of home about the place and both common area and kitchen where very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have enjoyed my stay in Bendigo Backpacker immensely. The hostel is very clean and comfortable with all the amenities you need including a fully functional kitchen, as well as a laundry room and free laundry powder! There is social areas auch as tv room and bbq area out back. The hostel provides information and things to do in bendigo and the surrounding area and Graham is easily approachable to answer any questions you may have. I enjoyed my stay so much I came back to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was only my second experience of a hostel when travelling alone and I have almost been completely put off. The hostels itself wasn't in bad condition, and the facilities were very good for the price. However, when I arrived at 8pm on a Saturday night, there was no-one there to answer the door. A sign in the door informed me that check-in was 5pm-9pm, so I expected someone to be there, especially as I had informed the owners I would be arriving at 8pm. After spending 40 minutes banging on every door and window in the place, and ringing the two numbers provided (they both went to voicemail immediately), a guest opened the door to me. She informed me that the owners had left earlier, so no-one was there to show me to the room I had booked. Luckily, the guest that let me in said I could sleep in a bed in the dorm that they had booked, otherwise I would have had nowhere to sleep. As I was getting ready for bed, another couple arrived at the hostel and couldn't get into the room they had booked with the key they had been given; it was a key for the room I ended up staying in. This led to them having to sleep on the sofa in the living room. They were extremely angry too. This hostel is in a pretty good location, it only takes 10 minutes to walk to the centre of the city. The facilities were also very good for the price, it's just such a shame that the customer service was completely non-existent, which has led to this 1-star review.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bendigo hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We were three students (2 french and 1 aussie) and had a great time ! Clean, cheap, well situated, nice host, free wifi, free laundry, free coffee&tea. What else ? Perfect place for a short stay, close to shopping spot, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. It matches perfectly with family, students, couples, hips of friends, anybody will be pleased !!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fladri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

After seeing the reviews that are quite negative about this place at the start we were quite aprehensive about staying here.. we are 3.

After traveling over from Perth we have stayed in our fair share of crap, dampy, overpriced places. And in reality this place does feel like your home. With free wifi, free washing machine (free powder too) free tea coffee as well, you can feel that the owner especially goes out of his way to make you feel welcome.

But above all this isnt a Palace or a YHA (it lacks the price of one of them too) and it does have one or two cobwebs in some places but to me i couldnt care less, thats not what matters to me.

Having arrived on a thursday the owner gave the three of us (it must have been quite recently) a 6 person dorm so we could stay together and the beds and bathrooms are in good condition.

Overall and ultimately i am very satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConcernedTraveler198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed one night in this Hostel on our way to Camberra. The service is excellent, free Wifi, free laundry, nice host, clean kitchen and bathrooms, a common room with TV and sofas. The room was comfortable and spacious. The quality price ratio is really good. I totally recommend this place, especially if you want to walk around Bendigo because everything is really close, nice restaurants, café and shopping are 10 min away by walking.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cathedral Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quality Resort All Seasons
3.3 mi away
BIG4 BENDIGO Ascot Holiday Park
2.1 mi away
Golden Reef Motor Inn
Golden Reef Motor Inn
#14 of 25 in Bendigo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bendigo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bendigo Backpackers

Property: Bendigo Backpackers
Address: 33 Creek St South, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Comfort Backpackers Australia)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bendigo Backpackers has family, Double, single and male and female Dorms. It has a capacity of 26 beds and is suitable for school and sporting groups, who can book the whole hostel for their own EXCLUSIVE USE! Bendigo Cinemas, Golden Dragon Museum, Central Deborah Gold Mine, Discovery Centre, cafes, restaurants, Art Gallery, is a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bendigo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing