We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, funky and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked a weekend away and stayed at the new opened Schaller Studio.

The reception area is warm and welcoming, especially on a Winter's day. You're greeted by a cafe , reception and several comfortable seating areas. The room was small but well appointed with a good bathroom and comfortable bed. The room's size isn't really suitable for sitting back and relaxing in but I think the idea is to do this in the communal atmosphere of the reception area.

The mini-bar was well stocked with local beer and wine and reasonably priced, as was the cafe downstairs. Every room, and the corridors and other shared areas show pieces of Schaller's art which are available for purchase.

The service throughout the hotel was excellent, welcoming and friendly. The only small downside is a lack of parking. Being in the grounds of the hospital (which is being rebuilt over the road) means that parking is at a premium and the car park in front of the hotel was full when we arrived.

The hotel is within an easy walk to town with plentiful things to do and places to eat. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank otbc_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Schaller Studio
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here while my Husband worked in Bendigo for 2 nights. Small rooms compensated for 1st Class service, comfortable beds, great toiletries, T2 Tea bags, Coffee machine, quaint little balcony, perfect communal areas to have a wine/coffee and the best on site café. Husband wants to make it his regular so ill guess Ill have keep tagging along.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DVDZ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked this hotel through Wotif - mystery deal, although it was pretty obvious this was the hotel we were going to get. We paid $115 for a Friday night stay. We arrived in the evening, and were greeted warmly. I asked the girl about using priority rewards and she clearly didn't have a good understanding of the program and how it linked with Rydges, but anyway after much discussion she informed me you can't earn points anyway with Wotif bookings.

We've just come back from a 6 week overseas trip staying in many variances of hotel. This hotel is self rated 4 stars. I think that's a bit rich. The hotel is smacking new, and visually appealing. The rooms however, although nicely decorated, are not 4 star. They are very small, the bathroom is not very nice, and there was no real room for bags.

The bed is possibly queen size across, but not in length. My husband is 6 foot 2 and had a horrible sleep with his feet right off the end - which in turn caused me to barely sleep as well. Such a shame because the beds are very soft. The toiletries were nice, but so impractical - all had small foil seal that i had to bite off with my teeth inside the shower. They wouldn't stand up in the wire shower rack. The shower itself was so pokey - not what a 4 star hotel should feature.

We went down to have breakfast before we left on Saturday morning. Every table was either taken or covered in mess. We ordered coffee, a slice of cake and a toasted naan bread. We sat at the bar as there was a small spot with no mess there. 10 minutes later the coffee arrived - very nice too. Another 15 minutes later still no food and we were beginning to run late - we asked for our food to take away, and 5 minutes later the cake was cut and toasty put in the grill. Such a shame, 3 staff members and nothing getting done it seemed.

I think it was fun for one night, but the room wouldn't be one i'd want to spend anymore time in. I'd try somewhere else in Bendigo next time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside have a view of the hospital - not very exciting.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Art Series - The Schaller Studio, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Thank you for your great 4 star review. The culmination of the gorgeous artwork, smells of the Pantry and spacious lobbies add a real flavour to this hotel so I am pleased you enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back and I can assure you we have fixed the roles within in our team to ensure we offer great service.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It was a very funky hotel with lots of space in the communal areas. No signage for the reception which is part of the cafe. Lovely and clean, but the fundamental comforts of a motel were missing.You would have to be about 5ft to fit in the double to queen size bed, though it was comfortable. So definitely not a queen! The room was so small that we could touch the wall and window either side of the bed. The shower was also very small and wet the floor while you tried to regulate the shower. Had lots of plus's with the coffee machine and quirky paintings, but considering it was a brand new motel it was disappointing to have such a small room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Bendigo is a country town with plenty on offer.. particularly the wonderful exhibitions that are regularly on show at the Bendigo Gallery. Our weekend in Bendigo was enhanced by our stay at the Schaller Studio, as it was such a different experience. The rooms are small, which is really the only negative for this property. However they are well laid out in the limited space and the bed is exceedingly comfy. The detail in the room is fabulous: clips holding notices on a wall, a canvas and paints in the basket of nibbles, an artistic signature on a wall, all reinforcing the theme of this being an artistic hotel. In the lobby there are several seating areas, where you can curl up on a couch (rugs provided) to read, play board games etc with the possibility of platters of food being delivered to you from the cafe, along with drinks. Brightly coloured artwork is everywhere. The reception staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful, recommending restaurants, making bookings, replacing a misplaced key! This hotel was a star!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is a funky little jewel of a hotel with creative communal spaces in the foyer and loads of colourful artwork. The rooms are smallish but well designed to appear more spacious and include a little breakfast bar on a balcony. The bed was comfortable, good quality toiletries in the bathroom, nice bedlinen and towels and some local produce in the minibar. The only thing lacking from my point of view was room service! The staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Within walking distance of the city centre and Bendigo Art Gallery. It was great value

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Such a beautiful and funky hotel. Great service, easy check in, lovely staff! Rooms are very compact, but you also have access to their lounge area. Beds are so comfy, albeit short and I woud prefer a queen. Great linen, loved the throw rug. They had one of my favourite shampoo's in the shower! Double glazed windows help with the traffic noise, even had a wee little balcony which would be nice on a warmer day than we had. Awesome communal lounge area with comfy leather couches and fire to keep you warm on a cold night in Bendigo. Such a reasonable rate, and a short walk into Bendigo CBD. Would stay here again and recommend to friends (as long as you aren't too tall).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lukeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Crystal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#14 of 25 in Bendigo
201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bendigo Lakeview Motor Inn
1.6 mi away
Quality Resort All Seasons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Schaller Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Schaller Studio

Address: Corner Lucan and Bayne Street, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia (Formerly Art Series Studio Hotel Bendigo)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Price Range: £65 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Series - The Schaller Studio 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drawing from the art and cultural overtones of Bendigo, The Schaller Studio is a boutique hotel inspired by Mark Schaller's working studio. With large edgy communal spaces, rooms filled with original artwork, large scale sculptures and mosaics across the landscaped gardens, guests can fully immerse themselves in the creative process. For a multifaceted art inspired experience, artisan markets will be on offer at our boutique hotel Bendigo accommodation. CARPARKING IS STRICTLY LIMITED AND NOT GUARANTEED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Schaller Studio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing