We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Bendigo”
Review of Alexandra Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexandra Place
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Certificate of Excellence
Mirboo North, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend in Bendigo”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Nice clean Motel within walking distance of City centre.
Under cover parking outside room was handy.
A/cond was a little noisy other than that it was fine and My other half thought the
bed was very comfortable.
Option of Breakfast to your room, though We chose to visit a very nice little
Café just around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    106
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
47
88
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had booked the studio spa and were pleasantly surprised. It is separate to the main motel, renovated, spacious and tastefully finished. A couple of things could be improved, no cutlery or dinner set was provided so making breakfast was very difficult. There is no microwave in the room, however one is provided if you go to reception. Our greeting at reception was underwhelming, and were frustrated that money had been taken out of our account and put on hold without warning. Man at reception said this was a recent change to be more in line with Melbourne hotels. Coming from Melbourne I can say that they generally do it at the same time you check in, not 3 days prior, and not without notification. All in all we would happily stay here again, but would want this studio or the unit, not the other rooms.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the studio if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our greeting at reception was very underwhelming, the guy didnt really seem to know how things worked, was very vague about the continental breakfast that we had prepaid, which was very odly delivered to us the night before!!!
We were interested in taking the tourist tram and asked the guy at reception about it, however despite the fact that the tram depot was virtually next to the motel he didnt know it was there - please at least have a little bit of local knowledge.
The room was very standard motel fair, however the entry door had dirty hand marks on it, very off putting doesnt give a very good impression at all - wouldnt stay here again - only plus was it was an easy stroll to the town

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redtomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Alexandra Place was the best place for our visit. Great location to experience Bendigo's main attractions. Professional service, nice, clean rooms with all standard facilities. Highly recommend if you are coming to Bendigo

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

In Bendigo for the Easter Festival, Alexandra Place was in the perfect location to walk to the main street and Bendigo tramways. Lovely set up, clean rooms, standard facilities, and plenty of parking space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The people at Alexandra place are great to deal with and the accommodation was spotless. I highly recommend this one. We stayed in the two bedroom self contained apartment and tried to rebook this for another family event coming up but it was already booked.

Room Tip: The two bedroom self contained apartment is a winner hands down
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had previously stayed in a one bedroomed Bendigo motel with our two children but this time decided to stay in a two bedroomed one which was a good decision. The kids' room had a set of bunks and a single bed - we decided to use the lower bunk and the single but the upper bunk would have been fine for an older child. Both bedrooms had a tv and there was a decent sized bathroom for us to share. The dining area was a table and four chairs in the kids' room which was fine and we managed to eat cereal and toast here for breakfast on both mornings.

The rooms were warm when we came in late and the beds were comfy and very clean. I have never liked exposed brick walls but apart from this the rooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated.

Having inadvertently left a few items in the room the owner was quick to call us on our last day and we were able to go back and retrieve our stuff.

Alexandra Place Motel was in an ideal spot for the town centre and we were able to walk to everything that the Easter Festival had to offer with our 7 and 5 year old in tow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bendigo hotels
0.4 mi away
Art Series - The Schaller Studio
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna
#5 of 25 in Bendigo
218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shamrock
Hotel Shamrock
#10 of 25 in Bendigo
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Barclay On View
Barclay On View
#14 of 25 in Bendigo
195 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Crystal Inn
1.2 mi away
Central Deborah Motel
Central Deborah Motel
#9 of 25 in Bendigo
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Place

Property: Alexandra Place
Address: 200 McCrae St, Bendigo, Greater Bendigo, Victoria 3550, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Bendigo > Bendigo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Bendigo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Place 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexandra Place is a 4 star Motel located 600 metres from the centre of the CBD. Offering Self Contained accommodation, spa and deluxe units the Motel also provides free WiFi and parking as well as room service and charge back facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexandra Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing