We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fabulous place !”
other travellers have booked this property
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Entrance To Barbret Lake Lounge with log burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Cabin on lakeside with private decking
Entrance To Barbret Lake
Lounge with log burner
Cosy lounge area
Kitchen
Main bedroom
2nd Bedroom
Shower room
Lake view
View from cabin doors
View from front gate end
Children's playground
Play Caravan
Children's play caravan
BBQ and Firepit area
Relax by the solar heated pool
30lb 40oz carp
37lb 11oz caught May 2018
26lb 5oz carp
8lb Tench
Caught October 2017
Caught June 2017
37lb 12oz Carp caught November 2017
Caught March 2017
Baby Catfish at 24lb 3oz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Retiers, Ille-et-Vilaine, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Reg L
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a fabulous place !”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We exchanged a lot of emails ahead of the trip as I wanted to make sure we brought the right gear and Chris / kate were amazingly helpful. Very easy to deal with and very straight forward / honest.

When we arrived having travelled from from Caen , we were blown away. Pictures do not do this place justice as it is gorgeous !

I like to fish , but am not an obsessive angler, I like nice looking picturesque places with the chance to catch great fish - well this was it .
The hosts - Chris and Kate were fabulous , there was nothing that was too much trouble for them , they really defined the phrase "Home from Home" . You will not find better hosts anywhere, they treat you like friends not guests and are amazingly honest , caring , thoughtful people. Chris was unbelievably helpful , with help on the Bait, tactics , areas to target etc.. he really was great with my mate who is a bit inexperienced with the carp when he arrived but was capable of dealing with a 27 pounder by the end of it. As a couple they were so kind and friendly we Felt pretty pampered by the end of the trip. I won't go into the hundred reasons why I say that but treat them well and with respect and you will see why I say that.

The place - Gorgeous, Picturesque, Clean , everything you want and could need is there , swimming pool , shooting range , darts and pool, BBQ, amazing breakfasts and dinners from Kate ( you will find no room for lunch after the breakfast).
Cabin is a stunning setting and very comfortable and the caravan is amazing . Pictures cannot give you the full picture.

The lake - fabulous setting with plenty of swims around the lake . Each with features and plenty of options for Fishing. Great looking water which in turn hold some great fish.

The fish - amazing condition , healthy , fighting fish that were gorgeous , no massive boilie bellies obese fish here , all beautifully proportioned .

We had twenties every day plus lovely tench. I caught my first ever Catfish at 23lb following some advice from Chris and my mate beat his PB with the 27pounder. I am back ASAP to break my PB !

Sensible rules keep the fish in good nick and please don't think you know everything - Chris feeds the fish and looks after them , takes his advice and listen to him , you will be glad if you do.

I could go on for hours but If you want to relax and enjoy some lovely surrounding , lovely company and lovely fishing - come here !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2018
We are blown away by this, thank you - the gate is always open to you guys, thank you so much we thoroughly enjoyed your company.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itsablast...
2 reviews
“Tranquil & Relaxing”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in May 2016

Sorry this review is quite late, just remembered to write it! We had a wonderful time at the lake, very peaceful but just what we needed. Myself, Partner (the fisherman) and our then 6 year old son all had an amazing time. My partner was very impressed with the well stocked lake, he gained his PB with a 27lb mirror carp. Myself and son especially liked the little rowing boat and hot tub. Our hosts were very friendly & helpful & and the accommodation was well equipped & comfortable. I would recommend this place for the peace & tranquility, oh and of course the fishing!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCR1984
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent french fishery”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic break away we have had. Nothing too much trouble for the owners Chris and Kate. Fish are great and facilities are excellent. booked again for next year and in no doubt that this place will be a regular holiday spot for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your kind words and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Great fishing Bobbie, think we may have converted you to Carp fishing!!!! We so look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele R
1 review
“Nothing is to much trouble”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

There is know end to what Chris and Kate will do to make your stay the best it can possibly be. They even go out of their way to help the younger generation to experience the joy of landing a big fish. There is know age limit on this lake. They are a happy friendly couple and the lake is stunning in a truly idyllic setting, and full of big fish. I could not give this place higher praise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you for your comments, we loved having you stay with us and you are more than welcome back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markingoe...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfecto !!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Enjoyed a great time Fishing , Beautiful location ,lots to do , food was lovely , Will book next year thanks to Chris and Kate ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Thank you for the compliments, we look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brillant holiday”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have had just spent two wonderful weeks here and had fantastic weather throughout and great fishing. The chalet was lovely and met our expectations and did not lack anything and my only complaint was that we did not use the log fire as it was too hot!
The swimming pool was lovely and we used it every day due to the weather being so hot.
The fishing was slow at times due to the hot weather but I still managed to catch 38 Carp.
I also caught a 30lbs.4oz Carp which beat my PB and was one of the reasons why we came here.
Catch details:-
15 carp under 10lbs, 13 Carp under 20lbs, 9 Carp under 30lbs and the one just over 30lbs which I caught on the float on 6lb line!
Barry was a great host and just left us to it, especially the fishing and we had two nights enjoying a barbecue and quite a few glasses of wine. We only met Kim on the last day as she was ill and still in England, but came to see us on the last day.
Finally, both Barry and Kim met us early on the morning we left which was really very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially the exclusive fishing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
thanks for your great comments hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Absolutely loved this place, so peaceful and a beautiful location.
We had a dads and lads 5 day fishing stay here, the facilities were perfect and the lads found plenty to keep them entertained in between the fishing, the full Sky TV and super fast Wifi we a big hit. The cabin was very well equipped and super comfortable.
Plenty of carp caught after a few tips from Barry, about 20 plus some bream and others,biggest being about 27lb, we missed a fair few too.
My tip would be to buy your bait from Barry, its not expensive and we started catching as soon as we swapped to his bait.
Barry and Kim were fantastic hosts and really looked after us and made us feel very welcome.
The supermarket and village square is 1 mile down the road for fresh bread and supplies.Great kabab shop there too.
Barry's Burger and chips was also a favourite with the boys.
Looking forward to doing it again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Leaving to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
Thanks for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing