We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good (but better fish)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvest Hotel

Harvest Hotel
Ranked #42 of 85 Restaurants in Echuca
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good (but better fish)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Very nice ambiance, good and appropriate service, priced to its quality. No 'outstandings' but good quality and well presented meals. The fish basket was very good, nice batter, presentation, but the fish pieces were a bit mushy and tasteless under the nice batter..Seemed to be Basa, Nothing against it (don't believe the myths - production is clean and monitored) but it is the cheapest fish around and with reason - its is, well, tasteless and poor texture. Just a bit better fish (try Hoki, not much more in cost) would not detract from an otherwise very good fish basket.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    31
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good hotel food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel has quite a large menu that would please most foodies. The meals, however, a large and as we had entree, it was difficult to finish our mains. Regretfully we had to pass on desserts, all of which looked quite delicious. The cost was not outlandish and there was a good wine list of local wines, which also weren't over priced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DesertLoverVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Dinner with family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We are local people and had some family visitors and its been a long time since the last time we had dinner.
Well the level of quality of the meal has come down. Out of the 6 meals only 1 person liked their meal.
All meals we had to wait for an hour and some where only just warm.
Waitress service is also a bit average, Asked for a bottle of water 3 times before it arrived.
So very disappointing meal and in future will think about going elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stumpie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
181 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Really good food at a reasonable price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We have dined here several times, in fact most times we visit Echuca and have never been disappointed! The food is very good, meal sizes are large, prices are reasonable and good service as well! What more could you ask for? Great place to have a casual meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justmeok006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
151 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

I'd read about this hotel on Trip Advisor and we decided to try it on our second night in Echuca. Staff were very friendly and the wine is well priced. Both our meals were from the Specials board . My husband chose Chicken Wellington ($22) which was stuffed with chorizo sausage, cheese and herbs and baked in a fine pastry. I went for the steak and Guinness pie ($25) which was full of very tender pieces of beef (no fat) in a very tasty sauce. Both dishes were served with either salad and chips or vegetables, with the option of chips,sauteed or mashed potatoes.

Servings were very generous - too much for us , and we had a most enjoyable meal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2ofusMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Harvest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing