We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Echuca
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Thank You Very welcoming and warm. Was made to feel very welcome. Lovely clean,enjoyed the view from room looking over looking the port. Loved the food wine and singer.Will stay there again. Once again thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank glen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Had a great two night stay at the River Gallery Inn! Tapas and Wine bar has a range of great food and extensive list of wine and boutique beers which were great to try. The Victorian Grand Spa Suite was warm and cosy, especially in the cooler weather. Great location on the main road with everything within walking distance. Great company and glad to have spent a couple of days away from the city in such an accomodating place :)

Room Tip: Victorian Grand Spa Suite is nice and cosy, with big balcony, spa and split system
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda-carlton-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverGalleryInn, Owner at Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hi Amanda,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at River Gallery Inn. We hope to see you again soon.
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My wife and I, along with my mother, spent two nights at the River Gallery Inn which is ideally located in the interesting historic Port precinct, where parking is not a problem.

The River Gallery Inn building was constructed in the 1870’s, with the décor and various room themes being reflective of those times, which includes the quaint Bordello Bar, where one can enjoy an excellent variety of local wines, a large array of boutique beers and an assortment of foods, including tapas dishes.

My mother stayed in the comfortable and nicely furnished Paddle Steamer Room, which was located on the ground floor, whilst my wife and I stayed in the French Provincial Spa Suite located on the first floor.

The French Provincial Spa Suite was spacious, appropriately furnished to reflect the respective theme and included a fire place, reverse cycle air-conditioning, bar fridge, flat screen TV and coffee making facilities, whilst the bed was comfortable. Wi-Fi also worked without any problems from our room. The bathroom was also extremely spacious and included a spa bath, along with complimentary toiletries. Despite being located at the front of the building, road noise from the main street did not present an issue.

Cleanliness was satisfactory, with the only negative (notwithstanding the odd squeaky floor boards which in some way added to the theme) being that the carpet in the room appeared old and worn, had numerous marks and stains and was in desperate need of replacement, as it clearly detracted from the room quality. It is also worth noting that the room is not serviced daily.

Breakfast was included in the cost and included the option of continental or selective hot breakfast menu, comprising bacon and / or standard egg dishes. An additional cost can be paid for extras such as eggs benedict etc.

Whilst there have been mixed reviews about the hosts, Debbie and Martin, we found them both extremely hospitable (Martin was a bundle of laughs and was readily available for an entertaining chat). When we were discussing the option of various paddle boat trips, Debbie was of great assistance and once we had made a decision, immediately volunteered to phone and arrange the booking for us.

All in all, we had both an enjoyable and memorable two day stay and would like to think the carpet issue mentioned above will be addressed in the near future.

Room Tip: Suggest view various themed rooms on website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverGalleryInn, Owner at Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Bowoodforest,

Thank you so much for your review. It means a lot to us to receive this positive feedback. We are aware the carpets need to be replaced, the plan was already in place to steam clean the carpets on Wednesday this week, and replace them in the very near future.
We are glad that you had a great stay and we hope that you come back again soon.
Regards,
Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Location is fantastic in the heart of everything happening at the historic Port of Echuca. The decor in our room (Number 8) was a little tired but the room was comfortable none the less. Our deal included tapas one evening which was delicious as were the other dishes we added. When I commented about the perfectly poached eggs at breakfast on the first day, Deb offered me a personal masterclass the next morning and true to her word, I'm sure I can poach eggs now with the best of them! Our highlight though was the amazing range of both beers and wine available in the Bordello Bar - Martin has put together a seriously impressive list and you have to marvel at his knowledge as he guides you through it. Two memorable evenings were had - and then there is the rest of Echuca to enjoy - maybe next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mup62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverGalleryInn, Owner at Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Mup62,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. Next time you can poach eggs for me!!
The Paddlesteamer Spa Suite has been painted and refurbished, but we still need to change the carpets, so hopefully that will be done before your next visit
Regards,

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Situated right on the main road, backing onto the historic port, with heaps to do there. The location is authentic Australiana.
The wine bar has heaps of great, small dishes, like bruschetta, pork ribs, little snack-sized pizzas, dips etc., though I think the selection changes regularly.
I'm not much of a wine person, so it was great to see a selection of European and Australian beers. Ones that were really diverse and tasty, but that I'd never heard of before. I spent hours in the bar area, as it was comfortable and friendly, and the drink prices were good.
Oh, and they make a great bacon and eggs for breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_UnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Would never stay there again. Our room the French en-suite was as expected from website but overall the premises rather shabby and the breakfast room and stairs in need of a good clean.
Coffee maker at breakfast self serve area was filthy and coffee appeared to have been stewing overnight and just re-heated in the morning. Included breakfast came with side toast pre-buttered - never ever experienced this before in all our travels and the quality of the spread used was so poor it left the toast "wet" most unpleasant. The following morning we asked for unbuttered toast and the spread did come on a separate dish but was warm and oily and not nice. Our included tapas platter and wine was good.
Price paid seemed good deal at the time but certainly not worth it and much better quality accommodation in town even with river views at far better prices.

Room Tip: We also viewed the Italian en-suite room and we would have walked out if we had booked this particul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
20  Thank jbelle030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverGalleryInn, Owner at Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear JBelle,
We are sorry that your stay with us wasn't all you were hoping for. I would like to point out that the coffee is freshly brewed every morning, the coffee pot is clean and we grind the beans each morning. The spread you spoke of is pure butter. I am sorry if that is not to your taste but we refuse to use margarine. In all that we do we only use best quality ingredients.
Unfortunately, you are right about the carpet on the stairs and the breakfast room. Sometimes they are only vacuumed every second day instead of daily, but we will rectify this.
The building is over 150 years old and we do try our best.
Hopefully we will see you again.
Debbie and Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel makes Fawlty Towers look like the Hotel Hilton.
The rudest hotel owners we have ever experienced! I don’t know where to start.
My wife and I booked a 2 night stay at this so called 4 star hotel , as part of a deal. We paid $450 twin share for two nights. The deal included a visit to a winery where we were to be given a free pizza to share.
After checking in, we jokingly referred to the Fawlty Towers series and how difficult it must be to run a hotel. Martin, the part owner then seriously stated about one in five of their customers were generally difficult. After two days at this place I could understand why and I’m sure he was understating his survey.
We were told by Martin the pizza deal was cancelled by the winery due to poor weather conditions, so he instead offered us a bottle of wine as compensation.
After checking in we were very disappointed in the condition of our room. Clearly it was in no way a 4 star room. It was outdated in it's décor with the curtains ,carpet and bed all needing replacing.
Due to a lack of space, the electric kettle was located within the bathroom vanity (next to the toilet) which I would have thought was against health regulations. We were also surprised to find that there was also no fire escape on the first floor. How on earth was this hotel ever given a permit to open in the first place?
Martin told us in no uncertain terms that the cooked breakfast was served in the main dining room after 8:30 am but that we could prepare our cereal, fruit salad, orange juice etc in the adjacent continental breakfast room beforehand.
As part of the deal we were offered a tapas to share in the evening and a glass of wine followed by a continental breakfast on both mornings. The tapas was the skimpiest we have ever had but the glass of wine was nice. The owners were reasonably pleasant at this stage until we asked them about the free bottle of wine promised to us. Martin said, rather abruptly, we were not entitled to it until following day. The reason was obvious – he wanted us to pay for any additional wine.
The following morning my wife and I entered the dining room at 8:29, according to our I pad, with our cereal and fruit salad we got from the other room without intending to order the cooked breakfast until our friends joined us after 8:30. Deb angrily stated that according to her kitchen clock it was 8:25 and we should not have been there that early. When we mentioned our friends were joining us shortly, she dragged another table next to ours in a frenzied anger- she was clearly furious. My wife got off her chair and rushed back to our room in a distressed state.
During breakfast we were unclear with what we were entitled to as part of our deal particularly with the extras component of the menu. Deb then, referring to the menu, proceeded to give us a lesson in grammar and the significance of commas in the English language. That is, the extras such as mushrooms comma tomato's comma avocado comma etc implied an additional charge of $3 for each item and not $3 for the lot.
Later we knocked on the kitchen/office door seeking help in relation to the paddle steamer tickets due to us as part of our deal only to be confronted by Deb in a loud and aggressive manner- ‘this is a private room, ring the bell next time!’
Later we decided to have our own lunch on a balcony near our rooms. There was a small table and 4 chairs, two of which were torn and unsafe to sit on. So we took it upon ourselves to take out the two chairs from our room, which we promptly returned after lunch. This ,we were later told ,infuriated Martin who made mention of the fact that the chairs cost $500 each and should not have been removed from our room. At least he got the message because the two defective chairs were replaced the following day with two plastic ones.
On the final morning after checkout we asked if we could leave our bags in the hotel for a few hours. Martin told us to put them in the continental breakfast room near the rear exit door. Next to the door on the floor was a radio with a USB stick inserted. When we returned Martin accused us of resting our bags on top of the USB stick and hence breaking it. Deb joined in with a rage of expletives that would make a sailor blush. We are certain our belongings did not touch the USB and in any event what was the radio doing on the floor next to the hotel rear exit? It was most likely trampled on by an unsuspecting patron.
Finally, my wife and I were in a retail business for 22 years and we know a little about how to treat customers. We believe in the old adage ‘the customer is always right’. Obviously Deb and Martin don’t, in fact in their case the customer is always wrong. No doubt they will deny any wrong doing as they have with all of their negative feedback but I would strongly recommend you think twice about staying at this hotel. How on earth does this place have a 75% score?

Room Tip: Don't even think about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Ted Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverGalleryInn, Owner at Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

How does one respond to such an inaccurate and libelous review. Readers, please keep in mind that this was the only couple we have ever had stay here that we have asked to leave our premises. They were so unpleasant and cheap and nasty.
The kettle, dried and cleaned, is housed in an enclosed cupboard that is inside the bathroom. It is only housed here until guests arrive. There are no hygiene issues whatsoever. We have illuminated fire escape signs that lead to the two fire escapes upstairs, as well as extinguishers and fire plans in every room, and we are certified to be in accordance with the legislation.
Anyone that believes that a free bottle of wine that is to be given upon departure should be consumed in a wine bar is not the type of customer we would ever want. They argued about $2 for additional bread to go with their tapas, and then at breakfast expected to be served mushrooms, tomatoes and beans for $3 for the lot, as opposed to each, which was clear to every other customer we have ever had.
He did not knock on the office door. He walked past the office door and walked into my private room, where I was getting changed. He did not call out, he walked in on me without making any attempt to announce himself.
He removed antique chairs from the room to place on the balcony, that had a couple of chairs that have since been removed as well as a set of 4 lovely chairs in perfect condition.
If this person cannot understand why we were desperate for them to leave, I suggest he never leaves home again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Echuca hotels
0.2 mi away
CocknBull Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adelphi Apartments
Adelphi Apartments
#2 of 18 in Echuca
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#3 of 18 in Echuca
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
All Rivers Motor Inn
All Rivers Motor Inn
#16 of 18 in Echuca
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlement Motor Inn
Settlement Motor Inn
#11 of 18 in Echuca
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirebo Motel
Nirebo Motel
#9 of 18 in Echuca
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa

Address: 578 High St, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia (Formerly Echuca's River Gallery Inn)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Echuca
Price Range: £132 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic luxury of one of Victoria's most unique and historical Inns. The River Gallery Inn (circa 1862) offers guests luxury in eight uniquely themed rooms. Guests can choose between: The Grand Spa Suites Colonial Australian, Victorian Luxury Spa Rooms French Provincial, Italian and Paddlesteamer Luxury En-suite Rooms, French and Bordello. Your accommodation includes a full continental plus cooked breakfast. Situated in the historic Port Precinct of Echuca the River Gallery Inn offers the unique experience of a bygone age combined with modern luxury facilities. These facilities include private en-suites, reverse cycle air-conditioning, bar fridges, hair dryers, televisions with DVD players and coffee making facilities. All rooms except the Tuscan have open fireplaces (available May - August, firewood available at Reception $15) to create a special romantic ambiance. A welcoming Wine and Tapas Bar , sunny balconies and a beautiful courtyard ensures a comfortable and romantic stay. We are in the Port Precinct. Park your car and forget about it, enjoy boutique shops, restaurants, the Historic Port of Echuca and of course our Paddlesteamers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bordello Hotel, Bar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing