We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Hodgson House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Echuca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hodgson House
Ranked #13 of 13 Echuca B&B and Inns
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
Reviewed 6 December 2008

We spent a great few nights at Hodgson House and were well looked after. Thre was a bottle of wine and antipasto platter to take down by the river when we arrived, very good breakfasts, snacks in the afternoon, and more little treats when we got back in the evenings. The room was very comfortable - the frogs were a bit noisy, but we slept through it OK. There is a nice lounge to relax in with TV and DVDs. We were made very welcome and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Friendly welcome
  • Disliked — Frogs
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2007

This B&B was recommended by one of our Aussie relations who stayed here earlier in the year. It lived up to their billing. Although slightly out of town, this very comfortable place was like home from home. Anne & Allen were great hosts, the accommodation was clean and spacious, and the lounge was a great place to relax after returning from dinner in town. If you're looking for a quiet retreat near this interesting town Hodgson House is the place for you.

  • Liked — With only 2 bedrooms it meant our party (2 couples) had exclusive use
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Coljac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2007

Having recently stayed at this wonderful b&b, we can recommend it unreservedly as the best guest house we have stayed in (and we have stayed in a lot). The hosts, Anne and Allen Perry, could not do enough for us but, additionally, they genuinely offered a professional and caring service to their residents. On our arrival, we had ante pasta waiting for us in the fridge (repeated the following nights), together with a bottle of wine. The gourmet breakfast was served on the patio, beside the pool, looking out at the trees and birds. The bungalow is situated in a wonderful, peaceful location - a 2 minute walk to the river and 5 minutes drive to town. A marvellous place to stay.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Cumbrialass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 November 2005

We just had two nights at Hodgson House, a bed & breakfast in Echuca that is located by the Murray River. We loved it! Why?
1. It is set next to the Murray and a redgum forest called Wharparilla Flora Reserve - we could actually walk along a 3 kilometre (2 mile) river track to Echuca's historic port - it was serene!
2. The hosts are magnificent - they provided a bottle of wine and a platter on arrival, gave us a picnic basket and sent us down to the river bank where they have a private picnic table. We watched boats meandering along the river including a paddlesteamer.
3. They do not serve dinner (why would you with heaps of good restaurants in Echuca) but they asked us our favourite foods, we suggested greek so they booked us into Nik's Tavern and then drove us into Nik's all as part of the service.
4. When we arrived home we found chocolates,local walnuts and carafe of local port (all complimentary) waiting for.
5. We had their Garden Room (only two rooms each with queen beds) and the hosts had even taken to trouble to put earplugs on our pillows - believe this, "in case the frogs kept us awake" - as if anyone from the city would worry about that!
6. The finale, what is described as a country breakfast. Freshly squeezed orange juice, local fruit & a selection of cereals followed by the killer blow - a full cooked breakfast (sausage, bacon, eggs, tomato & toast). Then Anne (the hostess) pointed out the homemade jam and marmalade and extra bread for toast - if only we could fit it in! All this washed down with endless cups of coffee.

The place is not one of those frilly Victorian era look-alikes, it's modern, spotlessly clean and has a heated pool. If you have a chance go there and see Australia's icon river, the Murray but if you're on a diet don't say you weren't told!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Echuca hotels
1.9 mi away
Mercure Port of Echuca
Mercure Port of Echuca
#2 of 18 in Echuca
442 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Georgian Motor Lodge
2.3 mi away
Pevensey Motor Lodge
Pevensey Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Echuca
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Nirebo Motel
Nirebo Motel
#11 of 18 in Echuca
195 reviews
1.7 mi away
Adelphi Apartments
Adelphi Apartments
#3 of 18 in Echuca
118 reviews
2.2 mi away
Old Coach Motor Inn
Old Coach Motor Inn
#7 of 18 in Echuca
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodgson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodgson House

Property: Hodgson House
Address: 66 Wharparilla Drive, Echuca, Victoria 3564, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Echuca
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Echuca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echuca's B&B on the Murray River. This 4 1/2 star B & B is the only quality accommodation on the Murray River. Nesteld next to a redgum forest and the river, Hodgson House is only 3KM west of Echuca. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing