We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of Oscar W's Wharfside - CLOSED

Oscar W's Wharfside
Price range: US$40 - US$40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting overlooking the river. The service was good as we went mid week and out of season. For the price, we expected the food to be far better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CPM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    32
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Sensational food”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

After reading the AGFG, We visited Echuca last weekend and after our bad experience we had last time about 18 months ago, I must say it had been totally different experience this time round. We were welcome and had a few drinks in the lounge and taken to our table. Waiters lacked attention to detail. I personally think they should check for watermarks before serving customers, even change wine glasses after having a red to white. Totally different story about the food. We had the yabby tortellini, the rabbit rillettes and the quail which was exceptionally well balanced in flavours. For main we had the suckling pig, roo, spring lamb, which again was exceptionally good. for sweets, we all had the bread and butter pudding, which again we had last time and this time round was very delicate in flavours and perfect.
Kudos to the chef that took over. Sam M

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Beautiful Birthday'”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Due to distance, our family rarely get together, so when we do the decision where we celebrate is very important to us. On this occasion the celebration was a milestone birthday and friends suggested Oscar Ws in Echuca.
On our arrival, we were delighted with an open fire roaring, giving such a warm and atmosphere. The evening we dined was extremely busy, yet the staff were relaxed and went out of their way to insure every person at our table was related to, big ask for our diverse lot this being older, younger and youngest.
Yes, our expectations were high, however Oscar W,s surpassed this with ease, and made my birthday memorable which will be looked back on with pleasure.
Thank you from the birthday girl.

Ann x

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Happy Find”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Wow

Exploring the Port of Echuca we found a little hidden gem." Oscar W's" welcomed at the door and guided to( In my mind) the best table in the house. We reluctantly left Oscar W's 2 hours later totally spoilt by the unassuming yet enthusiastic staff, along with the divine food and wine. (Great options of wine by the glass) Happily I can say we will be back to Oscar W's when next in town.

Happy Find

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Village3447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We were really looking forward to a special dinner at Oscar W's to finish off our holiday. The service was fantastic, really efficient and friendly, but we felt the food was disappointing. My entree of smoked trout salad was OK, but I couldn't find any smoked trout in it! There was a small amount of mousse which was supposed to be avocado - maybe that had the trout in it?? Lots of radicchio which overpowered the other flavours. My main of Murray cod was sitting in a broth which I didn't expect, so that was tasty but quite sloppy. My husband ordered the strip loin of beef (which is Porterhouse apparently), and for $45 you would expect the best steak, however he had to leave the sinuey bits, plus pay extra for chips as it only came with salad greens. Dessert was amazing - but all in all, we left quite disappointed for such an expensive meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandrapeter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oscar W's Wharfside also viewed

 
Echuca, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing