We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value ,friendly and clean.”
Review of The Sphinx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sphinx
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Geelong
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed their for two nights,the rooms where nice and clean,food was great value for money,obviously a very busy bistro.location was very practical ,only 1 km out of city.will defiantly stay again.i found the staff to be very helpfully and friendly.i noticed they are constructing a golf coarse next door,great sleep,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for The Sphinx
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

The Sphix disappointed our expectations,not at all like the website.My husband discribed it as a mudguard shine on top s--t underneath.At 2.45 arrived,we payed & was told the key would be in the door,got to the room not made up was told to come back in half hour,did that no key in door went back to reception she said"go & see the cleaner,"we did that & still no key so back we went,so finally we got it.
Open the door dust on top of the TV unit,ants as well,phone didn't work,hair on top of the toilet seat,floor looked average on & under the basin dust under it & along the floor to the toilet not clean,a moth sat there the whole time.Every day we asked for the room to be clean/sprayed.
No manager's on weekends to supervise,so asked a worker in the gaming room for complaints form,filled out & still haven't heard back.
It wasn't until I returned home that someone told me about this website,otherwise we wouldn't have stayed there(did ring 6 motel's before we could get a room ,they were the 7th so we took it at the time)
So if you are reading this message PLEASE take it on very good advise & consider what we had to say & have a better stay somewhere else.
As the amount you pay is not worth it,and the health inspectors& OHS factor's about the place should be reported.
Stayed January 2013,traveled with family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Pretty good meal, good for parties.First time I went here it had good food even though had to wait 1 hour for our meals at lunch when it was quiet. This time we waited an hour for our food then the waitress said sorry for the delay it should be on its way in 5 minutes then she came up 5 minutes later and asked what we had ordered and said did you order the lamb? but we had ordered the pasta and the chicken, final time she comes up and says your order was mixed up and wasn't even entered.

She says sorry and that she could take our order again if we wanted to and that's it, So after one hour of waiting for nothing we just left it was a disgrace. We will never go back and will tell everyone not to go here either.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GourmetGuruGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012 via mobile

my girlfriend and i went here expecting a simple porterhouse and a beer and the service was appauling. apparently one of the blonde (and i do mean blonde) barmaids had her non existent hearing aid switched off. unable to hear "pot of draught" and"millers" and insisted they have no millers beer despite the fact its in the menu and right behind her. also wasnt even asked how i liked my steak cooked.

love the setting but the service is sub par due to staff who seem devoid of any intelligence.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akenhaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I like most people who read or write these reviews like the honest feedback that warns us off sub-standard places. But to be fair, this place is considerably better than the reviews here. Which are fairly old. I stayed here for three nights a month ago and was genuinely worried by the reviews before I arrived. But on check-in the staff were great, actually, better than many expensive places.

So i then prepared myself for the scary accomodation that was coming my way!. I put my key in the lock, opened the door and.... smelled fresh paint! Yep this room had been refurbished and was amongst the better motel style rooms in Geelong.

The management here has done a fairly good job to make staying pleasant. I didn't eat here but others i spoke to did and reported that it was not bad at all. If you are looking for top shelf maybe look elsewhere. But The Sphinx does a good job of providing clean, secure and decent accomodaion as part of a good pub. Worth a go. :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RP37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The only good thing about this hotel is the city its in.
I had the room with the "spa". Which was a rather disgusting bathtub with a few hairs inside.
The price they charge was just outrageous. Not really a place to come back to!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jekoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Rooms were very basic, not at all like the website, The pool was more then green with beer bottles, and rubbish floating in it.
The was no breakfast service or any fresh milk, towels or linen delivered daily
Meals were way over priced
The Rooms are located behind the hotel, hotel is open until 3 am with no car park security, we had a hired car that we ended up leaving in park wood motel up the road.
over all we found it to be a very bad experience and would never ever stay again. there's a much better option up the rd, Park Wood motel .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SydneyLittlegem98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.8 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 18 in Geelong
737 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkwood Motel
Parkwood Motel
#7 of 18 in Geelong
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#9 of 18 in Geelong
81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#3 of 18 in Geelong
85 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sphinx

Address: 2 Thompson Rd, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3215, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sphinx 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing