We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service and horrible food!”
Review of The Sphinx

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sphinx
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible service and horrible food!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

First we arrived and stated that we had a reservation. The waiter, Jayden, told us the table number but did not walk us to it so we had to find it ourselves. Then when we went to order, Jayden was rude and cut us off when we spoke. He did not smile once and was just very rude. After ordering, we went back to our reserved table only to find others had been seated at our table, so we had to ask the staff to move them. Then there was the food... It was horrible. The calamari was bland and tasteless. The chicken parmigiana was thin and slightly pink. Won't be coming back again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank leethal_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    7
    6
    14
See reviews for
16
9
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A party of 8 of us went to The Sphinx for dinner on a Sat night and 4 of us stayed the night.
The food in the Bistro was absolutely beautiful. My hubby and I shared a Seafood Platter for 2 and it was delicious! The other couples thoroughly enjoyed their meals too.
The rooms in the motel were very clean and were perfect for what we needed.The staff were wonderful and couldn't have helped us more!
We will defiantly be going back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundoora
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had been in Geelong for the morning and decided to go and see this hotel as it is an Egyptian setting as the name suggests. Lunch was absolutely fantastic, beer cold and wine chilled and all in a beautiful setting. We shared a seafood platter and a bread cob and couldn't be more satisfied.

Room Tip: Didn't stay although there are rooms and swimming pool there for those who might want to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Termac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Worst hotel/bistro I have ever been to, the hotel had 4 prices of toilet paper left when I arrived only one knife out of both rooms no forks or clean glasses no kitchen facilities nothing apart from a toaster that didn't work a bar fridge no plates, that was just the hotel, poorly able to support life worse than a back packers Inn... The bistro I ordered a chicken parma as I always eat them where ever I go, it was burnt the chips were soggy and the salad looked and tasted as if it was left out of a fridge for a week... absolute disappointment... I've never been so disappointed in my life, I advise anyone DO NOT COME HERE!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lukev2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geelong hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Some of the earlier reviews on The Sphinx seem a bit harsh. It doesn't advertise itself as 5 Star, nor should it be judged against the upmarket chains.

The Sphinx offers clean, basic accommodation. You kind of get an early feeling from the positioning of a hotel in Geelong that is constructed around a replica of one of the Wonders of the Ancient World that this place is not going to be something from an architectural catalogue.

So, expect basic, clean accommodation. Also expect fittings that would not have been out of place in a yard sale run by The Brady Bunch thirty years ago. Everything works, but a trip to the homeware megabarn for some new furniture every decade or so would be in order.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed their for two nights,the rooms where nice and clean,food was great value for money,obviously a very busy bistro.location was very practical ,only 1 km out of city.will defiantly stay again.i found the staff to be very helpfully and friendly.i noticed they are constructing a golf coarse next door,great sleep,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Echuca, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The Sphix disappointed our expectations,not at all like the website.My husband discribed it as a mudguard shine on top s--t underneath.At 2.45 arrived,we payed & was told the key would be in the door,got to the room not made up was told to come back in half hour,did that no key in door went back to reception she said"go & see the cleaner,"we did that & still no key so back we went,so finally we got it.
Open the door dust on top of the TV unit,ants as well,phone didn't work,hair on top of the toilet seat,floor looked average on & under the basin dust under it & along the floor to the toilet not clean,a moth sat there the whole time.Every day we asked for the room to be clean/sprayed.
No manager's on weekends to supervise,so asked a worker in the gaming room for complaints form,filled out & still haven't heard back.
It wasn't until I returned home that someone told me about this website,otherwise we wouldn't have stayed there(did ring 6 motel's before we could get a room ,they were the 7th so we took it at the time)
So if you are reading this message PLEASE take it on very good advise & consider what we had to say & have a better stay somewhere else.
As the amount you pay is not worth it,and the health inspectors& OHS factor's about the place should be reported.
Stayed January 2013,traveled with family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
2.8 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkwood Motel
Parkwood Motel
#7 of 17 in Geelong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sphinx

Property: The Sphinx
Address: 2 Thompson Rd, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3215, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sphinx 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing