We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
89
144
55
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
144
55
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black salt executive room room service watch tv free wifi buffet breakfast on arrival plenty of parking large bathroom fantastic stay geelong cbd comfortable bed stayed for nights the ground floor comfortable stay eastern beach across the road
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Hotel is beautifully located looking out over Geelong Bay and a short, enjoyable, walk along the boardwalk to the many coffee shops and restaurants over looking the bay. We were allocated Room 43, single beds that were comfortable, large bathroom and coffee table and desk - what more do you need. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast (cost $19) was more than adequate. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends. Sitting outside overlooking the bay enjoying a glass of wine late in the afternoon was very enjoyable.

Room tip: Avoid room number 33 as it is adjacent to the door to the second floor and apparently quite noisy as people arrive and leave the second floor. Rooms around 43 are in the centre (in the rear building) and very quiet. Obviously those overlooking the bay would be preferred.
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear AllanKorat,
Thank you for your comments.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team.

I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the views from the Bar & lounge.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a well located hotel, reasonably priced, spacious room, parking provided and close to the esplande where it's only a 10 minute walk to main part of town.

We were able to walk along to Cunningham pier for dinner which was fabulous. Would definitely go back.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Sally S,
Thank you for your feedback.
I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team.
We welcome all feedback, some of which may not be complimentary and highlights areas we need to improve whilst positive guest comments help inspire the team to excel in customer service.
Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.
Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Byaside, Geelong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Book for a night on our way to great ocean road.
Staffs was very friendly and gladly helped and allowed us to change room 2x.
Unfortunately the room we finally settled in, the spa wasn't working.
Not sure how long it has been down but it was room 20.
Room itself is decent enough for a good night sleep.
Wifi offered upon request FOC.

Be sure to try out the black salt restaurant, serves wonderful dinner.

Room tip: Try to seek a room on ground level as they do not have evaluators. Luggages has to be carried up the stairs.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Coka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Joe_Coka,
Thank you for your feedback.
We appreciate your comments regarding the room you stayed in. Yes, some of our rooms have not been renovated and are marketed and sold as a 3 and a half star rooms. We are in the process of fully renovating these rooms and I am sure the difference will be notable. In the interim these rooms have new beds and curtains and enjoy all the facilities of your other rooms.
Many of our rooms are serviced by an elevator however there a some in the property that are not.

Thank you once again for your comments and I hope you enjoyed the Great ocean Road trip.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were staying in Geelong for the last round of the AFL season (2013). We found the basic room suitable to our needs, well presented and clean.

We stayed for two nights because there were only two night options available at the time. The first night we were at a loose end from a dining perspective and found ourselves talking to the hotel restaurant manager, Chris, about our dining options in Geelong. Needless to say he drove the Blacksalt (Hotel) Restaurant very hard and promised we would not be disappointed. Thanks to Chris' sales pitch we opted to dine at the hotel restaurant, which is a decision we rarely (never) make when staying at hotels.

We thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality shown to us by Chris and the meals, beer and wine was excellent! We were so pleased that we had drinks in the bar the following evening. Chris has a great knowledge of the local area and provided us with many options on activities in the region during our stay. He is a credit to the hotel and wonder if our stay would've been as pleasant in his absence. He set a high benchmark!

Room tip: We were envious of those with bay views..!
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milney10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear milney10,
Thank you for your comments.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team especially Chris.

I am pleased the Economy room suited your needs and our Bayview rooms piqued your interest.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

From check in the staff went above and beyond to help, the rooms are beautiful, view is simply amazing, nothing was a problem for our stay my trips to geelong from now on will have me staying at Quality Bayside. Mrs S, Dewar

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audiosys96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaysideGeelongMgr, General Manager at Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear audiosys96,
Thank you for your comments.
I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the team.
Your positive words will encourage them to strive for excellent customer service for all our guests.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Quality Hotel Bayside, Geelong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews