We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms but you won't get much sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Geelong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Initial impressions were really good....very clean and spacious room and lovely big bathroom with walk in shower. The location is very handy with central Geelong just a short drive away. Even though this place is on a busy road and opposite train lines there was very little traffic noise. However on a Saturday night this place turned into party central with our neighbours coming and going (we suspect outside for a cigarette) and banging doors until 2am, with no intervention from management. At one stage I think they were having a party outside in the hallway. There was a definite smell of smoke in the corridor despite all rooms being non-smoking and as you walk in to the reception area you have to walk past the smokers who congregate under the covered area. This was really unpleasant. Even though it was good value for money I don't think I would stay here again as we didn't get to sleep until about 3am.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsSmithx0x0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeelongMotorInn, Manager at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are pleased to read that our spacious rooms and central location were satisfying to you.

I am sorry to learn that an inconsiderate neighbouring room caused a disturbance during your visit. Please rest assured that management did personally speak with guests adjoining your room who had returned to the motel as a group at approximately 2 am. As we had not received any noise complaints before, during or after this incident my understanding was that these disruptive guests had been promptly dealt with. I apologise that we have only just become aware that you were disturbed. I hope that you are able to treat this as an isolated incident.

Please rest assured that all internal areas of our property are 100% non-smoking.

We sincerely hope that you will treat the incidents you have raised as isolated ones and that you will return to stay with Best Western Geelong Motor Inn.

Yours Sincerely
Carl Leahy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

stayed 2 nights in room and previous trip in 2 bedroom apartment.
we find staff friendly and helpful.Nice indoor pool. they remembered us from previous trip. recommend if in Geelong.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to read that we have consistently met your expectations when you stay at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn. We look forward to continuing to provide personal and instinctive service to you.

Kind regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We were quite surprised by the quality for the price. It was nothing amazing but the rooms are clean, the staff were friendly and they provide free WiFi, foxtel, breakfast to your room (not included in price) and a heated pool. It was a little noisy but nothing annoying or unpleasant. Not really a short walk to town but a walk to the shore, which was quite lovely. One concern was that there is quite a large gap underneath the balcony railing, not safe for very small, crawling children. Otherwise, we enjoyed our no fuss stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and observations on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you discovered and experienced the value for money offerings that Best Western Geelong Motor Inn strives to provide.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We arrived at the hotel quite late after a longish drive long the Great Ocean Road. Reception was closed for the night so we had to use the provided phone which give us the code for the nearby safe which contained our keys. All went very smooth. We were able to park the car right outside the room which was handy. The room was spacious and very up to date with everything we needed. Nice comfortable bed, flat screen TV, microwave and fridge. Nice big clean bathroom as well. The hotel was exactly what we needed for the night with a very handy location as well. Nicely located for the Princess Highway.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing comments on your recent experience at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed a satisfying visit.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

+ clean room, bathroom was very clean as well
+ friendly reception and fuss free check in

- during booking, we did not know that the premise has no lift facilities and had to carry heavy luggage up to the 2nd level
- room faces the busy freeway, although the double doors did keep the noise out
- heavy footsteps in the hallway could be heard, as well as slamming doors

Room Tip: pick rooms on the ground floor and try to avoid rooms that face the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msgoldenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share comments regarding your visit. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the value, comfort and cleanliness that we provide. We delight in carrying luggage for all guests and regret that we appear not to have assisted you on this occassion.

Kind regards

Carl Leahy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Was a cold time to be in geelong, teens swam in indoor pool, spa cold. Room modern and clean, out look to highway. Stairs to top rooms. Parking ok.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stay with other readers. We are delighted to read that the freshness and cleanliness of our rooms were very satisfying to you.

We hope to welcome you back on your future visits to the region.

Kind regards

Carl Leahy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

The rooms are really spacious. The room I was in had a front and back door which made moving cases to and from the car extremely easy. The room was also very well cleaned. On the downside... The shower leaked and sprayed water everywhere. I had to put the hand towel over the top of the shower head to stop this whilst I was showering. Also when someone is in the shower, it is extremely loud in the room.. To the point that I had to turn the tv up. Defiantly wouldn't be able to sleep whilst someone is showering.  You can also hear the people in the rooms next to you showering. The blind in the bathroom also didn't touch the sides of the window which meant if someone got close enough, they would see you showering. I wouldn't stay here again but for the 1 night I was staying, and the good price I got via a mystery Wotif hotel I was okay with it. 

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sassysnoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeelongMotorInn, Owner at Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear Reviewer

Thank you sharing comments on your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed the space and clean aspects of your room.

Please accept our apology that the showerhead in your room was leaking. Upon inspection we found that the showerhead had come loose and simply needed tightening. We were able to very quickly fix this and apologise that we were not aware of this during your visit.

On the point that you found the shower noisy, our inspection identified that the water flow restrictor in the plumbing to your room and the room adjoining required adjustment. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you for the gift of your feedback.

Warm regards

Carl Leahy
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.1 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#9 of 19 in Geelong
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parkwood Motel
Parkwood Motel
#7 of 19 in Geelong
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#3 of 19 in Geelong
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#2 of 19 in Geelong
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments

Address: 30 Keera St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Geelong
Geelong Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing