We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I believe work needs to be done to this aging hotel/motel.”
Review of Rydges Geelong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Geelong
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I believe work needs to be done to this aging hotel/motel.”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Things do happen beyond staff control, in that the air-condition system broke down during our stay.
Things that are in the staff's control: Cleanliness: In a reasonable conspicuous place I saw a piece of broken biscuit under the desk. It stayed there for 4 days until I threw a piece of paper near the piece... causing the cleaner to stoop down and finding both pieces. On the first day I had eaten a dry biscuit and some flakes dropped on the carpet... it was there for the entire stay.
Apart from that I/we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGEELONGGM, General Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Zzangl
Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Geelong.

I appreciate your feedback and apologise that there were a number of issues that should not have occurred during your stay. Clearly we have fallen below our standards as you described and I will address this with the team.

Thank you again and should you allow us the opportunity to assist with your accommodation in the future, please contact myself directly. I would be more than happy to ensure a pleasant stay.

Yours Sincerely
Phil O’Brien
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    567
    337
    112
    37
See reviews for
358
438
95
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Always a good stay here with attentive staff, very clean rooms, just a little walk to the centre of town. Good value breakfast here as well. A neat bar on the ground floor, good for drinks or just a cup of tea! Recommend staying here when in Geelong.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpc04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed one night after arriving in Melbourne on a late trip from NZ. Heading back home to SE so thought we'd get out of the city and stay in Geelong. We did a quick wotif and decided Mercure had a good rate which included breakfast. But, we have a 15 yr old. So on arrival we were told the rate would be extra for third "adult". Then extra for another breakfast (full price, no breakfast deal). That was all expected. However, quite expensive "extras". More than half again of the original price on wotif. But then they said it would be and extra $18 for parking, we were about to head out the door. They then decided not to charge for parking. They told us that the breakfast room would be closing 15 mins early next morning because of a function and we thought that not ideal, as we had been looking forward to a bit of a sleep in. If we had been told that before we had paid up, we may have declined the breakfast deal and enquired about room only rates.
Our room was OK, with two queen beds. Bathroom OK. For the price, would have expected better bath products and some bath robes. Really, just basic fare. We were put in a room outside the lift and were kept awake all night by the noise of it clunking up and down. Then with the noise of slamming doors at 3 am when groups of people started entering rooms I am sure we only got a few hours of good quality sleep.
Then to top it off, when we arrived for breakfast the next morning we were told we had 15 mins to eat. They failed to let us know at check in that daylight saving kicked in during the night, even though we had said we just arrived from NZ, where daylight saving had already been in place for a week.
Yes, I do believe there was a very small note left in the room and yes, in a perfect world we would have read every bit of information in the room before going out for dinner the night before. Which I have to add was at about 9 pm and we were starving after our flight then drive from Melbourne.
All in all, we thought the Mercure very poor value for money. The staff were friendly enough, but certainly didn't go the extra mile we would have expected for the price we paid. Especially after having such great service in NZ.

Room Tip: Never have a room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MERCUREGEELONGGM, General Manager at Rydges Geelong, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Mary J.

Thank you for your recent visit to the Mercure Geelong and sincere apologies that overall your visit was not a positive one.

We generally take pride in reading our guests had a great stay and it was disappointing that we did not hit the mark in your experience.

We do offer to accommodate and provide breakfast to children (under 16), sleeping in existing bedding, at no additional charge to the parents. I’m not sure how this was missed on arrival, however I will remind the team to make sure this is clearly communicated.

We greatly value all guest feedback as it is with this we are able to improve and rest assured that where ever possible I will also address the other issues you noted.

Apologies again Mary J and I encourage you to contract me directly, as I would very much appreciate the opportunity to restore your faith in the Mercure.

Yours sincerely,

Phil O'Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Geelong hotels

Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

It is an old building with refurbished bathroom area. 7th / top floor has a slightly better view to the waterfront but still too far away. Good service and reasonably priced. Daily open space parking for $18 but there is free parking lot a small block away towards the waterfront direction

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Stayed here for one night great service, clean rooms and perfect for families. There is the option of 2 single beds plus a queen bed for families. Breakfast had a variety of food from eggs/ bacon/ sausages to bircher muesli and fresh juices. Staff were efficient at check in/out.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mp1968_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
719 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.3 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
0.9 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#4 of 17 in Geelong
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Geelong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Geelong

Property: Rydges Geelong
Address: Gheringhap St & Myers St, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3220, Australia (Formerly Mercure Geelong)
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Geelong 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Geelong is in the city centre, near Eastern Beach Waterfront, only a short distance to the Great Ocean Road and Avalon Airport, operated by Jetstar. The hotel features 138 rooms with bay or city views, a restaurant, bar, outdoor swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium and conference facilities for up to 350 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Geelong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Geelong Hotel Geelong
Accor Geelong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing