We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with great service.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Geelong
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Haymarket Boutique Hotel
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Geelong
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Reading other reviews, I can only conclude that some people are hard to please. Who'd be in hospitality?! Yes, I would have liked a more accessible powerpoint, yes the kitchen/bar is pretty tiny - but on the scale of what's important, these things are trivial, and if you want all the 'mod cons' go to the Sheraton down the road. (I have stayed twice at the Sheraton and will never stay there again by choice now I've found the Haymarket which is a gem.) The Haymarket has a lovely feel, and in Geelong that's hard to find. We arrived very late on a Friday night so the hotel was closed and we entered via a laneway with a nearby hotel in full swing with loud music - oh oh, we thought, have we done the right thing choosing this place? However, the instructions as to how to get in worked perfectly, and our room directly on the courtyard was absolutely sound-proof. The heating had been put on for us too, which was greatly appreciated late on a cold winter night. Service at the Haymarket is a feature, the people we met were really lovely and very happy to help in any way they could. We loved the cosy lounge, the free wifi, the honesty bar (though be warned, it is locked at 9pm which we hadn't realised - and we were so looking forward to a glass of muscat in bed!). Breakfast is a reasonably simple affair but not basic - coffee is real and very good quality, bread is wholemeal, and there is a nice range of fresh fruit. The bed is one of the best I've slept in in a hotel. The hotel is located about 5 or 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. Parking is limited to four cars only. Note that although upstairs rooms are probably out of the question for a disabled person, the downstairs room we had would be quite OK for a fairly mobile wheelchair-user. In all, we loved this place and will be back next time we are in Geelong for a Cats match! By the way, we ate lunch on Sunday at Petteval winery - it was outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2009

This hotel has aspirations, but it just doesn't make it. Nice friendly staff, lovely antiques in the room, good bed & bedding, nice bathroom, chocolate on the pillow, lovely little sitting area downstairs. But overall not great, and too many small details missing and jarring. The location is a bit odd - up past some dubious shops and my room looked out over a distinctly unscenic tyre replacement yard.
It's a renovated period building - but whoever didn't bother to replace the ceiling cornices, which made the bedroom look oddly unfinished. The hotel promotes itself as offering 'luxury', yet supplied a very ordinary DIY breakfast complete with ordinary bread and little Kraft plastic packets of butter, honey, marmalade etc. Not my idea of luxury. Good marks for real coffee, but overall it's 3 1/2 star. Once was enough.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jmbau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

I am an experienced traveller and after reading the reviews decided to book this hotel. All I can say is that by selecting a hotel based upon reviews does not always work out. This is one of those times. The other reviewers obviously were not used to the standard required for a 41/2 star hotel. This one fails to make the grade. Although good, clean and tidy with friendly staff, it is simply not up to the grade as advertised. I suspect that the grade has been selected by the hotel to justify the price. Therefore it is overpriced as it is really at 3 star level.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

There is a strange feeling staying at this (or any other B & B) that you can never escape the feeling that your staying in someone's house. Whilst the owners have transformed the Haymarket into what could easily pass a a English country hotel, the lingering sensation that the owners are sleeping in the room next door never goes away. Rooms are filled with old antiques, and lovely old spring beds, free wireless internet, LCD tv's and cable.
The honour bar, which is often mentioned on their website , and clearly used as a selling point, closes at 9pm, best get in before that if your thirsty, but beware, there are cameras all over you wherever you go in the B & B.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

The Haymarket Boutique Hotel made a good base for tasting the pleasures of Geelong, sitting at the top of the town, with a 10 min walk to the waterfront.
The accommodation was very clean and well presented, the rooms were well appointed with a mix of antiques and modern conveniences, and the bathrooms well executed. The room was freshened during the day with a new dose of chocolate on the bed.
The bar was a groovy touch, and worked well, although having only three stools did not work for our 4 bodies! The range of drinks was fantastic for our thirst after a big day on our bikes.

The guest lounge was a bit of a mystery, as it seemed to be separated from the staff area only by a curtain, which didn't invite a feeling of privacy.

Our bedroom window was double glazed, which was a good thing considering the proximity to a nearby hotel - this did not turn out to be a problem because the hotel's specialty seemed to be opening at 7am, not staying open late! This was also a concern for car parking, as the parking in the Haymarket property is limited, leaving us parking in the street for two nights. All turned out okay though.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and were keen to make our stay pleasurable.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank Malcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2007

I stayed at The Haymarket with 4 colleagues and all had the same reaction - gorgeous hotel, and the most comfortable beds ever slept on away from home.

This is a lovely restored heritage building from 1855 that has been beautifully decorated and fitted with antiques sourced locally (I chatted with the manager over a relaxed breakfast in the courtyard to find this out). Morning papers are delivered to the rooms, and if you want more reading material, each room has a collection of old Penguin paperbacks, in addition to the library in the lounge. Rooms also have plasma tvs and games collections, like cards etc.

Everything is perfectly appointed, right down to the Lindt chocolates on the bed for arrival.

Breakfast is help yourself to cereals, toast, coffee and fresh fruits and juices. You can choose to eat at the breakfast bar, or outside in the courtyard. I just love the honesty bar that operates for the rest of the day - you can take anything you want, when you want it - just leave the cash there on the counter.

Not so good things - its a very old building so the rooms are not big and the staircase is narrow - tricky bit not unmanageable with big cases. There are not enough accessible powerpoints - fine if you live in the 1880s - but the modern traveller needs to power up the phone and camera. However, these are minor complaints - this is a wonderful hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kangagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2006

I booked for our 2nd wedding anniversary and it did not disappoint. I mentioned it was our anniverary and there was complimentary wine and chocolates in our room when we arrived. We stayed in the 'the schomberg' room, which was luxuriously appointed: flat screen TV, spa bath, gorgeous toiletries, big white fluffy bath robes, fresh fruit, magazines, French antiques. The best stocked minibar I have ever seen! Barely needed to leave the room.
Parlour was lovely - we played board games by a gas fire while sampling some of the scotch and wine from their honesty bar. Continental breakfast in the morning over newspapers: not over the top, just quality stuff. Smiling friendly staff.
Intimate place. Private, though a little noisy on Saturday night due to street noise. Walked into town in the evening - you're in the heart in about 5 mins. Left relaxed and feeling indulged. Parked on the street without any trouble. Wouldn't have thought I was in Geelong :)

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Meesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
0.1 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#11 of 19 in Geelong
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Geelong
Atlantic Geelong
#7 of 19 in Geelong
17 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#3 of 19 in Geelong
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1 mi away
Quest Geelong
Quest Geelong
#1 of 19 in Geelong
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haymarket Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haymarket Boutique Hotel

Address: 244 Moorabool Street | (Corner of Little Myers Street), Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 03220, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range: £113 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel Geelong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing