We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cosy accommodation”
Review of Parkwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkwood Motel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, cosy accommodation”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed over a long weekend in March and it was a pleasant getaway from the sudden hot spell in Melbourne. Location is slightly out of town but certainly within a few minutes drive of supermarkets, shops and other amenities.

Room was a double and single and quite comfortably accommodated to our needs. Owners are nice and obliging and don't be put off by the old exterior - the interior is fairly well set up and there's even a pool in the garden area, but we didn't use it. Though we did see others use it.

Entry to the motel is a little deceiving, you've got to get onto Shannon Avenue before turning into the car park area. There is a traffic sign when you leave the car park telling you of a no right turn policy during certain times of the day and just stick to it and make the U turn further up the main trunk road.

Breakfast wasn't included in our price so we did venture to nearby Pakington Village on the adjacent street - a quaint place where you get to choose from cafes, shops and local produce.

Overall, a nice cosy environment to stay at and one to accommodate comfortably 3 adults or 2 adults and a child.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thambi117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    25
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
30
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Arrived in Geelong without a car and found this motel a little distant from the railway station and downtown. About out 2 km along a busy road and into a pretty average area. Motel on a busy intersection. Well maintained and very clean rooms. Got a hire car and spent all my time travelling back into the waterfront area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_neuhaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Great little motel, good location. Fantastic service, warm and friendly. Room was small but well appointed,good information once we found it in the drawer under the TV. Bed a little hard for my liking. Typical loss shower head for my height 6 4.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrya0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne N, Owner at Parkwood Motel, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Hi mrya,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As a result of your feedback we now have a sign on the inroom desks to show guests where the Information Drawer is located. Thank you. You may not have realised that the showerhead height is adjustable :) Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Ray and Marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night in a queen room. The property looks great, and the rooms are dated, but very clean. The owner is very nice and helpful. As it is just besides the road we asked if there were quiet rooms, and the answer was yes, because doubleglazed. Later that night we found out that it wasn't. We didn't hear the street though, as the airconditioning was louder than the street noise. We couldnt turn it off, as it was freezing inside, and cold air kept on coming through the window, the door,etc. I think this motel is great in summer, there is a beautiful pool and nice garden,but in winter it is just an old cold room which is everything but environmental friendly (as they claim in reception). We had a room with a connection four to the next room, which made our neighbor and us slightly too intimidate. After this not so great night we were asked by the lady if we had a good night, and when we told her the issues, she just stated that there is an electric blanket. And charged us 9$ instead of 6$ because I couldn't fit the whole load of the washing machine into the too small dryer and had to dry in two loads.. not so cool after such a bad night,so we left without intentions to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne N, Owner at Parkwood Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Hi Tigerus,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review to Trip Advisor about our motel. We were pleased to read that you found us friendly, the motel room very clean and the grounds attractive. We pride ourselves on the presentation of the rooms and love being of assistance and service to our customers.
The motel was built in the 1970s, and whereas it was fully refurbished in 2005, there are a few tell-tale signs showing its age, but none that we were aware of that may cause discomfort to our guests. Therefore, when you said that you had an uncomfortable and cold night, we immediately went to the room to see what may have been the cause. There did not appear to be anything out of the ordinary until we checked the remote control for the reverse cycle air conditioner that we noted it was set on 'cool' rather than 'heat'. That, and the fact that the fan was set on 'high' would indeed have blown continuous cold air into the room.
The remote controls do not seem very user-friendly, especially for motel purposes (too many menu options and no instructions). Given that we have on occasion needed to assist guests with their remote controls we will look for alternative, more user-friendly controls for all of our rooms. In the meantime, we have prepared a brief instruction sheet for our compendiums.
We take your comments seriously and thank you for making us aware of areas needing improvement. Because your evening with us caused you discomfort, and if you happen to be travelling back this way, we would invite you to spend an evening free of charge with us, so we can show you that even in winter, our rooms can be warm and cosy.
Regards,
Ray and Marianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I occasionally travel to Geelong for Business and each time we prefer to stay here at Parkwood Motel, not only because the rooms are immaculate but the staff are ever so friendly and make us feel at home.
For Mariane and Ray nothing is too much.
Any time of year the Garden Grounds are in bloom and neatly trimmed.
It's a joy to be able to take a dip in the pool. (weather permitting)
That's why we call it a Home away from home.

Room Tip: Great view of the "Spinx" from the Top rooms.Unreal !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our stay at Parkwood was great. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the staff were really friendly and helpful and we had a great swim in the pool! The gardens are beautiful too :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit/house with another couple so it was great value for money. Had a lovely weekend, much better than 2 separate hotel rooms!

Room Tip: Tell reception your needs, they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravel119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerParkwoodMotel, Manager at Parkwood Motel, responded to this review, 5 May 2016
Thank you Worldtravel119, we are pleased to hear you have had a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geelong hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Bayside Geelong
1.0 mi away
Best Western Geelong Motor Inn & Apartments
1.9 mi away
Rydges Geelong
Rydges Geelong
#8 of 17 in Geelong
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Novotel Geelong
Novotel Geelong
#2 of 17 in Geelong
719 reviews
2.7 mi away
Barwon Valley Lodge
Barwon Valley Lodge
#1 of 17 in Geelong
130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Admiralty Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkwood Motel

Property: Parkwood Motel
Address: Gps: 8 Lily Street North Geelong | Cnr of Ballarat Rd & Shannon Ave Hamlyn Heights, Geelong, City of Greater Geelong, Victoria 3215, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > City of Greater Geelong > Geelong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Geelong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parkwood Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkwood Motel is spacious - Parkwood motel offers you privacy -and soon a retreat feel, a home away from home.Fully serviced rooms, apartments & house each day of your stay. Our large rooms are clean comfortable.Our spacious grounds are a true centrepiece and offering a restful stop to relax by the salt/chlorinated outdoor swimming pool. We have FREE Cable UNLIMITED Wi-Fi, FREE Foxtel, FREE BBQ & FREE laundry. A small collection of books for you choose. Easy to find - we are located straight off the ring road. A easy drive of 2 minutes from Geelong Waterfront & City. We are only an hour to Ballarat, Lorne & Melbourne. The added convenience of being close to many different cuisines of take away or restaurants from Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Fish & chips, Balinese, Supermarkets, Hotels, plus services such as Chemists, Doctors and Service station. A great place to stay for awhile before you start out on your tour of The Great Ocean Road. Twenty km from Avalon Airport. We can are able to provide all tourism information at the front reception. We can arrange shuttles to Avalon 20 minute drive or to Tullarmine Airport that is one hour. We have lots of parking available - great for car clubs, boats and group bookings. Come stay and relax and we promise to look after you at the Parkwood Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Parkwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing