We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant but average food. On a busy night the wait for your food is a long long wait.”
Review of Lord of the Isles

Lord of the Isles
Ranked #55 of 463 Restaurants in Geelong
Price range: US$17 - US$22
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant but average food. On a busy night the wait for your food is a long long wait.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The menu at Lord of the Isles is extensive. We ordered steak medium-well and it came out rare. If it is a busy night the wait to order is long and by the time you get your food it can be 1 1/2 hours later.

Although the food is good I gave an average score because the steak was undercooked and by the time it is brought back, our other guests had finished their meals.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Toujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    26
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lord of the Isles”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great menu, extensive wine list, delicious food and great service. Nice place to meet family or friends.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank emm4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well renovated and lovely food.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Always take my parents here when they would come up to Geelong to visit me. Just classy enough to make it a nice meal and just relaxed enough to make it a pub atmosphere still with a delicious menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatieRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Rogan Josh”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is the best meal I have had outside an Indian restaurant.
Rogan Josh was excellent.
Other meals were enjoyed also.
Service was ok.
Wine list excellent.
Atmosphere quiet and relaxing.
Modern décor.
Prices a little pricey.
Overall a nice place for lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Lonsdale, Victoria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can't remember the last time I didn't leave a tip”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Table of 8. Whatever you do don't order the chicken scallopini - barely luke warm, heaps of sloppy sauce, horrid potato side . Worst meal I've had out for years. Highlight was 50c of greens on plate. All other meals just okay. So disappointed.
Even with non satisfactory food I would have left a tip - but that wasn't very good. Had to go the bar for a wine list. Bought the list to the table then had to go back to the bar to order.
Venue wasn't crowded. Local family get together. Wont return any time soon. Wish we'd gone to the local pizza shop - better food, better service and better value.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank biancotartufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord of the Isles also viewed

Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
Geelong, City of Greater Geelong
 

Been to Lord of the Isles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing