We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Horsham
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The nightly fee per room I felt was over the top. They are nice rooms and are very clean however we could not get the air conditioner to work on heat. Thank goodness for the electric blanket otherwise we would have froze all night. The Manager I felt was not that friendly on arrival nor too concerned we could not operate the air conditioner. The location is good as it is central and close to eating facilities. The shower facility was very good with plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located at the rear if you do not like to hear the road noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank char5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for the review, I sorry you felt there was no concern show regarding your air conditioner not working, we endeavour to ensure all our facilities are operating effectively and I'm pretty confident we would have fixed you air conditioner as soon as we were made aware it was not working. Once again thank you for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

we stayed this weekend just gone, in a family suite (QB in main room, separate bedroom with 3xSB). Discounted rate of $200 for the night (I believe usually $230 for the family room, sleeps 5).
The decor is dated - browns, beiges, creams. BUT the beds are comfy, the staff lovely, the location excellent (right opposite the main playground in town, McDonalds, Hungry Jacks, KFC, 500m stroll to main street and eateries). The bathroom/toilet area is all joined in this room, with the toilet in a semi-cubicle. corner spa, as well! Flat-screen TV's in each room, reasonable heating (although dated appliance) and Electric Blankets for those chilly Horsham eves!
Spotlessly clean, couldn't fault that!
There's an indoor heated swimming pool which unfortunately we didn't get to use due to the shortness of our stay.
Quiet, family-friendly.
We enjoyed our night here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank for your positive comments, we do agree the décor in our two bedroom units is a bit dated. We are continuing to upgrade all our rooms as the funds become available you would be happy to know that so far we have completed twenty three of our thirty eight rooms. Hopefully on your return you will see positive changes. Many thanks for taking the time review our motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We were on our way home from Adelaide and stopped at the Golden Grain Motor Inn opposite a park. The motel was centrally located to eateries, either take away or the Victoria Hotel almost next door. Room was quite spacious with large bed, sofa, table and chairs etc. There was even a small kitchen [sink] and the bathroom was very roomy which included a separate toilet. Very comfortable bed and peaceful surrounds. There is also a games room and reasonable size indoor pool with spa - all very clean, in a separate building.
Ample parking for cars/trailers. The hosts were very friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: Probably all rooms ok, but we had a room at the back to avoid any highway noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfinpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for the positive comments regarding our motel, it is always good to hear when a guest appreciates the facilities we provide. We endeavour to ensure all our guests fully utilise and enjoy the indoor heated pool and spa along with the games room. All potential guest are able to get a clear picture of our facilities by visiting our new website www.goldengrainmotel.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this motel on our way to Adelaide from Melbourne. We liked the room, which was spacious and spotlessly clean. The facilities are excellent, and we were glad to use the laundry, which was also very clean. The manager and manageress were friendly and helpful, and the motel was well situated for the town centre. We enjoyed our brief stay, and were impressed by the town of Horsham itself. We would definitely use this motel again.

Room Tip: Rooms are all on ground level, and the only drawback if you are near to the road could be traffic no...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneymanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel, it is always pleasing to read such positive comments we hope you will continue to stay with us during your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

good clean accomodation, but rooms need to be upgraded paint peeling of ceilings, but worse was the air conditioner did not work and with this heat my stay was not nice, the pub next door has some nice meals but they also charge a fee for charge back to your hotel, this was not my first time staying here, will stay here again. had spa in room looked nice but did not use .

Room Tip: its luck of the draw this time no good , but next will be perfect .
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Thank you for the review. We are sorry your air conditioner was not working however if you had told us during your stay we would have had it fixed, a new unit was fitted the next day. Yes we agree some of our rooms need updating however to-date we have fully renovated twenty-four rooms and will be starting on the next five shortly. Once again thank you for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Handy place to stay when in Horsham. Have stayed there many times and always found the rooms to be clean and well presented. Ideally located next to the hotel for meals. Service great. Perhaps could do with a little update in the rooms however they are nice and large. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms are a good size and really clean. Excellent location for the shops and eating places. Easy to...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Sally, thank you for taking the time to review our property. Horsham has lot to offer the travelling public and we are glad you stayed with us to experience that. We are very proud of the way our property is presented and we are glad you enjoyed our spacious clean rooms. Sincere thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Having stayed at the Golden Grain on many occassions from 2007-2011, I have found Russell, Rhonda and their staff to be nothing but magnificent.
Nothing was ever too much trouble, the breakfast was worth the drive up from Melbourne alone.
There may have been a few small indescretions with other reviewers on here, but my experience tells me that these reviewers have blown the problem well out of proportion.
I stay quite regularly at motels as I'm a sales rep, and I have yet to find a motel that compares to the quality, value and all-round attention to detail and level of service provided by the management and staff of this particular motel.
I would largely ignore these negative reviews on this site.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenGrainMotorInn, Manager at Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Paul, Sorry we have taken so long to reply to your review. Your kind words haven given us a great morale boost. Everyone has the right to their opinion, however we recommend people to judge others by their own experience. We as moteliers want all guests to enjoy their stay. Once again thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horsham hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn May Park
Comfort Inn May Park
#2 of 12 in Horsham
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Horsham International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Capital Horsham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country City Motor Inn
Country City Motor Inn
#6 of 12 in Horsham
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Smerdon Lodge Motel
Smerdon Lodge Motel
#4 of 12 in Horsham
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Majestic Motel
Majestic Motel
#5 of 12 in Horsham
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn

Address: 6 Dimboola Road, Horsham, Victoria 3400, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Golden Grain Motor Inn)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Horsham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Horsham
Price Range: £98 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Golden Grain Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horsham
Horsham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing