We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Budget Accommodation”
Review of Darlot Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Darlot Motor Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Horsham
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After seeing the entrance and grounds, my wife & I looked at each other and said "oh dear". However, don't judge a book by it;s cover! The managers were nice and the rooms are clearly being upgraded at the moment. Rooms are a generous size and although aged, are nicely appointed. New carpet and TV and a comfy bed. Only critisism was pretty average water pressure in the shower but that was no major drama. Only $10 by taxi to the centre of town. The cabbies are very friendly too!

Room Tip: Rooms 14, 15 & 16 are furthest from the highway traffic which we didn't hear at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Horsham can be very expensive for accommodation. Darlot is a good budget option with big clean rooms, nice firm beds and clean bedding. Owners are currently upgrading the rooms with new carpet, paint and room furniture to add even more value. For summer there is also a pool which is a bit of bonus for a budget option. There can be a bit of truck noise from the main road out the front but rooms reasonably well shielded by the service road and front office - I am a light sleeper and had no problems. If you want in-room wi-fi you need to get a low numbered room

Room Tip: low number rooms up to 4 can get in room reception for the wifi but it fades out near the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I found the Darlot to be a basic but clean and tidy motel. From the time of booking the staff were polite and friendly. They were more than happy for me to have my two dogs stay (inside in their crates). The rate is good and the location is not noisy. The chinese across the road was also very nice.
The motel is dated as you can expect but the beds were good and the sheets, quilts etc all very new. The owners were working on updating the place and it in no way affected our stay. Considering I stay in Horsham a few times a year and have experienced some terrible service, it was a nice surprise. I wish the owners all the best and will pop through again sometime

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearl_sims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here early in May 2014 on a trip from Melbourne
to Adelaide in a Twin room (Rm 14). The owners were slowly renovating the motel. Our room did not meet our expectations. The room was desperately in need of refurbishment. It was of a reasonable size and the beds were comfortable and there was little traffic noise from the highway. It was reasonably clean however this was difficult to determine as many of the fixtures were old and in need of replacement. The whole room needed painting and there were old water marks on the straw ceiling. The curtains were barely hanging on and difficult to close and the curtain rod to the 'cupboard' repeatedly fell down. We were told recent plumbing issues had been solved yet the water pressure in the shower was inadequate and difficult to adjust. The grouting needed attention in several places. There was a distinct 'musty' smell in the room and exposed electrical wiring was hanging out of the wall. One can understand that the owners are doing
their best to bring the standard of the rooms from the 60's into the 21st century but then they should be charging accordingly and not ask for the same price as we payed the night before for a similar room in a modern high-rise hotel in central Melbourne with lovely city views.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HOK_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived in Horsham late one night and we were really just looking for a cheap motel - somewhere to rest our heads! The room was a little dated but very clean. Service was friendly. Only complaint... The water pressure in the shower is terrible. The bed was very comfortable though - even had an electric blanket!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Review-Stephy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This motel has the appearance of being a bit of a dive but the room was clean and the staff was very friendly. The bed could use an upgrade and the pool area (which we didn't use) looked like it could use a make over as well. It was an okay stop over en route to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here again for somewhere to put the head down and relax while traveling from SA to Vic, we stayed here previously with the kids around 12mths ago and it was very suitable for our needs and very well priced.

This second time it was just two adults and we were given room 1. Staff were very polite again and made sure we had what we needed and were settled. we decided to put the air conditioning on as it was a very hot day and the room had been locked up most of the day as it was hot. the air cond unit is located in the bathroom window with an outlet size of a doorway to cool the sitting room and bedroom which is all in one. We couldn't feel it. come time to sleep i went to see if i could make it better and when checking it seemed to be blowing out side air inside. i think it may have needed regasing? we ended up moving the bed up against the bathroom door to feel a breeze to try and sleep. our sleep wasnt very good at all and were tired when we woke in the morning which is not what you want when your travelling. other than this experience and as mentioned, staff were welcoming and polite again, value for money was good $95 for two adults per night. first experience was good second not so much but for the price we will give it another chance next time we travel through.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MediumZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Horsham hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn May Park
Comfort Inn May Park
#2 of 12 in Horsham
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Horsham International Hotel
1.6 mi away
Smerdon Lodge Motel
Smerdon Lodge Motel
#4 of 12 in Horsham
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Majestic Motel
Majestic Motel
#5 of 12 in Horsham
45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Capital Horsham
0.4 mi away
Sundowner Horsham Westlander Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darlot Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darlot Motor Inn

Address: 47 Stawell Rd, Horsham, Victoria 3400, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Horsham
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Horsham
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Darlot Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 3.5hrs from Melbourne and 4.5 hrs from Adelaide on the Western Highway, only 45 minute drive to the Grampians. Horsham is a Major Regional City , an ideal base for touring Grampians, Little Desert National Park. Offering 15 large ground floor Motel Rooms, Microwaves, Austar, Wireless Broadband, tea & coffee facilities, toaster, iron, hair dryer, heating/cooling, Hot Tub Spa and Solar Heated Swimming Pool and are proudly known for our Freindly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Darlot Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing