We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite”

The Floating Dragon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$29
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The award winning Floating Dragon Dockside Restaurant offers you a truly unique dining experience. Birthed on the Western Boat Harbour, Floating Dragon provides uninterrupted water views of the Cunningham Arm and surrounding Fishing Fleet. Our Produce is fresh, with seafood locally sourced when in season, delivering a fusion Asian menu that will excite your tastebuds. With attentive service and plenty of local wines, ciders and beers to match our food, you are assured of a memorable dining experience. Welcome to The Floating Dragon, Lakes Entrance's number one restaurant.
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We followed other peoples reviews and thought we would try it out. We read that the meals are really large. So we ordered 2 entrees between 3 and the same with mains. We were not disappointed. The meals were large but exquisite. They would have to be the best Chinese meals we have ever eaten. We then had desserts. They too very ver large. The service was fantastic an staff friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend this to anyone. The downside it wasn't cheap it was quite expensive but worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    122
    33
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were recommended this by a local and we couldn't have been happier. Attentive and knowledgeable staff helped to make the evening memorable. We were recommended the sizzling beef and the chilli calamari both of which were sensational. We tried the local wines which again were great recommendations . Couldn't fault this would go again .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lincoln
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great food”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the mains are huge serves, as was the fried rice. We started with an entree of spring rolls and chicken satay sticks, very tasty. When eating chinese, we like to order several dishes, but the staff suggested because the mains were so large, to only order one main. Would like to see smaller dishes on their menu to enable guests to try more than one dish. Unfortunately, you cannot take any left over food with you, which seems like such a waste if you can't eat it all. The fried ice cream was absolutely huge, and definitely a dessert to share. Delicious food. Suggest making a reservation in the warmer months, would be very busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frangipani69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We travel to lakes just to eat here”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great Chinese. We have been here 3 times and each time is just as good as the first. We have the chefs special mixed entree between us and then order the garlic prawns and crispy beef with BBQ sauce with fried rice. Of course this is too much food but it is great. Needless to say we never fit desert in. The service is great. I suggest you book as they usually have 2 sittings on busy weekends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wow Worth the wait”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here before and it's great. Today we had a rather long wait. But it turned out that they needed to create a fresh batch of the soup, then the rest of the dishes came quickly

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl_John_Fechner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Floating Dragon also viewed

Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 

Been to The Floating Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing