We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food and friendly staff”

Central Hotel Bistro
Price range: US$10 - US$37
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Central Hotel, located on the waterfront of Victoria's Gippsland Lakes, is in the center of town. Enjoy a meal in our bistro which specialises in fresh local seafood and local produce. A regular feature for lunch is the 'Parma & Pot' for only $17.50 in the bar is always popular. We serve local gummy shark with a crispy beer batter and crunchy chips for lunch & dinner so if its great fish n chips your after you are in the right place! During the colder months, relax with a glass of red wine by the original open fireplace. In summer enjoy the view from our alfresco outdoor area and if your lucky catch a glimpse of our ever popular dolphins passing by!
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a great meal at the Central Hotel. We both had grilled steak and vegies. The steak was beautiful and the vegies were cooked just right. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thankyou, our steaks get very good feedback and it is great to hear the staff are making customers feel welcome. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Central Hotel Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Dined here with friends. They loved the Flathead tail special, my green curry seafood not really that great, but presentation very good. Excellent wine list with great local representation, plus a raft of other regions - a city-quality list at very good prices. Food orders take credit cards; if you want wine; its strictly cash at the bar. Service was swift, super professional overseen by a head of service who really knew what she was doing. A great meal with friends.

Thank jiffy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thankyou, our steaks get very good feedback and it is great to hear the staff are making customers feel welcome. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I ate here recently and had quite an enjoyable experience. My boyfriend ordered the porterhouse steak and absolutely loved it. The pepper sauce was delicious! I ordered the fish green curry and it was very pleasant. Presentation was beautiful. The waitress was very friendly and there was a great atmosphere.Would definitely come here again.

Thank ali-belli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Great! We love hearing about happy customers with good dining experiences! We hope you get the chance to visit Lakes Entrance again & come back for another steak!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Awesome meals all round and fantasic service. Most certainly will return a very memorable meal can't wait for another porterhouse.

Thank purplegems12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thankyou, our Porterhouse is sourced locally from gippsland farmers who grass feed for increased flavour, we have had great feedback since we started using this beef. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Central Hotel served up the most delicious, mouth watering and tasty Porterhouse steak along with delicious mashed potato and some well cooked veg. Definitely a great meal at a good price!

Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlisonB975, Owner at Central Hotel Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thankyou, our steaks are often refferred to be the 'Best in Town!" and are very popular. Nice to hear:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Hotel Bistro also viewed

 
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
Lakes Entrance, Gippsland
 

Been to Central Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing