We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable....and free wi-fi.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kickback Cottages Lakes Entrance
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Somerville, Australia
Level Contributor
284 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable....and free wi-fi.”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed two nights using a discount accommodation voucher. The cottages are an older style, but with many updates. The rooms had timber flooring, there is reverse cycle air-conditioning, there is a narrow, north facing deck.

Despite having a voucher for a one bedroom cottage, we were given 2 bedrooms. The welcome was friendly. Other positives were the comfortable bed, a kitchen with all the utensils we required as well as good, thick towels.

The cottages were quiet, but all of Lakes Entrance was quiet over the last 3 days in April. The Cottages are away from the beach. This was not an issue for us as we used the cottages as a base for some cycling. We can recommend the Gippsland Lakes Discovery Trail, but preferably not with narrow, road tyres.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    24
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We had the front cottage. We only stayed one night but it had a good kitchen, bed was fine, bathroom good. 2 couches tv and wi fi. Owner didn't have much to say but we didn't need anything. No complaints here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Lovely cottage style accommodation just off the main hwy in town central. Room was fully equipped and had everything we needed. Great facilities with BBQ area which we did not use. Alison was very welcoming and informative on the towns attractions. We will recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucinda1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I stayed in a 4 person family room with a queen size bed and two single size beds with two others. It had plenty of room to move around. Everything, especially the kitchen ware was very well supplied for. Rooms were tidy and cozy. There was also BBQ house next to us, where they had some family games supplied there. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use. The location of the cottages was very close to the beach strips and the lake entrance for fishing. The cottages are also conveniently located to the stores including tackle shops and Safeway.

The owner was also very nice and friendly and patiently helped us with questions.

We got the room for a discounted price with a voucher so it was really good value for price.

The only downside was that the rooms weren't very sound proof so I had trouble sleeping with someone moving in the kitchens and some people taking outside the house. But once again, I've yet to stay in an accommodation without that problem. I may be wrong but I don't think there was a clock at the place and would've liked one there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Kickback cottage? More like kickBUCK cottage because if you book this be ready to say goodbye to your money. $180 per night...seems like a good price right? lol please..Add another $200 per night, they are gonna scrape off you claiming you left the cottage not "squeeky" clean.
Just make sure you bring your own electric blankets, hot water, Air conditioning and a welcoming/pleasant host.
They do have a really nice view though, with the ocean laid there right in front of you and there's a BBQ machine if you are in the mood to kick back some leisure time..just remember to build a BBQ deck because oil stains on their BBQ deck will add another $100 to the bill.
The cottage is well equipped with all the basic appliances that even include a washing machine...a well thought out addition considering that you yourself have to wash the unclean, stained bedding that you are provided with.
We did manage to have a decent time though...thanks to the fact that the bill was presented when we left. Would we come back? That I'll let you decide.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhagya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KickbackCottages, Owner at Kickback Cottages Lakes Entrance, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
This review which they have waited 6 months to put up is totally inaccurate.
Firstly let me say they didn't stay in a cottage they stayed in a 3 bedroom house on the Esplanade.
Secondly it was a group of 7 young guys who obviously live at home with their parents because they certainly no nothing about cleanliness and/or putting rubbish and food scraps into the outside bin.
Thirdly the house was left in an abolutely shocking disgrace, with food drinks etc; littered throughout the house.
They were charged $100 only for additional cleaning and that was all. They lifted the bbq which works like any other bbq, onto the decking attached to the house and ruined the merbu decking... which they were not charged for. The sheets and bedding weren't stained at all, they flooded the carpet from the bathroom. They complained they ran out of hot water, well the amount of water that was on the floor in the passage way, the bathroom and the laundry... no wonder. We have never run out of hot water! They complained they didn't have electric blankets on the beds. I purchased another 3 thinking someone has taken them, only to find once we got through all the rubbish, that there was only one bed without an electric blanket the others were fitted, all they had to do was plug them in. They didn't use them anyway as it turned out. We take pride in the presentation of our 3 bedroom house and cottages. Will I ever have these young guys back...... I'll let you decide. Alison Brewer Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

The owner patiently wait for us though we were late for check in. She even put the heater on for us.
Great location and close to amenities. That the cottages are stand alone, the closeness to the beach and town centre. A beautiful town to visit!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexlimch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband, 6 month old daughter and I arrived at kickback cottages and we were not disappointed with our Groupon purchase. The 2 bed small cottage is very quaint and met all our needs. It is in an ideal location minutes from the lakes themselves, shopping centre, various restaurants, lake front shops, as well as the start of the 90 mile beaches: Main beach, Eastern beach and Lake Tyres beach (red bluff).
It is also within driving distance of stoney creek and a 45 minute drive to the Buchan Caves.
The cottage was spacious, clean and had all the mod cons that we required. The only downside was that the smaller second bedroom was very cold as the windows were slatted glass and it was too cold to put our daughter to sleep in. That wasn't a huge problem for us as her portable cot fit in our room so she stayed in with us.
The site itself has a bbq and play area for kids and the grounds are well managed and clean.
Would definitely return and would recommend to others with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no1chocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Esplanade Resort & Spa
#5 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cunningham Shore Motel
Cunningham Shore Motel
#4 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakes Entrance Holiday Units
Lakes Entrance Holiday Units
#17 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
10 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kickback Cottages Lakes Entrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kickback Cottages Lakes Entrance

Property: Kickback Cottages Lakes Entrance
Address: 32 Roadknight St, Lakes Entrance, Victoria, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kickback Cottages Lakes Entrance 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kickback Cottages offers recently renovated, comfortably appointed 1,2 & 3 bedroom cottages. Being one street back from the Esplanade and one block to shops, restaurants, cafes, clubs and the footbridge leading over to the 90 mile beach, Kickback is located in a very close and handy position to all attractions and facilities Lakes Entrance has to offer. All cottages have HD LCD TV/DVD, reverse cycle air conditioning to ensure your comfort year round. Each cottage has its own outdoor decked area, car park and clothes line. Onsite facilities include free use of bbqs, children's playground and onsite coin operated laundry. Kickback is ideal for those who require comfortable but affordable accommodation which is within walking distance to everything. Comfortable 3 Star Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kickback Cottages Lakes Entrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing