We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a winter weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanade Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good place for a winter weekend getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Took some time to have a long weekend in Lakes Entrance with adult family. We needed to upgrade to a 3 bedroom apartment at the last minute and this was done very effortlessly by the staff - who were friendly and obliging. The apartments are well situated and we really enjoyed the heated pool and spa on the cold winter days. My only criticsm is that it is time for a refurbish (at least in the apartment that we had). Old stained carpet has seen better days and the scratches on the wooden furniture are good indications that there have been a lot of guests staying here over the past 10 years or so and it time to freshen up a bit.
On the plus side the free WIFI is good and I really appreciated the helpfulness of the staff (even got a late checkout which was wonderful - thanks again).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hen302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    211
    135
    43
    27
See reviews for
142
262
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deakin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We booked this hoping for a lovely sea view with great amenities. Well the only good thing about this resort is the room size, the rest is very disappointing. The road noise was awful, the building site/ harbour across the main started at 5am with reversing beeping noises and it just got worse from there on. You can hear everything from the rooms next door, I mean literally everything. No sea view and the strange purple faux leather couch in the room?. As soon as you sat on it the seat cushions slipped off along with every other cushion on the couch. Staff were okay can't rave about them but they were nice and mmmm well that's it. Find somewhere else I am sure you will get a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment at the back of the resort and hope you can't hear the road noise over the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fiji20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lakes Entrance hotels

Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I got a great deal on a 2 bedroom apartment and it was very spacious and homey and warm even in Winter without the heaters on! 2 ensuites, 3 TVs, Free WiFi, large kitchen and lounge area and all the household needs. The meals in the restaurant were very good and fairly priced and the indoor pool was clean and refreshing. Staff were friendly. Only thing I was a little disappointed with was, there was quite a lot of dark hairs on my bathroom floor on arrival. Could have been cleaned better. We were also very lucky to see some Dolphins swimming nearby while on our daily walk along the waterfront!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyness36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Footscray, Australia
Level Contributor
481 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

we bought a deals.com promo voucher, extended our stay to a long weekend and upgraded to a deluxe room, all recommended!
the room was very spacious and impeccable with a big plasma tv in the living room and a small one in the bedroom. the hotel grounds was beautifully landscaped and the indoor heated pool and spa perfect for cold winter days.
the free breakfast was nothing to shout about - three kinds of cereal, canned fruits, bread, yougurt, milk, coffee - after all, it was free.
dinner was a bit depressing simply because there simply weren't enough diners around although the meal was not bad.
the dinner staff were fantastic, but we can't say the same of the breakfast staff who looked distracted most of the time and forgot orders.
location of the place and the water view was simply sublime, we are going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1mightymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowville, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a deals voucher so was wary reading other reviews. Staff were friendly and helpful. Sofas were updated that weekend so we were first to use them. Beds and pillows were fine. Being disabled they kindly had a shower chair in bathroom for me. Wheelchair accessible also. Parking no problems either but during peak season could be an issue breakfast was plentiful all in all a great time was had by all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, 4 days in a 2 bedroom apartment. We had booked and paid for a 1 bedroom apartment and requested twin beds rather than 1 double but were upgraded as they didn't have a 1 bedroom apartment available with twin beds. Apartment was roomy and comfortable, plenty of space but at the same time homey. The bed I slept in was a little firmer than I like but comfortable nevertheless.

Visited the Illuka Day Spa when we first arrived. the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. I had the crystal and hot stone massage and my Mum had the stress fix massage - both of us were well attended to by the staff and thoroughly enjoyed our massages! We came out so relaxed!! Recommend a visit there to anyone who considers staying here! The staff were incredibly friendly and excellent at what they do. I had never had a massage before this and the woman who looked after me made me feel comfortable and at ease.

We visited the restaurant and while the menu was limited, we very much enjoyed the food that we chose and were again well attended to by staff.

Walking distance to shops, town attractions and restaurants.

The only downsides for us was that in the apartment there was an oven but no oven trays (we improvised when cooking something) and that the carpark was a little pokey, as we have a 4-wheel drive. Also, that the WiFi had to be purchased on top of your booking - we went to McDonald's down the road instead!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a 2 bedroom apartment and it was very spacious. They had an indoor pool and dap for those cold wet winter days when you want to just relax. It is within walking distance to the shops and beach and restaurants. The bathrooms are very spacious and has a washing machine and drier in the apartment. Everyone one helpful. It was very clean and quiet. Had a balcony overlooking the water as well as parklands. Lovely place to stay. Great to make a booking for the day spa. Unfortunately had to wait 4 days though to get in and it was just before were were leaving.

Room Tip: If you have a family definitely choose a two or 3 bedroom apartment. On the western side you get al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lakes Entrance hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
Comfort Inn & Suites Emmanuel
#10 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allambi Holiday Apartments Lakes Entrance
0.2 mi away
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn
#13 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue on the Lakes
Bellevue on the Lakes
#6 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coastal Waters Motor Inn
1.9 mi away
Lakes Waterfront Motel
Lakes Waterfront Motel
#3 of 18 in Lakes Entrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Resort & Spa

Property: Esplanade Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Esplanade, Lakes Entrance, Victoria 3909, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Lakes Entrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Lakes Entrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Esplanade Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Waterfront Hotel Lakes Entrance
Esplanade Waterfront Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing