We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly venue - good location.”
Review of City Gate Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Gate Motel
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Mildura
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This venue was perfectly located for us, right across from Nowingi Place where we were heading for a concert. The motel was very clean, apart from some dust in the exhaust fan in the bathroom. Beds were comfortable, and the curtains were heavy so blocked out the light which was great. We were in room 21 which was in the back corner and that worked for us as it was quiet - although this motel backs on to an alley, so I was a bit worried at first, but we did not have any issues. We were happy with the price we paid for this as it can sometimes be hard to find a motel with separate sleeping areas for adults and children. Our room could accommodate 6 even though there was only 4 of us.
The staff were WONDERFUL! Very welcoming from the moment we got there, and were only to happy to loan us a pair of tongs when we headed to the local park for a BBQ. They also gave us some maps of the region and recommended some things to do and places to eat.
As per previous comments, the motel is quite old, and could do with a few renovations, but the main thing is they do not market themselves to be anything but a three and a half star, so our expectations were met.
Well located near the river and also a short stroll away to the restaurant strip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank purplelion80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

After having to make an unplanned stop on our way through we found this motel to have lovely owners who were really accommodating. Rooms were pretty standard but very clean. We will definitely be back! It is really unusual to find somewhere that accepts pets but we got lucky with a secure courtyard to keep our much loved dog safe.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Kendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

There's a sign when you drive into the city gate motel " your home away from home" well I can honestly say this looks nothing like our home, maybe my grandparents home back in the seventies. The carpets in rooms 11 and 12 are so dated as are the bed covers. Really is it so hard to get new floor covering of a neutral colour and get new modern up to date bed fabrics. Then there was no hot water so no showers. When we arrived we found out the swimming pool and spa were out of order too. A $130 a night for this has to be a joke but apparently people must like being ripped off as they seem to be happy to pay for accommodation of this terrible standard. Please to the owners up your game bring the motel upto today's standards and I would have been happy to pay $130 a night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carlb2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie D, Owner at City Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you Calb2912 for your review, all feedback either complimentary or negative is of help to our Motel
You were given a discount on the room rate which you accepted, so you did not pay $130.00.
We have addressed the hot water situation, and It was unfortunate that the pool was undergoing renovations prior to the upcoming hot summer months.
We like to think that we go that extra mile for our guests and we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

we were looking for somewhere to stop en route from Broken Hill to Mildura and back. We needed somewhere that would take pets (2 dogs in our case) and this motel was one of the few that did. Well located by the river, nice and clean good sized room. Breakfast ordered by 8pm delivered to the room at reasonable cost. Pool and spa but closed at this time of year. You can order food from local restaurants to be charged to your room. Quiet night's sleep. Owners very friendly and approachable - will use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie D, Owner at City Gate Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear DML, thank you for your lovely review, We know how difficult it is to travel with pets and to Find suitable accommodation, we would welcome you back at any stage.
Sincerely the owners
Jamie and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I stay at this motel quite frequently, and it is my first choice in Mildura now.

Location is quite good, easy walking distance to Langtree Mall (shops, restaurants etc), located nicely opposite the river near the park, and quite easy car access in/out of the city.

The rooms themselves are always clean, the beds are always comfortable, and i get a good nights rest. The breakfasts are also quite tasty. Staff are always friendly and welcoming.

All up, an excellent motel choice in Mildura.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rob3170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very happy with my stay, it's no 5 star, but very clean, good friendly service, and good location, only a 5 minute walk to restaurants and shops and across the road from parks and the Murray river. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesgoesbush777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed for a night in a family room with separate attached twin room. Fairly good value for what was in effect two motel units.
All was good except for smell that emanated in main room after heating was turned on. Mentioned to proprietor sp hopfefully he can trace the same. as it was quite an unpleasant smell no doubt bought about by heating the room.
Location was conveninet for us.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mildura hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Mildura Grand
2.0 mi away
Mildura Motor Inn
Mildura Motor Inn
#3 of 25 in Mildura
176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mildura Inlander Resort
Mildura Inlander Resort
#5 of 25 in Mildura
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Deakin Palms
1.1 mi away
Best Western Chaffey International Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Mildura
Mercure Hotel Mildura
#8 of 25 in Mildura
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Gate Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Gate Motel

Address: 89 Seventh St, Mildura, Victoria 3500, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Mildura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Mildura
Price Range: £55 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Gate Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer: - An ideal location close to the Murray river and Mildura city centre. - Three minute walking distance to the restaurants and entertainment;- 22 ground floor units including four divided family units with private courtyards;We aim to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Gate Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing