We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B/hotel experience ever”
Review of Bon Accord

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bon Accord
Ranked #1 of 4 Sale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My husband and I went for a drive on a Wednesday and ended up in Sale; a quick google search led us to Bon Accord. We love homely little places that aren't too expensive, and as soon as we arrived we knew it was lovely. We got a discounted rate for the two of us plus our four-month old baby daughter, and we also included breakfast.

The room - the smallest, but very cosy and just the right size for us - was very warm on a cold night, and Tim brought in a microwave specifically for us to use. The bed was one of the best I've ever slept in, and Tim was exceptionally friendly and helpful even though we arrived later in the evening.

In the morning I had a shower, and even though the shower head and taps looked original, the hot water was almost instant and the pressure was great. We had breakfast in the breakfast room, and that was probably the best experience I've ever had. Tim chatted to us as we drank delicious orange juice and had some tea - both he and my husband are originally from England - and then he cooked up a scrumptious breakfast of scrambled eggs, mushrooms and bacon which were all exquisite and topped with parsley freshly-picked from the garden (as we saw him doing it!). As I went to eat, holding my daughter as I usually do, Tim offered to hold her, which was wonderful - I was actually able to enjoy eating all at once! He took her outside, showed her the chook shed and kept her happy until I'd finished.

I can't recommend Bon Accord highly enough - I've never had such a good experience, from lush hotels to country motels - and I wish there were more places like this (especially with the same price tag!)

Room Tip: We had the smallest room - the laundry - and that was great, so I can only imagine the rooms get bet...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Bon Accord
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Bon Accord, Sale. From the moment we drove up the grand tree lined driveway, we knew this was an inviting spot. Then we were greeted by an array of quaint outbuildings overlooked by the gorgeous main house built in 1860's all set in two acres of quiet and peaceful gardens. We were welcomed by our host Tim friendly and very welcoming, it was just like we were visiting a friend's home. Our room was delightful and spacious, had an old world charm, gorgeous linen and all the modern amenities to make our stay comfortable and very enjoyable.
We had our breakfast in the dining area in the main house, Tim is a wiz with his home grown eggs. For those who travel with bicycles this is a terrific place to stay as there are plenty of good rides nearby; Lake Guthridge, the wetlands with the long boardwalk and an abundance of birdlife which we really enjoyed. We even rode into town for a latte, there are lots of very good cafes.
Sale has some lovely eateries too and be warned bookings are essential at the very popular spots. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Bon Accord, we are sure it won't be too long before our next visit.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank asiawonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed at Bon Accord last Sat evening, owners were away so full breakfast not offered but everything else was delightful. Easy to find beautiful property, we stayed in the Milk Separator room which was very twee.Attention to comfort great, loved the decanter of port as a bedtime drink! Bed very comfy but beware of wall mounted TV on way from bathroom, depending on your height and corner turning ability can inflict damage to person!

Room Tip: If you have to saty in Sale for any reason stay here, quiet beautiful setting
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kafzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just returned from a lovely 1 night stay in The Stables. Rooms were perfect. Lots of space and the beds were comfortable. Loved the heated towel racks. The owners were helpful and friendly and brought us extra linen when needed. The grounds are amazing. Breakfast was great. Will definately return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had a great stay at Bon Accord. Tim made us feel at home. With four children we needed some special treatment and moving beds around to fit in. This was done without a fuss. we were made to feel like family and will defiantly stay again when in Sale. We left some minor items behind and they were returned to our door when Tim was going past a few weeks later. great service.

Room Tip: all the rooms seemed good. Tim will match you to the best room available.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stables room has a lovely view across the old tree lined drive to a spare grassed paddock.You are,however,surrounded by suburbia and also reliant (again) on having good neighbours.Our first morning was not so good with the people next door sending their kids out early to do skids in the drive on their bikes-right out front of our bedroom window.Next day was great as they checked out. The other rooms on offer looked a little smaller.
We had a nice stay and the owner Tim was very welcoming. We enjoyed the complimentary port.

Room Tip: Definately the stables
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed in the stables. Very comfortable, very quiet. Air con, great TV's (no Foxtel), cooking facilities, fully self contained. Excellent breakfast, Tim is a perfect host. Perhaps a little expensive, difficult to shave with the mirror in the bathroom over the loo!!, gets light early in the bedroom as curtains don't cover all windows.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sale hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Aspen & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Mansi on Raymond
Mansi on Raymond
#5 of 11 in Sale
41 reviews
1.2 mi away
Criterion Hotel
Criterion Hotel
#7 of 11 in Sale
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quest Sale Serviced Apartments
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites King Avenue
1.3 mi away
The Matador
The Matador
#3 of 11 in Sale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bon Accord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bon Accord

Address: 153-155 Dawson St, Sale, Victoria 3850, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Sale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sale
Price Range: £80 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful old historical homestead and outbuildings. All carefully renovated to provide old world charm with modern day comfort levels. Very quiet, high end beds and linen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing