We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High staff turnover...it shows. This place is tired.”
Review of Dog's Bar

Dog's Bar
Ranked #30 of 288 Restaurants in St Kilda
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Dogs Bar is Melbourne's oldest small bar, located on the leafy surrounds of Acland Street in vibrant StKilda. Off the main tourist strip, here you will enjoy a very local vibe with artists, models and accountants mixing with the world to create Dogs Bar's iconic feel. With a classic European interior, an extensive range of wines by the glass and bottle along with Australian Craft Beers, the Modern Australian menu accommodates all of these elements with a range of shared food, mains, desserts and cheeses. Drop in. It'll be fun.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“High staff turnover...it shows. This place is tired.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This place used to be great. 10-15 years ago. The guy who owns it now is notorious for not paying his staff or suppliers so the staff has turned over entirely in the last 12 months - more than once. And you can tell. The food is very hit and miss due to temps in the kitchen, and floor staff don't stay long enough to know what they're doing.

The last time I was there it was empty apart from a couple of tables. Which is a shame because it used to be pumping. Great spot, open fireplace, a former institution in St Kilda...and now it's really just a dog.

Don't give this place your money. Go somewhere in St Kilda that has some soul.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Lisa_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckybrickstreet, Owner at Dog's Bar, responded to this review, 13 January 2015
Dear Lisa,

Many months have passed since your review of Dogs Bar, and much has changed! Surely no surprise that the previous owner is long gone, and we reopened Dogs Bar in October 2014. Our 'renaissance plan' is to return Dogs Bar to being a great Wine Bar serving consistently good food, as it was when I managed the venue 2000-01! Hope you get a chance to come back - feel free to make contact with me via the venue. Kind regards Lachlan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“love gone”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

it has been a few years for us, to this once get vibe place, new owners?? new chef?? mabye i was just not having a good day..but the love..were is it?? i love the casual serve of this place, the location, but the staff just dont have the knowlage of the food or love we experienced on our last visit, tapas ok, mussles in un reduced white wine, not good, just tasted of alcohol..sorry but to many other great spots to eat..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“a little bit of Paris”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

a very stylish bar/ art centre/ restaurantin the 'quite' part of Acland St.,
Great drinks and well versed staff made this a lovely place for a drink ,or three!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seniors2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great pub food and convivial atmosphere.”
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

This is my friends 'local' pub so had no expectation about the food as it was all about the company, this is, however, Melbourne - where even a humble pub feed can be a bit special, and so it was. I enjoyed a Fabulous burger while my friend drooled over a duck ragout pasta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amg1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
235 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Loved the place to bits”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Funky. Great service. Simple menu with lots of specials. Wine list extensive and inexpensive. Nice outside area to watch the walkers pass by.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dog's Bar also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 
St Kilda, Port Phillip
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Dog's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing