We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location & gorgeous, vibrant decor”
Review of Tolarno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tolarno Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous location & gorgeous, vibrant decor”
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in a Balcony Suite room, having booked through needitnow.com.
The position of this gorgeous boutique hotel is fabulous. Having come from Sydney, Fitzroy Street can best be described as Macleay St Kings Cross meets Bondi. There are several fabulous restaurants within a five minute walk, you can't go past Cuore Cafe, 49 Fitzroy St for stunning Northern Italian food or breakfast at the St Kilda Baths.. We also heard Lau's Family Kitchen is worth a visit but they don't seem to take bookings so you'd need to get in early.
The room itself was vibrantly decorated, clean and a reasonable albeit cosy size. The balcony overlooks Fitzroy street, so the rumbling of trams and general street noise is reasonably audible in the room. Nothing that earplugs won't fix at night, and a small price to pay for being in the thick of the action.
The staff seemed friendly, there were DVD's available to rent from reception for $3-5 and the room was made up quickly in the morning.
There is 4 hour on-street parking during the day, and all-night unmetered parking at night a block behind the hotel. Trams stop right out the front and run regularly to the city.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to young couples and anyone wanting to stay in a friendly, vibrant location.

  • Liked — Position and decor
  • Disliked — A little noisy at nights
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    103
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
26
111
34
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Tolarno on two occasions, both within a few weeks of each other. First was with my husband for our Anniversary and secondly with a girlfriend when we attended a trade fair at the Convention Centre (about 20 mins on tram). On both occasions, I had the best hotel experiences I have had in all my travels.

The front balcony room/suite with kitchen (similar to a 2 bedroom unit with a cosy little cabin style bed in the 2nd room with its own ensuite) is absolutely amazing and the standard rooms are just as good. It really is like a home away from home, I just wish my home was as cool as this hotel!

In short, the location is super, surrounding cafes and restaurants are great, the decor of the hotel is amazing and the hot chocolate valhorna in Mirka (restaurant downstairs) is to die for - perfect for a rainy Melbourne afternoon! The staff were all more than helpful (even carried bags up the stairs for my friend who had hurt her back). It is a simple journey on the airport bus to Southern Cross Station, cross the road to get the tram which takes you right to the door of the hotel.

I would recommend this great hotel for anyone who wants to really understand what Melbourne is all about and get the vibe of the city in a non-touristy way, it is the best.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank E_S02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2007

Found Tolarno via Trip Advisor and booked direct on the Tolarno website.

Received email confirmation of a non balcony room at $180.

On arrival Tolarno had no record of my booking, but offered to put us a Balcony room at $160. After getting into the room and unpacking, we got a call to say booking had been found and did we want to check out the other room.

Went back down to reception but was told that we couldn't have our original room for the quoted price but would have to pay $200. Couldn't be bothered!

Asked for a late check out on our last day and was told it would be fine, but on the actual day different staff member told us we couldn't have one. Saw about 5 different reception staff members who didn't really seem to communicate well!

Hotel is nice, clean, great decor in rooms, corridors a bit shabby. Restaurant downstairs very glam as is bar. The in room literature says they do breakfast from 7.30 but they don't - Nice patisserie on the corner or great brekkie place down the road (look for place with large wooden circular windows).

In room goodies a tad pricey. DVDs available from reception for about $5. Our room was a balcony looking out onto Fitzroy street, which was pretty noisy on a Friday and Saturday night but nothing a few ear plugs couldn't sort out. Not the kind of balcony you'd wanna sit out on though, so if I booked again I'd just get a normal room.

Finally St Kilda is a good 30mins from melbourne by Tram and 20mins by cab, which can be a pain, but the beach front and lovely SUnday morning markets more than make up for this.

  • Liked — Trendy art, and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Poor service from reception (They were very nice but very forgetful)
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank papalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

In the heart of buzzy, artsy, St Kilda, the Melbourne equivalent of London's Camden (but much cleaner and friendlier), is this great boutique hotel. The whole place has the feel of an art gallery - but an unpretentious and bohemian one. Apparently, the hotel was founded by a local artist, and this makes sense. There is art in the lobby, up the stairs, and in each room. Giant paintings in bold colours that match the decor and the vintage furniture. In keeping with the bohemian feel the staff are relaxed and friendly. You can help yourself to breakfast. You can help yourself to the internet. We filled in a laundry form and the receptionist refused to take our order, recommending instead the launderette across the road that would charge us a fraction of the cost. She helped us with our airline booking, too, with no fuss at all, and gave us great advice about places to eat and things to do in Melbourne. Although St Kilda is not really a tourist heartland, it has a beautiful beach, with possums and fairy penguins that come out at night (I'm not making this up - they are real small penguins that live under the pier), great restaurants, cafes, and bars (and lovely bakeries on Acland Street) and various tram routes into other parts of the city. Our very large room came with a balcony right on the main road - noisy but fun to sit out on with a beer or two into the small hours. We also had our own kitchen and could buy food and drink from the supermarket across the road, although we ate out most nights because the standard of eating in Melbourne is far superior to our own cooking. The Tolarno was in the process of being refurbished while we were there, so it should now include its own restaurant and bar. We would definitely come back here again. In fact I would happy to live here!

  • Liked — Relaxed, friendly, stylish
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank London-honeymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2007

The Tolarno hotel is located on Fitzroy Street, the main stretch inn St. Kilda which is the nearest beach suburb of Melbourne.
Its well located as trams stop outside the hotel on a regular basis. It takes about fifteen minutes to get into Melbourne Central but you pass many places of interest on the way such as the Memorial to the War dead and Victoria State Gallery which is brilliant.

We booked a twin Balcony room which was great as you could sit out and watch the world go by. The room actually has a double and a single bed so handy for three friends or a small family group.

A couple of people on here found the front rooms to be too noisy because of the passing trams. I think if you keep the balcony door open it is a bit noisy but as the windows are double-glazed, I didnt find noise to be a problem at all when the door was closed.

The reception is set back a little into the ground floor of the building. They give you a key to let yourself in and out as reception closes at eleven in the evening.
They are very helpful with queries and can book outings and taxis etc.

The room is very clean and well appointed with air-con and tv etc. The bathroom is compact but very clean and the water pressure in the shower is very good.The flooring is wooden as are the blinds on the balcony windows and the walls are white so its very simple and natural looking.

Fitzroy street is busy at weekends and there are many places to eat and drink.
We found a place about five mins down the road to the right called Banff. They do gourmet pizzas and so on. Two beers and two pizzas are only 26 Aus Dollars and the pizzas are very tasty.
There is also a good supermarket called IFA and a nice pastry shop/cafe to the right down the street.

Its only ten minutes or so to the seafront where you can walk out on the pier or stroll along the seafront and visit Luna Park and the cake shops down Acland Street.

I really liked the Tolarno as it is very well located, good value-(we paid 165 Aus each night not including breakfast)- and clean.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester,
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2006

We stayed here with our four year old and had a great time. Yeah the trams can be a little noisy but they don't run all night (didn't disturb us)and if you are aware of it, it's a nice distant holiday noise to go to sleep to.

The room was clean, cool and modern. The staff were great. The bar had a great atmosphere, good beer and bar snacks - St. Kilda's an ace place; good beach, variety of cafe's and restaurants, lots of friendly people.
We wouldn't of wanted to stay anywhere other than this in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfredmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2006

Just spent three nights in Melbourne staying at the Tolarno Boutique Hotel, 42 Fitzroy Street, St. Kildas. (left on 16 January 2006)

It is really well located at the quiet end of Acland Street near Prince of Wales Hotel, and Esplanade, and the beach.

Cafe 97 is great for a breakfast (and Friday/saturday night specials!) and the hotel is well run, reasonably priced and with very helpful, professional staff.

Loads to do and eat nearby, and handy for City by trams 96 or 16.

Helpful?
2 Thank Denis_McQuade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartments Ink
Apartments Ink
#5 of 19 in St Kilda
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolarno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolarno Hotel

Property: Tolarno Hotel
Address: 42 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tolarno Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an art gallery, cafe and private residence of flamboyant Melbourne artist Mirka Mora and her husband Georges, the Tolarno Hotel has always been a creative space in St Kilda. The tradition continues at Tolarno Hotel. In a salute to the charismatic Mirka, the hotel’s walls and halls are hung with striking artworks by emerging and accomplished artists, 150+ works in total including a number of Mirka’s – guest’s often comment that it’s like staying in an art gallery. Today our 4 star hotel awards 3 major student art prizes via the Victorian College of the Arts (VCA), Monash University and Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) and the yearly winners are exhibited in the hotel foyer for 12 months. Many of the artworks in guest rooms are prize-winning student paintings; the remainder are works by prominant local artists. Combine these striking surrounds with our friendly service, well-appointed rooms and suites and location in the heart of St Kilda’s dining and entertainment precinct and you have a stay like no other. With trams just a 30-second walk from our front door offering easy access to Melbourne’s CBD attractions, shopping, restaurants, events and business precinct, you’re connected to everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tolarno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Tolarno Hotel St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing