We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with Room”
Review of Tolarno Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tolarno Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I recently booked for a weekend away.We saw the great pictures online and felt this would be a perfect spot.We were booked into a balcony room and were very disappointed with the amount of street noise coming from the public on a Friday and Saturday night.The hotel is a suitiated a block away from a community housing apartment aswell which all lends to the amount of people hanging around the front of the building at night.We asked if we could change rooms to the back of the hotel but were told this could not be done as it was all booked out.We were offered a small bottle of wine, a 20 dollar gift voucher and mini bar snacks to make up for the upset.Frankly this didnt suffice as what we would of expected was a refund or two complimentry nights stay to make up for two sleepless nights, overall a disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Would definately choose a room at the back of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TenneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear TenneH,

Thank you for recent review. We are sorry to hear your stay was not to your satisfaction. For yourself and the benefit of other readers on Tripadvisor we do state on our website that we do not recommend balcony rooms for light sleepers. It is evident from the reviews on Tripadvisor that many guests love the balcony rooms whilst others suggest choosing rooms towards the back of the hotel.

Street noise is something we cannot control. Although the windows are double glazed this won’t completely block sounds on the street. The community housing you mention is in fact a private hotel on our lower corner. This is run independently and provides accommodation, on the whole, for the under-privileged; there are many long term residents who have been there for many years.

The St Kilda community is very eclectic; a mixture of wealthy and middle of the road folk, artistic and creative types, backpackers, and a minority who are disenfranchised. Somehow the melting pot is what makes St Kilda what it is – vibrant, edgy, interesting and always dynamic. Of course, when you’re trying to sleep that is not always so appealing.... but it is why people are drawn to the area.

We always try to assist in moving guests whenever possible, but as you say, we were fully booked and it was not possible. I feel our receptionist offered a very reasonable amount of add-ons, free of charge, to compensate for the street noise. I am very surprised you expected a full refund for 2 night’s accommodation. We are disappointed it was not a great stay for you, as we want all our guests to enjoy their experience with a desire to return. If you do choose to visit us again, please call us and we can choose a much more appropriate room for you. Kind regards, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Frankly, I have doubt when first I arrived in this hotel. This hotel was almost nobody in the lobby. there are a bar and restaurant downstair, make me feel i might be hear some noise in the night. but everything was fine. my little son can sleep very well

The receptionist was very friendly and very helpful. He helped me to carried my luggage because there is no lift/elevator. He even lend me the tram card when i asked how to go to downtown. there is a tram station in front the hotel, two seven eleven and self laundry on the opposite. there are also many restaurant, bar, ice-cream store.

The other receptionist was also very kind. He called my cab, and helped me to watch my luggage in the early morning.

My room in is very cozy with a couch, and make me surprise was the kitchen. its like a mini studio apartment.

I will be back to this hotel if I have to stay in St. Kilda.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIchelfelicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Michelfelicia,

Thank you for your recent review. You touched on a lot of things which do make Tolarno’s unique.

We find that even when the hotel is fully occupied it never feels that way, and our lobby rarely feels overcrowded. It is unfortunate we are unable to install a lift but our receptionists are very happy to assist with taking luggage to and from rooms. Jorge would have been very pleased he could help you with this.
We have good local knowledge and are always happy to help with information to assist guests with using public transport around Melbourne. It was great Jorge could give you a Myki card.

Our night manager, Ursan, is very helpful and in those early hours of the morning it’s nice to have someone here that can help you with luggage, transport or any other issues which may arise.

We’re glad you enjoyed your room and found it quiet and cosy. The kitchenette is handy when you are here for a few days and have children with you.

It’s very pleasing to hear that you will stay with us when you are visiting Melbourne next; we’ll look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I loved this hotel, the rooms were nice, the staff super friendly and helpful and the neighbourhood was really the type of location that we were looking for, but please note it is not in Melbourne Downtown, you are located in St Kilda a great trendy neighbourhood with tons of cafes and restaurants!
Everyday we took the city bikes to go to Melbourne and we loved the experience! (20/25 min ride)

Room Tip: Ask the front desk for a Room away from the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LolaCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Pikotoba,

Thank you for your review. It’s really good to hear how much you enjoyed staying in St Kilda. As you say, it’s not ‘downtown Melbourne’ but St Kilda has a lot on offer with its cafés, restaurants, bars and the beach.

Great you used the ‘Melbourne Bike Share’ while you were here to venture out. Melbourne’s bike paths make for enjoyable and easy riding. With the city only 4.5 kms away it's a convenient way to travel in and out of town.

We hope to see you again if you travel again to Melbourne.

Best wishes,
Jane Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I remember visiting Tolarno Art gallery on school excursions when I was a kid. Now the gallery has become a great little bar and the art work is dispersed throughout the hotel. The rooms and hallway are quirky and appealing. The front office staff are friendly and very helpful. The location right on Fitzroy street is fabulous.
The only downside is that that bathrooms are a little tired, but overall Tolarno is a great choice for a stay in St.Kilda.

Room Tip: A front room with a balcony would probably be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieinAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello AussieinAlain,

It was very nice to hear of your childhood memories of Tolarno’s, when it was a gallery. As you say, there is plenty of artwork throughout the building now, which makes for interesting viewing. We are very happy you chose to stay with us and welcome your feedback.

This week we have completed resurfacing all our bathroom floors; which do vary a lot in their size and style but we are really pleased with this renovation, and hope if you are able to stay with us again you are too. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and hope to see you again. Best wishes, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed in Melbourne many times but have now found our favorite hotel.
Tolarno was terrific, the rooms were great, the location was awesome and the staff couldn't be more helpful.
This will be our "usual" place to stay from now on.
Thank you Tolarno

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Karen B,

It’s wonderful to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here and are now going to make Tolarno’s your regular place to stay when in Melbourne.

Thank you for taking time out to review us. We will look forward to seeing you in the near future. Best wishes, Jane Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for unfortunately just 1 day. But we enjoyed every minute of it!
The hotel is situated directly on the main street, we had a room to the back side. I guess the front rooms could be a bit noisy. The tram stop to the city is directly in front of the hotel which is really convenient. We booked a standart room and where suprised about the big bathroom. The interior was modern with lots of pictures along the hallway. You won´t expect from the outside that you will find a little art gallery along the hallways on each level.
What I really loved was the DVD sortiment and the information map. There is one page inside with restaurant recommendations we tryed 2 of them and both where a good choice. Cafe Fitzrovia - really really nice for breakfast.
The restaurant and the bar which belongs to the hotel looks as well really good - we will try that on our next stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Hello Leni W,

Thank you for your review.

We are very happy you enjoyed your short stay with us and found our recommendations helpful. Fitzrovia is a great café, at the top end of Fitzroy Street.

Glad you liked our range of DVD’s – we have a good mix of classics, mainstream and offbeat movies, and we are always open to purchasing guest’s suggestions.

We’ll look forward to seeing you on your next visit and, as you say, it will be nice to try Mirka’s bar and restaurant while you are here. Hopefully you will be able to stay a little longer and explore a bit more. Thanks again and best wishes, Jane Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel has a quirky charm all its own. From an unassuming street frontage which would make you walk past it at first to a tiny little reception area you may think you've made a mistake booking into this hotel, but the friendly, helpful and courteous staff and walls covered in colourful, eclectic and interesting art will reassure you. Once you get into your room you'll be convinced you've made the right choice - my room was large and spacious, full of natural light, had a great view (through the leaves of a beautiful tree) of the hustle and bustle of St Kilda high street, and everything was scrupulously clean.
The hotel is perfectly situation to the tram, great food, and easy access to markets and the city.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room. There's no elevator so if you don't like stairs request a room on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tolarno, Guest Relations Manager at Tolarno Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hello Jay C,

Thank you for your review. It’s great to hear that you loved the eclectic nature of the hotel. We often find people are surprised a hotel exists behind the restaurant frontage, and although boutique it is quite a substantial building with 37 different rooms. There are now about 150 original works of art throughout the hotel which does create a lot of interest.

Glad the balcony room was the right choice for you. The natural light in these rooms gives them an airy feel and there’s always something to observe from the balcony. Tram access on Fitzroy Street does make it easy to get about and it’s great you took advantage of this.

Thanks again for your appraisal of Tolarno’s. We’re very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again. Best wishes, Jane Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.5 mi away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne
0.4 mi away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.2 mi away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda Melbourne
1.6 mi away
Kimberley Gardens Hotel & Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolarno Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolarno Hotel

Address: 42 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St Kilda
#4 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#5 Family Hotel in St Kilda
#8 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price Range: £59 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tolarno Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once an art gallery, cafe and private residence of flamboyant Melbourne artist Mirka Mora and her husband Georges, the Tolarno Hotel has always been a creative space in St Kilda. The tradition continues at Tolarno Hotel. In a salute to the charismatic Mirka, the hotel’s walls and halls are hung with striking artworks by emerging and accomplished artists, 150+ works in total including a number of Mirka’s – guest’s often comment that it’s like staying in an art gallery. Today our 4 star hotel awards 3 major student art prizes via the Victorian College of the Arts (VCA), Monash University and Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology (RMIT) and the yearly winners are exhibited in the hotel foyer for 12 months. Many of the artworks in guest rooms are prize-winning student paintings; the remainder are works by prominant local artists. Combine these striking surrounds with our friendly service, well-appointed rooms and suites and location in the heart of St Kilda’s dining and entertainment precinct and you have a stay like no other. With trams just a 30-second walk from our front door offering easy access to Melbourne’s CBD attractions, shopping, restaurants, events and business precinct, you’re connected to everything the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tolarno Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Melbourne
Tolarno Hotel St Kilda, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing